Stalker

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Stalker

Post by Reylan »

Hello,
Does someone have the full version of stalker terminal?
It looks like it works well with scc, mint and bbs.
Thanks !
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

This is Gribnif Software, Dan Wilga's organization and I think they are still
around.

Not sure about what can be uploaded okay or not...

Can someone help out with this? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

You might be able to help, I'm trying to connect to bottomless abyss bbs.
With something like ansiterm at 19200bps everything is fine.
When I try any other term, it's not perfect. In connect, I get characters instead of the colors. And if I use scc under mint nothing works anymore. With stalker it works under mint, sort of, but still the same characters.

And... Of course ansiterm doesn't work with mint or hsmodem...
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

There's only a couple of Atari comms programs that do ANSI correctly.

ANSITerm is one.

Heck, I can't even get STalker to do VT52 right with DarkForce and it
should be native. :)

With Flash I pretty much settle for ASCII only.

Have you tried TAZ or Freeze Dried Terminal?

Gimme a few minutes to fire up my Mega STe and I'll see what results
I get here.

BRB...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Do you have an actual IP address for this BBS?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

You can find that bbs here https://bbs.bottomlessabyss.net/
Both connect and stalker are supposed to do ansi and have ansi mode. I don't now where I fail.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Hmm. Just logged in with a Win7 box.

That BBS is pretty...involved. Very long scrolling
ANSI screens.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Reylan wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 5:55 pm You can find that bbs here https://bbs.bottomlessabyss.net/
Both connect and stalker are supposed to do ansi and have ansi mode. I don't now where I fail.
Yep, that's the site where I was at.

What are you entering to make a telnet connection with
STalker?

I tried:

atdt bbs.bottomlessabyss.net 2023
atdt.bbs.bottomlessabyss.net,2023

etc,...

PS From a Win7 box, SyncTerm seems to be best.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

I made an esp01 module with a serial to 3.3v module. I flashed zimmodem. I added bbs.bottomlessabyss.net:2023 to the phone book and then, yes... Atdt
Basically, the esp handle the conversion between serial and telnet

On windows, just login and select utf-8 instead of cp437.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Reylan wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 6:32 pm I made an esp01 module with a serial to 3.3v module. I flashed zimmodem. I added bbs.bottomlessabyss.net:2023 to the phone book and then, yes... Atdt
Basically, the esp handle the conversion between serial and telnet

On windows, just login and select utf-8 instead of cp437.
Okay, you're doing something here that admittedly, I'm unfamiliar with.

I've not used zimmodem - is that a Win client?

I'm doing everything on real Atari hardware, nothing else (except for SyncTerm on a
Win7 box - I think SyncTerm is pretty awesome).

Without an actual IP address, can you use Flash/STalker/etc to telnet into a BBS?

I'm doing everything from behind my local LAN here. So when I dial into DarkForce,
it's something like "atdt 192.168.XXX.XXX,520".

Thanks.

PS I feel like I'm not helping you very much here, sorry. :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Oh crap!

<bashes head against wall>

Doh. Don't know what I was thinking. I'm using a Lantronix UDS-10 here and as
far as I know, it doesn't support dialing out in that manner. I think (from what
Tillek and others said) the MS-1100 model does?

So that's what's happening on my end. You're using one of the WinModems, wi-fi
pieces of hardware, right - hence the conversion process.

Sorry for being so dense (can we blame it on my post-op total R hip replacement
meds?) . ;)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

Ok, so esp01 is a small microcontroller. You can flash a firmware on it that make it behave like a modem, answering to at commands. It would like that be used as a bridge from a serial port to any telnet access through your wifi. You plug it to the atari and then it take care of the rest. Allowing you to use bbs as it was meant to be.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Reylan wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 8:02 pm Ok, so esp01 is a small microcontroller. You can flash a firmware on it that make it behave like a modem, answering to at commands. It would like that be used as a bridge from a serial port to any telnet access through your wifi. You plug it to the atari and then it take care of the rest. Allowing you to use bbs as it was meant to be.

Right, that's it. There's a ton of new releases where recent hardware is doing the job of older stuff, like
the Wifi modems.

Anyway, at least I'm (finally!) with you on the same page We are back to square one though. I don't have
anything on my Atari's except for the UDS-10 to call out with and that's a whole 'nother ball game.

Really need to get someone in here with a similar setup to yours so you can compare....
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
8bitguy1
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:54 am

Re: Stalker

Post by 8bitguy1 »

I just tried the demo version of Stalker and all I got was jibberish for the ansi graphics. (totally possible I've set something wrong, but...). I'm using the Wimodem, with an STE with 4mb. The text reads fine but the graphics don't work at all. They do work in ANSIterm.
8bitguy1
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:54 am

Re: Stalker

Post by 8bitguy1 »

Freeze Dried Terminal does work, however.

(Also I'm actually logged in, I have an account there).
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

Ok, I found a stalker version which is working very fine issue is graphics. I spent about 3 hours testing all parameters. Best I had was with the CoNnect fonts declared in nvdi... Not very convincing tho.
I've seen on the forum that CoNnect is supposed tu be the best. I gave it a try.
Issue I had was with communication speed. If I use plain tos/gem, no problems. But I can't go faster than 19200.
I tried with the scc modules from freemint. As it was working well with stalker. Best I can have is seeing echo from my wifi modem if I double speed compared to what's setup in the modem.

