DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

Any of you know how to set the baud rate as a parameter of PCSLAVE.EXE? I would like, with a double click, to start DOSBOX which launches PCSLAVE.EXE with the right baud rate, without having to press the key combination fn + F7. Thank you
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1521
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Long time since i used plain DOS, but wasn't MODE COM1: able to do that?
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

To make you understand, in the DosBox configuration file, at the end I have these instructions for AUTOEXEC:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
MOUNT C: "/Volumes/Macintosh HD/Users/roberto/Desktop/C in DOSBOX/"
MOUNT D: "/Volumes/Macintosh HD/Users/roberto/Desktop/Hatari/Condivisa/STE/C/"
SET PATH=C:\MASM\BIN;C:\TASM\TASM;C:\TASM\TD
C:\PCSLAVE.EXE -b19600

as you see, I tried to put a parameter after C: \ PCSLAVE.EXE, namely -b19600, but it doesn't work. I have to press fn + F7 to select the correct boud rate (19600).
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by frank.lukas »

Baudrate are 19200 ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

frank.lukas wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:41 am Baudrate are 19200 ...


I do not understand...
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13069
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by wongck »

Robbizz wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:08 pm
frank.lukas wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:41 am Baudrate are 19200 ...
I do not understand...
What he means is that the standard baud rate setting for the RS-232 serial are 110, 300, 1200, 2400, 4800, 9600, 19200, 38400, 57600, or 115200.
But you wrote -b19600 which is not a standard rate. The nearest rate to 19600 that you wanted would be 19200.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
CodenameV
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:15 am

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by CodenameV »

Robbizz wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:58 am To make you understand, in the DosBox configuration file, at the end I have these instructions for AUTOEXEC:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
MOUNT C: "/Volumes/Macintosh HD/Users/roberto/Desktop/C in DOSBOX/"
MOUNT D: "/Volumes/Macintosh HD/Users/roberto/Desktop/Hatari/Condivisa/STE/C/"
SET PATH=C:\MASM\BIN;C:\TASM\TASM;C:\TASM\TD
C:\PCSLAVE.EXE -b19600

as you see, I tried to put a parameter after C: \ PCSLAVE.EXE, namely -b19600, but it doesn't work. I have to press fn + F7 to select the correct boud rate (19600).
Could it be that by default the Atari is set to baud rate of 9600 so maybe that's the baud rate your after, if you would like to increase that speed for faster transfers, I think you need an atari tool something like XControl.
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by czietz »

Could it be that no one understands Robizz' original question? The question was if you can set the baud rate of Ghostlink's PC program via a command line argument. The answer is: No, this is not supported.

One can however patch the EXE file to use a different default baud rate. The attached version defaults to 19200 bit/s.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

czietz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:59 am Could it be that no one understands Robizz' original question? The question was if you can set the baud rate of Ghostlink's PC program via a command line argument. The answer is: No, this is not supported.

One can however patch the EXE file to use a different default baud rate. The attached version defaults to 19200 bit/s.
Fantastic czietz! I thought that with my English, I had set the question wrong. Your attachment is just what I was looking for. However I found that my Atari Mega STE has a serial port that can run at 57600 baud, so I set it to that speed since PCSLAVE by default has 57600. Your attachment is fine for me though for my old Atari ST where the limit is 19200.
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

What he means is that the standard baud rate setting for the RS-232 serial are 110, 300, 1200, 2400, 4800, 9600, 19200, 38400, 57600, or 115200.
But you wrote -b19600 which is not a standard rate. The nearest rate to 19600 that you wanted would be 19200.
Excuse me wongck, I was wrong to write. I meant 19200.
Then I did some copy / paste and the error got bigger!
Last edited by Robbizz on Sat Jun 12, 2021 7:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

czietz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:59 am Could it be that no one understands Robizz' original question? The question was if you can set the baud rate of Ghostlink's PC program via a command line argument. The answer is: No, this is not supported.

One can however patch the EXE file to use a different default baud rate. The attached version defaults to 19200 bit/s.
But how did you change the default baud rate ?? Have you disassembled the .EXE file and corrected the default baud rate, then reassembled it?
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1533
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by czietz »

Robbizz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 7:49 pm But how did you change the default baud rate ?? Have you disassembled the .EXE file and corrected the default baud rate, then reassembled it?
Actually, I just searched for the value 57600 (the previous default baud rate) with a hex editor: 0x00 0xE1 (in little endian notation). I replaced it with 19200 (0x00 0x4B) and tested what would happen. Had that not worked, I would probably have used Ghidra for deeper analysis.
Robbizz
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:08 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Robbizz »

czietz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 8:27 pm
Robbizz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 7:49 pm But how did you change the default baud rate ?? Have you disassembled the .EXE file and corrected the default baud rate, then reassembled it?
Actually, I just searched for the value 57600 (the previous default baud rate) with a hex editor: 0x00 0xE1 (in little endian notation). I replaced it with 19200 (0x00 0x4B) and tested what would happen. Had that not worked, I would probably have used Ghidra for deeper analysis.
Great!
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13069
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by wongck »

glad you had it working for your setup.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by PeterS »

I am clearing an old laptop and found an old dos app called ddplan.215 (Drogon Dive planner) and this thread prompted me to try it on the Milan.

It's a simple dos text menu but the keyboard response in dosbox is terrible. It took 20 min to respond to a space bar.

Is this normal ?
Calab
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 7:24 pm

Re: DOSBOX and PCSLAVE.EXE

Post by Calab »

czietz wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:59 am One can however patch the EXE file to use a different default baud rate. The attached version defaults to 19200 bit/s.
Excellent stuff!! :cheers:

Just what I was looking for... I have a headless server, so when it restarts it would not work until I hit the key for 19,200.

Thank you!
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”