Blitter version test

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

MisterUndo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:11 am

Re: Blitter version test

Post by MisterUndo »

Result: 0040

1040 STE / 4Mb / TOS1.62UK
Combo-Chip:
ATARI (c) 1991
C032183-001
J9124
MM9200COC-VF6
XC01432A
User avatar
davemacblack
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:20 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Blitter version test

Post by davemacblack »

Result: 0040

MegaST 4 / 4Mb / TOS1.02 De
Blitter:
9022NTD
C101643
(c) ATARI 1989
-31 I60611-01
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4078
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ijor »

uko wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:44 pm Steem SSE: $0000 (seems strange may have made a mistake ? but I have checked blitter is well active... )
Yes, seems a Steem bug.
scsilord wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 10:13 pm 520STM(short) + Blitterboard Tos 2.06
520STE Tos 1.62

They were all in both machines $0040

STMicroelectornics: C101643-001 * Atari 1988 * -28 8937 KOREA * MKXB75AQ-00 * Z923889
That is a bit unexpected. So far all ST chips, and only ST variants, give a $3F result.
I assume the -001 is a typo, it should be -011?

Anybody with the old GE/RCA Blitter chip?

Thanks everybody for the tests.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core
scsilord
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:24 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Blitter version test

Post by scsilord »

ijor wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 4:06 pm
uko wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:44 pm Steem SSE: $0000 (seems strange may have made a mistake ? but I have checked blitter is well active... )
Yes, seems a Steem bug.
scsilord wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 10:13 pm 520STM(short) + Blitterboard Tos 2.06
520STE Tos 1.62

They were all in both machines $0040

STMicroelectornics: C101643-001 * Atari 1988 * -28 8937 KOREA * MKXB75AQ-00 * Z923889
That is a bit unexpected. So far all ST chips, and only ST variants, give a $3F result.
I assume the -001 is a typo, it should be -011?

Anybody with the old GE/RCA Blitter chip?

Thanks everybody for the tests.
Yes the -001 is indeed a typo it's -011
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Glasgow

Re: Blitter version test

Post by Frank B »

I tried it on a mega 4, 520 STFm with blitter fitted and my original 1.6 520 STe with discrete blitter. All 0x40,
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Glasgow

Re: Blitter version test

Post by Frank B »

Does the 0x3f blitter always yield a word early or does it depend on the instruction sequence triggering the blitter?
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4078
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ijor »

Frank B wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 3:19 pm Does the 0x3f blitter always yield a word early or does it depend on the instruction sequence triggering the blitter?
With "normal" code all Blitter versions behave the same. Otherwise several demos would break.

It doesn't yield earlier. It's about the Blitter buglet I mentioned before. Some code would expose the bug in some Blitter versions only.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: Blitter version test

Post by Total Eclipse »

In the interests of completeness, I've tried this on the MiST running the Mistery core, and get 0040 on both ST and STe settings.
Atari 1040STfm, Power Computing PC720B external floppy. 40MB HDD
Now playing with MiST :)
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4078
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ijor »

ijor wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 4:06 pm
uko wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:44 pm Steem SSE: $0000 (seems strange may have made a mistake ? but I have checked blitter is well active... )
Yes, seems a Steem bug.
I contacted Steve (Steem SSE developer). He said it seems to be a very old bug. A fix will probably coming shortly.
Total Eclipse wrote: Wed Mar 03, 2021 11:32 am In the interests of completeness, I've tried this on the MiST running the Mistery core, and get 0040 on both ST and STe settings.
I know. MiSTery uses my own Blitter (and CPU) code :)
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core
ragnar76
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ragnar76 »

I was curious

MiSTer FPGA report 0040
Suska III-C crashes with 2 bombs
• FireBee • Falcon060 • Falcon040 • Falcon030 • MiSTer • TT • (Mega)STe • Suska III-C • (Mega)ST •
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4078
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ijor »

ragnar76 wrote: Mon Mar 08, 2021 9:21 pm Suska III-C crashes with 2 bombs
I didn't implement error trapping. If Blitter is not present it will crash like that with two bombs (bus error).

Can the Suska be configured for specific ST models/variants? You need to use STE mode, or at least to configure the system with Blitter.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core
ragnar76
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Blitter version test

Post by ragnar76 »

By default, Suska is set to a STe with a Blitter. Perhaps, it's not implemented properly
• FireBee • Falcon060 • Falcon040 • Falcon030 • MiSTer • TT • (Mega)STe • Suska III-C • (Mega)ST •
User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Blitter version test

Post by Mark_G »

My STE returned number 0040.
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”