CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., lp, Moderator Team

Post Reply
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mikro »

Guys, you should seriously check http://powerphenix.com/ct60/english/welcome.htm ... both CT60 and CT63 come with a ATX connector and you can have PicoPSU with them so they fit inside the case. The only advantage the CT60e offers is better physical stability and no need to connect the dangerous floppy power cable.

On the other hand, CT60e is not physically compatible with CTPCI, at least not in an easy way.
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

1st1 wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:27 pm
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:07 am
mikro wrote: Sun Dec 12, 2021 1:13 pm
This is not true at all.
Well, it did fit but you needed a replacement PSU to actually fit and power the accelerator AFAIK and if you started adding expansions on it then space was a definite problem, this is what I meant.
That is the cool thing on ct60e, it comes with a ATX power connector and you can run it with a pico atx power supply, all fits in the original falcon case.
And then there is also CT60PSU: https://centuriontech.eu/product/ct60psu/
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

1st1 wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 10:35 am You just print the PCB of ct63, or do you redesign, like ct60e?
As already said on page 1 on this thread, this will be CT63 with only minor changes.
Just to name a few: mechanically coded connector for power pigtail, heatsink holes around CPU socket,...
tjam
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:54 pm
Location: Finland

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by tjam »

mpattonm wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 3:45 pm
1st1 wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:27 pm
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:07 am

Well, it did fit but you needed a replacement PSU to actually fit and power the accelerator AFAIK and if you started adding expansions on it then space was a definite problem, this is what I meant.
That is the cool thing on ct60e, it comes with a ATX power connector and you can run it with a pico atx power supply, all fits in the original falcon case.
And then there is also CT60PSU: https://centuriontech.eu/product/ct60psu/
This is cool :thumbs: I'll order two of those when next batch will be ready.
MegaSTEarian
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by MegaSTEarian »

OK then, my bad. As I a fan of keeping things as close to the original as possible, I didn't have in mind the PicoPSU solution for the CT6x series. If everything fits inside and is safe, it's cool, cooler than I thought!
Muphex
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:55 pm

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Muphex »

Can I just ask a question about the centuriontech psu? I have one and a ct63. If I connect the floppy power from the falcon motherboard to the ct63 how do I power the floppy as there isn't a separate four pin as there is with the pico?
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by saulot »

@Muphex: you have to modify it. Yes, it sucks...
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

Muphex wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 8:54 pm Can I just ask a question about the centuriontech psu? I have one and a ct63. If I connect the floppy power from the falcon motherboard to the ct63 how do I power the floppy as there isn't a separate four pin as there is with the pico?
If you have CT63 and you have ordered CT60PSU for CT60/63 variant (not 60e) you do not have to connect a floppy power pigtail cable to CT63 anymore. Just connect 20pin ATX conn cable end to the CT63 and 8pin Falcon power cable to the mainboard and you are all set. Power your floppy from Falcon mainboard as you would do on unaccelerated Falcon.
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

saulot wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 10:24 pm @Muphex: you have to modify it. Yes, it sucks...
No you do not. There is no reason to connect FDD pigtail cable to CT60/3 anymore with CT60PSU. CT60PSU powers Falcon mainboard directly, making FDD pigtail hack redundant.
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by saulot »

@mpattonm I had no sound without FDD plugged into CT60 (on normal atx power supplies at last), but I didn't test it with ct60psu (there were no mention anywhere that FDD plug isn't needed with CT60psu). I will not verify this right now, because I have no time to dismantle everything. On CT63 I don't know, because I don't have it.
Muphex
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:55 pm

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Muphex »

mpattonm wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 10:38 pm
saulot wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 10:24 pm @Muphex: you have to modify it. Yes, it sucks...
No you do not. There is no reason to connect FDD pigtail cable to CT60/3 anymore with CT60PSU. CT60PSU powers Falcon mainboard directly, making FDD pigtail hack redundant.
Okay that's great thanks. I didn't think I had done anything wrong but I definitely remember the fdd thing confusing me 15 odd years ago before realising how to hook up the fdd drive power and it springing to life. I followed the instructions this time but thought the lack of boot this.time must be similar, I suspect it's a corrupt speed setting now, will report back tomorrow when I get a chance to reset. Many thanks for your help.
Muphex
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:55 pm

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Muphex »

Just a heads up that all is working now and the problem I had was with the ct63 that is now happily fixed as well.....
Ray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:40 am
Location: Germany / Munich

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Ray »

So which 68060 Version is the one to get for these new Accelerators?

What about that, would that be the right one (if legit): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/10050031 ... 17b33cbbad

The only 68060 on eBay sells for >€400 ...
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by joska »

You don't want an LC or EC.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by dhedberg »

Ray wrote: Tue Jan 04, 2022 1:49 pm So which 68060 Version is the one to get for these new Accelerators?

