Atari Screensaver for Firebee

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Galvez, Moderator Team

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by mfro »

Gamer wrote:... I am going to buy a big Multi-sync monitor soon...
So that particular screen saver appears definitively counter productive, as you didn't save anything on screens :lol:

SCNR
Gamer
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Gamer »

vido wrote:In my case only few modules of screensaver worked with the FireBee. But I stil had some problems after screensaver stoped and resumed back to desktop. I dont remember what was the problem. After that I deleted Twilight from my FireBee.
I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

Gamer wrote: I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.
Any screensaver works for you? even the one that is built in to the monitor?

http://didier.mequignon.free.fr/firebee.htm
Look at the Firebee CPX, configuration states it can blank screen after few minutes. Does that work for you?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
Gamer
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Gamer »

wongck wrote:
Gamer wrote: I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.
Any screensaver works for you? even the one that is built in to the monitor?

http://didier.mequignon.free.fr/firebee.htm
Look at the Firebee CPX, configuration states it can blank screen after few minutes. Does that work for you?
Well I am using a Vizio TV/Monitor that I got from my wife's garage sale. It actually work well with the Firebee. I am not sure it has a screen saver. I have left it on for 5-10 minutes and nothing, but I will it it's settings. I will also try the Rage screensaver and see if it works. It still boggles my mind why a lot of people can run Twilight with their FB. I have load ed my FB with the original CF that came with it and it still did not work.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

well, i will try that CPX screen saver next time I have my FB out.
My Falcon/CT63 is currently setup in my small man cave.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
Gamer
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Gamer »

wongck wrote:well, i will try that CPX screen saver next time I have my FB out.
My Falcon/CT63 is currently setup in my small man cave.
Well that screen does work for me. I get a blank screen, so I guess that works for me until I can figure out Twilight. I tried 256 and 16bit color and Twilight still crashes when it tries to display what ever screen saver I have set it to. I would love to get it working, but for now, I will settle for a blank screen. If any has any ideas, please let know. Thanks....
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

Glad that at least one saver worked for you.
I do not use Twilight, never used any screen savers, even on my windows.
I use all with LCD, which still burn-in but not as bad as CRT.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Latz »

Hi,
i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 32GB CF card, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

Latz wrote: i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:
Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
On my windoze, I put it to sleep mode and power off my monitor.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by jury »

wongck wrote: Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
From the CT6x official hyp guide:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).
I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.
Last edited by jury on Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gamer
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Gamer »

wongck wrote:
Latz wrote: i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:
Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
On my windoze, I put it to sleep mode and power off my monitor.

I must confess I do that also. :D
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

jury wrote:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).
I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.
I never saw that in my CT60 CPX.
You have it on your's ??
What version is your's.... mine is 2.02 from May 2012
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by jury »

Its from version 2.01 ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​July 24, 2011. Under chapter 1.9 ATX Tower
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

Yes, it was also in the HYP of v2.0 which I have ( I do not have the v2.01 HYP).
I mean the software ACC/CPX mentioned, I do not see it in my CT60CONF.CPX.
My guess is there is another ACC/CPX for it?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2454
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by mikro »

I think by that 'sleep' it is meant software power off. :)

EDIT: Indeed it is:
10.2.5 ABE60 REGISTERS DETAILS CT60
[..]
SLP (SleeP)
Write at $FA800000 : Turn OFF the power supply.
Funny thing is that in registers summary just one page further it is said to be $FA000000 register.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13126
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by wongck »

mikro wrote:I think by that 'sleep' it is meant software power off. :)
EDIT: Indeed it is:
Oh, In that case, i found the software to do that.... years ago already. :lol: :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by jfl »

jury wrote:
wongck wrote: Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
From the CT6x official hyp guide:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).
I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.
That feature never worked for me. I wish it would because contrary to Latz I hate having to switch the monitor off manually :D
neotenien
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2021 3:53 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by neotenien »

AtariSociety wrote: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:28 pm What screensavers are all you Firebee owners using?

I need to get something on mine soon.

Thanks

TJ
Here is a list of screensaver existng on Atari ST computers
Gamer
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Post by Gamer »

When I finally got the Twilight Screensaver to work somewhat. As I figured, it was a setting in the screensaver that was causing the crash. The screen where the ports could be chosen had all the ports highlighted. I just highlighted the mouse and the joystick ports and things started working. The only thing is that when the screensaver started running, hitting the USB installed keyboard keys did nothing to stop it. Moving the USB mouse did nothing either. Now when I clicked the mouse buttons that stopped it. However, when I hit the keys on the TT keyboard I have hooked up, that stopped it. So now I imagine there is another setting in the screensaver, Mint or Xaaes I need to adjust so that Twilight will recognize the USB keyboard. Or maybe it is something in FireTOS. Anyone have an idea?
Post Reply

Return to “FireBee”