Post numbers, possible to enable them?

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
siriushardware
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:55 pm
Location: UK

Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by siriushardware »

I use several forums like this and one thing which seems to be missing on posts in this forum is "post numbers" on posts. What I mean by this: On other forums if you look at the posts in a thread which currently contains (say) 7 posts, there will be #1, #2, #3.... #6, #7 in the upper right corner of each post.

On longer threads it is useful to be able to say "referring to the image you posted earlier in your post #x"... but we can not do this here. Would it be difficult to add post numbers to posts? It seems likely that this is a feature which the forum maintainers can just switch on or off.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I agree that this is a useful feature. However I personally have not enough knowledge how to enable this.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by mikro »

Isn't better just to link the post instead of referring to it by number?
User avatar
mfro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1119
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by mfro »

mikro wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 11:19 am Isn't better just to link the post instead of referring to it by number?
Maybe he didn't yet realize that each individual post in a thread has its individual heading one can link to?
User avatar
sporniket
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by sporniket »

mfro wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 11:46 am
mikro wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 11:19 am Isn't better just to link the post instead of referring to it by number?
Maybe he didn't yet realize that each individual post in a thread has its individual heading one can link to?
Or maybe it's less effort to type '#XX' instead of : right-click on the post/copy link/insert url/move cursor just after 'url' of the opening tag/type '='/paste link/type link body ? I can understand lazyness (I mean, I am lazy too), and I appreciate the effort of crossreferencing through a real link.
siriushardware
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by siriushardware »

I wasn't aware of the method outlined in the post above, but even though I am now aware of it I don't regard stating a post number as an any less valid way to refer someone to an earlier post in the thread. As stated in the OP, this forum is highly unusual in not supporting that method.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13236
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by wongck »

siriushardware wrote: Sun Jul 03, 2022 10:49 pm As stated in the OP, this forum is highly unusual in not supporting that method.
it's unusual only because one is not used to it
Like I found it unusual when the poster's info is on the RHS when it had been on LHS.
But after sometime... it does not seems unusual any more.

Another darned unusual thing is when someone using a 40 yr old computer to get to Youtube.... but that guy thinks it is cool not unusual.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5318
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by joska »

mikro wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 11:19 am Isn't better just to link the post instead of referring to it by number?
Or simply quote the relevant parts of the post you're refering to?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5318
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by joska »

siriushardware wrote: Sun Jul 03, 2022 10:49 pmAs stated in the OP, this forum is highly unusual in not supporting that method.
I guess I'm a highly unusual user then, because I have never noticed such a feature on the forums I frequent :) I checked just now, could only find one forum which had this and that's AtariAge. phpbb - which is probably the most common forum platform - does not even support this out of the box.

IMO quoting is the feature you're looking for. Much more precise and readable when done correctly. The reader will actually know what you're refering to, as I guess most people won't bother jumping between posts.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
mado
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 11, 2022 12:20 pm

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by mado »

Each post still has a post-number. If you hover your mouse on the headline, you see a link like this:

viewtopic.php?p=435220#p435220

435220 ist the post number. So, just hover.
siriushardware
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by siriushardware »

That's not quite what I meant by post numbers, I meant the post number within the individual thread, displayed all the time without the need to hover on anything.

Anyway gentlemen, with only one person agreeing with me I see that there is little point in pursuing my request that this feature be enabled on this forum.
AnthonyJ
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:16 am

Re: Post numbers, possible to enable them?

Post by AnthonyJ »

I think there's some value - yes, links are "better" when there's pages and pages of posts, but there are definitely times where you just want to refer up a couple of posts without quoting.

To enable it looks to need an extension: https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=2420411
Post Reply

Return to “Website Discussions”