FALCON - what resolution?

Discuss your favourite artists, styles, art packages and much more in this section

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

FALCON - what resolution?

Post by yerzmyey »

Hi there.

My friend is graphician. I mean he's kinda member of my group but years ago he rather left oldschool machines for 32-bit ones.
And now... ;) I could try to force him to make some pictures for Atari Falcon. ;)
Mostly he makes developed collages but they look really atmospheric.
If I force him (by tortures) to make some gfx stuff for Falcon, maybe somebody might try to make a small slideshow + a MOD file or whatever.
Considering this, I would like to know what would be the best resolution of pictures for such a purpose. Or at least the vertical axis res.

Ah. And some resonable number of colours.

Greetz!

PS: Of course I'm talking about unexpanded AF 030.

PS.2: Sorry for lame questions but I got the machine only this year.
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5355
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

320x240x8bit makes a good compromise of access speed to shuffle data around and of colors.
You can go "truecolor" too (actually 16bpp) but you won't have CPU time for many things. Thsi mdoe is chunky and easy to use though - and well suited for stillscreens.

Actually the VIDEL is rather flexible and yo ucan program custom resolutions if you want to.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5355
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

jameskerry wrote:All resolutions must be 4:3 (800 X 600, or 1024 X 76 .etc
This comment makes no sense. The Videl is very flexible. if anyone really desires to do so, it would be posible to make it emit a 16:9 or any other ratio aswell.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by [ProToS] »

deleted
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
retrogameandcomputer
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by retrogameandcomputer »

Overall 320 x 240 makes the most sense at 256 colours.

High res won't give you the number of colours you want.
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by EvilFranky »

320x240x8 for a simple slideshow? Really?

16-bit all the way for me, it's by far the best Falcon colour depth for displaying images.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by christos »

Actually a few demos and some games use the 320x240 16-bit resolution so although it does put some strain on the bus, it's far from unusable. For a simple slideshow it's a no brainer really.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2380
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by Eero Tamminen »

simonsunnyboy wrote:320x240x8bit makes a good compromise of access speed to shuffle data around and of colors.
You can go "truecolor" too (actually 16bpp) but you won't have CPU time for many things. This mdoe is chunky and easy to use though - and well suited for stillscreens.
If the source data is in chunky format (like in many games from PC etc), 16-bit makes also sense as doing 8-bit chunky->planar conversions is really slow.
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by yerzmyey »

Well, maybe 256 colours might be enough.
But - btw - what are the most "eatable" formats for Falcon in this resolution? Would it be BMP or anything else?
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by nativ »

HI,

Art Packages :

VISION
APEX
RAINBOW II
Escape Paint

I'd recommend those!

There should be some JPG code out there somewhere! with the DSP loading those is really quite quick. TIFF is a large format GIF is portable and can do more than 256 colours, TPI True Paint Image, well it's a native true colour format.. Pi9

by eatable? do you mean big in size, consumes lots of cpu?

cheers
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by yerzmyey »

Thx a lot.

nativ wrote: by eatable? do you mean big in size, consumes lots of cpu?
cheers

A format that can be displayed instantly (more/less, always correctly and on most of viewers/editors.


And talkin'bout it - are there any good viewers of graphic for F030? Something simple like ACDSee on PC? Changing with "space" key pictures placed in one and the same catalogue?
A prog accepting most of known formats of Atari and (possibly) PC?

(And that's for my private use, not for any production ;) ).
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by nativ »

are there any good viewers of graphic for F030? Imagecopy , maybe aniplayer?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: Devpac

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by evil »

yerzmyey wrote: I would like to know what would be the best resolution of pictures for such a purpose. Or at least the vertical axis res.
Ah. And some resonable number of colours.
Videomodes that will function with both VGA and RGB:

320x240, 8bit and 16bit
320x480, 8bit and 16bit (pixels are non-square)
640x480, 8bit

yerzmyey wrote: But - btw - what are the most "eatable" formats for Falcon in this resolution? Would it be BMP or anything else?
1. Save the image as TARGA for 16bit videomode and GIF for 8-bit videomode.
2. Load the file into "Shower", an image viewer by Blade/New Core, press control-alt-f10 and it will dump raw image data as well as palette data that will fit the Falcon video mode and colour palette without any further conversion.
3. Download here: http://files.dhs.nu/files_gfx/shower.zip
yerzmyey wrote: And talkin'bout it - are there any good viewers of graphic for F030? Something simple like ACDSee on PC? Changing with "space" key pictures placed in one and the same catalogue?
A prog accepting most of known formats of Atari and (possibly) PC?
Here are a couple to try:

http://files.dhs.nu/files_gfx/jpeg_220.zip
http://files.dhs.nu/files_gfx/alpha.zip
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by yerzmyey »

MANY THANKS GUYZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111elevenone
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5355
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FALCON - what resolution?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Eero Tamminen wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote:320x240x8bit makes a good compromise of access speed to shuffle data around and of colors.
You can go "truecolor" too (actually 16bpp) but you won't have CPU time for many things. This mdoe is chunky and easy to use though - and well suited for stillscreens.
If the source data is in chunky format (like in many games from PC etc), 16-bit makes also sense as doing 8-bit chunky->planar conversions is really slow.
I agree, TrueColor just needs special treatment for anything moving to get usable performance. It is possible as "Beats Of Rage" shows. So fora beginner with St experience, 8bit can be easier to get performance.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Post Reply

Return to “Discussion”