fighter bomber

Requests for manuals and detailed information on playing games

Moderators: Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, Moderator Team

Post Reply
chesterb

fighter bomber

Post by chesterb »

Please help? How do you start Fighter/bomber? I remember that it was a strange key combination. But what? Thanks in advance
User avatar
Doctor Bob Gordon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 9:30 pm
Location: undisclosed location

Post by Doctor Bob Gordon »

You will find instructions for this game in Sewer Doc Disk 14...
dBG
chesterb

Fiighter Bomber

Post by chesterb »

Thanks but I had already tried that. It assumes that you are in the game but I can't get past the plane with the 2 crew polishing it & the credits being shown in the corner
User avatar
Doctor Bob Gordon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 9:30 pm
Location: undisclosed location

Post by Doctor Bob Gordon »

Sorry :(
dBG
SmogMonster
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: fighter bomber

Post by SmogMonster »

Fighter Bomber

I know it's an ancient query, but if anyone is still wondering, pressing SPACE is supposed to take you from the credits screen to the Choose a Pilot menu - only it doesn't work on a 1Meg ST.

If the ST has exactly 1Meg of RAM, it loads some hideous guitar music to accompany the credits, and this seems to mess up the keyboard input so that pressing SPACE doesn't do anything.
To play this otherwise fine game in the Steem emulator, just set the RAM size to anything other than 1Meg. Bigger or smaller makes no difference. On an actual 1Meg ST you would need a way to resize system memory before the game runs, but I can't remember how you do that - probably there is a system variable that can be poked.

I remember many years ago it stopped working on my STFM (now stored in the attic) and I never found out why. It's the RAM upgrade, stoopid!
User avatar
StickHead
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:00 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: fighter bomber

Post by StickHead »

I'm pretty sure this game used to work on my 1 Meg STFM. I had the Pompey Pirates crack (don't remember which number) so maybe they fixed the problem?
The Joy of STicks - YouTube - Blog - Twitter - Facebook
New Developments and old inspirations in Atari ST gaming.
User avatar
Grunaki
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:45 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Contact:

Re: fighter bomber

Post by Grunaki »

StickHead wrote:I'm pretty sure this game used to work on my 1 Meg STFM. I had the Pompey Pirates crack (don't remember which number) so maybe they fixed the problem?
Pompey Pirates #22.
Thermopylae is now an Enemy Island!
SmogMonster
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: fighter bomber

Post by SmogMonster »

StickHead

You could be right. I get the above results with the .st image of Pompey Pirates #22 in Steem 3.2 using UK TOS1.02 in each case.
It's always possible the Pompey code (or even the emulator) has some effect on what happens, and for all I know Mastertronic may have fixed it for 1Meg. I still have the original disks, so if they're still readable I might get around to testing it on the STFM. The machine started out with 512K, but I'm no longer certain what it was upgraded to. At the time I thought the problem was to do with mouse/joystick combination. Possibly the joystick fire button should also advance the menu, but this is just vague recollection.
I discovered Steem (and the availability on the web of all the old ST favourites) only a couple of weeks ago, and before realising you could fix Fighter Bomber by changing the RAM size, I was busily disassembling the Pompey loader (with Steem debug build), up to where it loads (and presumably decompresses) the Mastertronic code. Further delving in that direction might clear up exactly what the problem is, but I'm not promising to do it.
SmogMonster
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: fighter bomber

Post by SmogMonster »

By 'Mastertronic' I mean of course Activision. Doh!
Post Reply

Return to “Doc Disks, Manuals & Instructions”