Do that bug sound familiar to someone?

I'd like to be able to have graphics (like in connect) and speed (like stalker) at the same time...
Last edited by Reylan on Tue Mar 23, 2021 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

PXL_20210323_075155207 (1).jpg
Major breakthrough. Everything is working with CoNect under freemint. For some unknown reason, I removed the scc module and use the hsmodem I was using under gem. I never thought mint would accept that but it's working.

Would someone want a tutorial ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Congratulations! Glad you got it going.

I never did care for CoNect myself - it always felt clumsy under GEM/TOS.

But...as long as you're happy...! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

Which one do you use then ?
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Depends. It's situational for me.

I use TAZ for VT52 when I'm on my BBS.

I use STalker when I'm going to play music from my BBS (you have to be using
a comms program that allows you access to your desk accessories)

And as you've already found out, ANSITerm and FDT seem to be best if you're
going for ANSI support.

IIRC, CoNect actually does seem to work better on "higher end" Atari's, and
multitasking environments.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by Bikerbob »

Reylan wrote: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:27 am PXL_20210323_075155207 (1).jpg

Major breakthrough. Everything is working with CoNect under freemint. For some unknown reason, I removed the scc module and use the hsmodem I was using under gem. I never thought mint would accept that but it's working.

Would someone want a tutorial ?
Sorry, so using Conect 95 on freemint you are getting it working well and can connect to telnet bbs'? I see you are using a wifi modem.. so you are using AT commands still and getting out with Connect on freemint.. cool.. I am using sparemint (unix stuff in there) so yes. I would love to see how you got it all to work."

James
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

DarkLord wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 2:23 pm Depends. It's situational for me.

I use TAZ for VT52 when I'm on my BBS.

I use STalker when I'm going to play music from my BBS (you have to be using
a comms program that allows you access to your desk accessories)

And as you've already found out, ANSITerm and FDT seem to be best if you're
going for ANSI support.

IIRC, CoNect actually does seem to work better on "higher end" Atari's, and
multitasking environments.
I have to say that with the right parameters, CoNnect is even better than ansiterm. Very efficient.
Later tonight, if the kid leave me time, I'll make a little tutorial with the important option to configure.
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

Ok so here it is !
My config : I wanted to be able to access BBS with full ansi support within freemint so i can ssh or do whatever while chatting on MRC (bbs.bottomlessabyss.net)

The steps :
  1. On your freemint/*? installation disable scc.xdd
    it can be on falcon folder or ct60 or whatever. disable it !
  2. copy file named drvin.prg and scc.prg from hsmodem in your auto folder BUT NAMED PRX so they don't autostart
  3. edit mint.cnf
    AFTER gluestik and mgw init and BEFORE loading USB driver for netusbee (/!\ very important or you will loose networking)
    add
    exec /c/auto/drvin.prx
    exec /c/auto/scc.prx
    and after setenv LOGNAME/USER/HOME/SHELL
    setenv MODEMDEV U:\DEV\MODEM2 (that's for falcon 030 with or without ct60)
  4. copy font from the CoNnect gemsys folder to your nvdi gemsys folder (i use connect.fnt and connligh.fnt)
  5. declare that in your assign.sys for each screen??.sys
  6. reboot
you are now done with the system configuration
Now for the CoNnect part, this is my setup and i have a nice ansi support
  1. PXL_20210324_203608555.jpg
  2. PXL_20210324_203618802.jpg
  3. PXL_20210324_203628922.jpg
  4. PXL_20210324_203650467.jpg
  5. PXL_20210324_203640661.jpg
Then you are done, connect with atd.... and enjoy !
PXL_20210324_203813752.jpg
PXL_20210324_203806320.jpg
I know, it's long, but it works. If you have any questions, feel free to ask, i'll be glad to help !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Stalker

Post by DarkLord »

Nicely done - thanks for the tutorial! :)

PS So the HSModem software in the AUTO folder is activated too soon in the
chain, hence you exec'ing them later but doesn't that mean you could probably
put them anywhere (besides the AUTO folder) and exec them? Thanks.

PSS I'm assuming that you configured the HSModem software along the usual
guidelines for your machine?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Reylan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Stalker

Post by Reylan »

DarkLord wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 9:41 pm Nicely done - thanks for the tutorial! :)

PS So the HSModem software in the AUTO folder is activated too soon in the
chain, hence you exec'ing them later but doesn't that mean you could probably
put them anywhere (besides the AUTO folder) and exec them? Thanks.

PSS I'm assuming that you configured the HSModem software along the usual
guidelines for your machine?
First, hsmodem needs to be launched after freemint but before netusbee drivers. As netusbee drivers are loaded IN mint.cnf, you can't just put hsmodem in the auto folder. That's the only way i found to do it.

For HSmodem, i just used the binaries for the falcon found in the zip from "atari essentials". No conf at all ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”