Zero-X

All about modules/digital tunes in a variety of tracker & sampled formats

Moderators: lotek_style, Mug UK, Moderator Team

Yod801
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:50 pm

Re: Zero-X

Post by Yod801 »

Sorry to bring this up again, but how do I get Zero-X1.51 working? There is an INSTALL.PRG but I can't find a serial number provided.

BTW: I've tried without luck on a MegaSTE (with a MIDEX+ connected to it) and an ordinary STE (4MB, no MIDEX+).
malkav30
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: Zero-X

Post by malkav30 »

Hi,
For the record, I gave up on my MSTE with this, version, and got in touch with copson through the aforementioned site. He still sells Zero-X, I bought the 2.0 STe version (which really exists, btw) directly from him.
It works flawlessly on steem and on my machines.
vicomte
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Zero-X

Post by vicomte »

hi,
what do you do beautiful with zero x? just to modify a sound or make a complete composition?
just to do tracker or audio?
it's a shame that there is no tutorial of zero x on youtube ;-)
Thank you
hayesey
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 9:17 am

Re: Zero-X

Post by hayesey »

I've just started using zero-x on my STe. I have version 1.51 at the moment but have emailed Copson to hopefully buy version 2.

For me, I'm using it to slice drum loops into separate samples and create a corresponding midi file, basically the same thing you do with Propellerheads Recycle (but that doesn't run on an atari). Then I send the sliced samples to my akai sampler over midi and load the generated MID file into cubase.

It's a pain having to remove my cubase dongle each time I use it and then put that back in to use Cubase, powering off the atari each time. I hoping that if I buy a proper version of the software then that problem will go away.

Figuring out how to use it called for a delicate blend of common-sense and button bashing...and extreme violence ;)

I may do a youtube video, not normally my kind of thing but there seems to be little info on how to use this great piece of software.
User avatar
MCal27
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent. UK
Contact:

Re: Zero-X

Post by MCal27 »

Did you get any reply yet? I saw this post and send an email myself regarding version 2 also.

Al
hayesey wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 10:25 am I've just started using zero-x on my STe. I have version 1.51 at the moment but have emailed Copson to hopefully buy version 2.

For me, I'm using it to slice drum loops into separate samples and create a corresponding midi file, basically the same thing you do with Propellerheads Recycle (but that doesn't run on an atari). Then I send the sliced samples to my akai sampler over midi and load the generated MID file into cubase.

It's a pain having to remove my cubase dongle each time I use it and then put that back in to use Cubase, powering off the atari each time. I hoping that if I buy a proper version of the software then that problem will go away.

Figuring out how to use it called for a delicate blend of common-sense and button bashing...and extreme violence ;)

I may do a youtube video, not normally my kind of thing but there seems to be little info on how to use this great piece of software.
Hey, Hey!! It's a party... I want to party too... don't ask me about G4's tonight please!!!
User avatar
MCal27
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent. UK
Contact:

Re: Zero-X

Post by MCal27 »

Actually just got a reply myself! So we know the answer and yes Zero x 2.1 is available. I’ll be ordering shortly

Al
hayesey wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 10:25 am I've just started using zero-x on my STe. I have version 1.51 at the moment but have emailed Copson to hopefully buy version 2.

For me, I'm using it to slice drum loops into separate samples and create a corresponding midi file, basically the same thing you do with Propellerheads Recycle (but that doesn't run on an atari). Then I send the sliced samples to my akai sampler over midi and load the generated MID file into cubase.

It's a pain having to remove my cubase dongle each time I use it and then put that back in to use Cubase, powering off the atari each time. I hoping that if I buy a proper version of the software then that problem will go away.

Figuring out how to use it called for a delicate blend of common-sense and button bashing...and extreme violence ;)

I may do a youtube video, not normally my kind of thing but there seems to be little info on how to use this great piece of software.
Hey, Hey!! It's a party... I want to party too... don't ask me about G4's tonight please!!!
hayesey
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 9:17 am

Re: Zero-X

Post by hayesey »

yeah he replied the day after but is going away until march 11th. I'm keen to order too, I'll be honest though it's more expensive than I was expecting so might have to wait a bit, having to spend a load of money due to a water leak at home recently :(

It is cool software though, much easier than manually chopping drum loops on the akai.
User avatar
MCal27
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent. UK
Contact:

Re: Zero-X

Post by MCal27 »

Agreed, but worth it to keep it alive I think? If he see’s Income from it may continue development. I’m going for it myself

Al
hayesey wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 1:24 pm yeah he replied the day after but is going away until march 11th. I'm keen to order too, I'll be honest though it's more expensive than I was expecting so might have to wait a bit, having to spend a load of money due to a water leak at home recently :(

It is cool software though, much easier than manually chopping drum loops on the akai.
Hey, Hey!! It's a party... I want to party too... don't ask me about G4's tonight please!!!
Post Reply

Return to “The Digital Department”