Charging STBook

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

Hi

I have the AA battery enclosure for my STBook. Generally its empty and I just run the STBook off the mains, or occasionally I put some disposable AA batteries in it. But I was just wondering if anyone knew what happened if I put rechargeable batteries in the battery box and then used the STBook while plugged in? Would it charge them like it charges the normal battery pack? Or would it destroy something!? Bit too nervous to just try it...

In fact I haven't actually tried it with normal disposable batteries in the battery pack and the STBook plugged in - assuming it probably won't try and charge them?

Just curious as the reconditioned rechargeable battery I have for the STBook literally appears to be some AA rechargeable batteries all taped together inside the battery enclosure?! :shrug:

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

It will not charge it. On the AA packs 1 &3 pins are implemented, meanwhile on standard rechargeable batteries it's 1&2 connected to the charging voltage.
Capture2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

Hmm interesting. So if I just put rechargeable batteries in the old rechargeable battery pack it might work? (Currently the strangely taped together internals of the battery pack is dead). It seems you could pretty much just stick them in there and solder a wire from the battery to the battery case terminals?
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

Yes. Simbo did some reconditioning of old packs this way. I did one too.

Check info here:
https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.p ... y&start=50
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

You can find better fitting packs nowadays.
battery02.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

BTW I have an idea that combines these solutions together. In a 3D printed way. I just need to find the time to get to it.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

Robson wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:06 pm You can find better fitting packs nowadays.

battery02.jpg
Oh that's way better... did you have to do that fuse mod for it too? Or literally just wire the pack in? (And where did you find the pack - eBay?)
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

Robson wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:09 pm BTW I have an idea that combines these solutions together. In a 3D printed way. I just need to find the time to get to it.
Interesting! Happy to help...
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

I have STBooks and this was a pack simbo modified for me but I had to redo, actually I think that battery in the post IS mine.
But it failed over the years and I took it apart.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

is simbo still about? He installed a CF IDE interface for me (still cant believe I shipped at ST Book across the Atlantic twice!?), but he stopped replying to anything a few years ago...
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

Mr.JT wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 6:16 pm is simbo still about? He installed a CF IDE interface for me (still cant believe I shipped at ST Book across the Atlantic twice!?), but he stopped replying to anything a few years ago...
I have no info about him since 2016.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 871
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: UK

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Robson »

I know it's off topic just showing. my cf solution for STBooks (conner frame compatible).
02.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Charging STBook

Post by Mr.JT »

That looks much neater than mine!
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 23" LED, STBook, Atari Portfolio, 2 x 4Mb STe, 1 x STFM, Lynx, Jaguar and JagCD. New-age VCS.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”