What about that, would that be the right one (if legit): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/10050031 ... 17b33cbbad

The only 68060 on eBay sells for >€400 ...
If you want a genuine full 68060 (with MMU and FPU, i.e., the RC version), that's about what you will have to pay nowadays. It's outrageous, I agree, but demand has been far higher than supply for years and the supply is pretty much dried up now. You can take a chance and buy one from ebay or AliExpress, but many times you will end up with a fake CPU, or an LC/EC version. If you can find a reliable seller that can be trusted (known by the community) I would recommend to buy one from that seller instead of gambling. You'll pay more, but you'll get the real thing. The Motorola 68060 wasn't produced in very large quantities, so it's a fairly rare CPU, unfortunately.

And as joska said, you do want the RC version, not the LC or EC.

--Daniel
Last edited by dhedberg on Tue Jan 04, 2022 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mikro »

I can vouch for "funkward-tech" seller, I bought a Rev.6 from him in the past. But they are long gone now.
Ray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:40 am
Location: Germany / Munich

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Ray »

TY, the Descriptions are a little bit ambiguous. The above mentioned eBay seller trades an LC Model, right? "MC68LC060RC50"
It says RC and LC, so i guess its LC?
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

Ray wrote: Wed Jan 05, 2022 12:17 pm TY, the Descriptions are a little bit ambiguous. The above mentioned eBay seller trades an LC Model, right? "MC68LC060RC50"
It says RC and LC, so i guess its LC?
Technically, he is correct. There is 68060RCxx - full featured CPU, 68LC060RCxx - no FPU and 68EC060RCxx - no FPU and MMU, where xx is rated frequency.
dbsys
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 596
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by dbsys »

mpattonm wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 3:15 pm This is extremely exciting news and I am so thrilled I can share it with you now. Today, I have signed a contract with Rodolphe Czuba granting me exclusive rights to produce his CT60, famous Falcon030 accelerator.
More details about release date, pricing and ordering will be published soon. Stay tuned!
Indeed, very exciting news. Thanks for this.

Do you have plans to sell your CT60 with the suitable CPU included? Tested and verified?
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by troed »

Due to the general unavailability of full-featured 060s we might need to consider the LC being full-featured "enough". Compiling programs with softfpu libraries will still be plenty fast - although some existing 060 demoscene productions will not work.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2411
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Cyprian »

Does CT60 has FPGA? If yes maybe would be possible to get 68080 license from the Vampire Team and implement it inside?
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mikro »

troed wrote: Wed Jan 05, 2022 4:53 pm Due to the general unavailability of full-featured 060s we might need to consider the LC being full-featured "enough". Compiling programs with softfpu libraries will still be plenty fast - although some existing 060 demoscene productions will not work.
Actually if this were the case in the future, that would be one more reason to create a new gcc target (there are good arguments for it but also against it). 68030/msoft-float would be sufficient also for 68060/msoft-float but you can say the same the plain 68000 (which is soft-float by default) hence the dilemma of introducing it. ;)

But to be fair, many applications currently offer only m68020-60 (which requires FPU) + ColdFire; for zView or Atari800 I am the one to blame for instance.
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by mpattonm »

dbsys wrote: Wed Jan 05, 2022 4:21 pm
mpattonm wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 3:15 pm This is extremely exciting news and I am so thrilled I can share it with you now. Today, I have signed a contract with Rodolphe Czuba granting me exclusive rights to produce his CT60, famous Falcon030 accelerator.
More details about release date, pricing and ordering will be published soon. Stay tuned!
Indeed, very exciting news. Thanks for this.

Do you have plans to sell your CT60 with the suitable CPU included? Tested and verified?
Not at the moment. Same goes for memory modules.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1539
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: CT60/CT63 will be available soon again

Post by Rustynutt »

mpattonm wrote: Wed Jan 05, 2022 6:41 pm
dbsys wrote: Wed Jan 05, 2022 4:21 pm
mpattonm wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 3:15 pm This is extremely exciting news and I am so thrilled I can share it with you now. Today, I have signed a contract with Rodolphe Czuba granting me exclusive rights to produce his CT60, famous Falcon030 accelerator.
More details about release date, pricing and ordering will be published soon. Stay tuned!
Indeed, very exciting news. Thanks for this.

Do you have plans to sell your CT60 with the suitable CPU included? Tested and verified?
Not at the moment. Same goes for memory modules.
Going back to even 2006, those questions keep coming up. Next will be abuse as to why one isn't included seeing the cost.
It's as if some (few) users expect a hardware developer to either include one for free, or design something that has yet (and likely never will be in our lifetime) be accomplished.
I picture a gamer, 20 years from now saying "oh, let's run this on the 060 core and see what happens" :lol:

Think providing the user base with a new run of boards more than an accomplishment, and seeing (knowing) Centuriontechs track record, they will be an excellent value :)

Now, when do I get my programmable ROM board? :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”