uip-tool

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Post by Bikerbob »

I am using a 220w psu on my pak68/3 build, it is 5.00V lots of power 23amp but just 5.00v. I will check the megaSTs and the megaSTE that does get the Netusbee working.. see what their 5v rail puts out.

James
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

susher wrote:. i.e. the cumulative propagation delay through the chips is just too high if the voltage is precisely 5V but sneaks in if slightly higher.
Any chance you could verify that by swapping the chips for LS versions?
agranlund
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:49 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by agranlund »

I gave up on the NetUsbee for my accelerated ST as well.
It works fine with the stock 68000 CPU, and it works with the 030 if I clock it with the 8Mhz clock.
Never got it to work when running it at 50 or 32 Mhz though. I suspected maybe it was just hyper sensitive to slight timing deviations but I found out about the ParCP-USB so never bothered investigating the NetUSBee issue any further.
susher
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by susher »

sqward wrote:
susher wrote:. i.e. the cumulative propagation delay through the chips is just too high if the voltage is precisely 5V but sneaks in if slightly higher.
Any chance you could verify that by swapping the chips for LS versions?
I'm not sure you'd be able to get LS chips in SOIC packages and I wouldn't be confident in removing and replacing such small surface mount devices anyway.
Reylan
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: uip-tool

Post by Reylan »

agranlund wrote:I gave up on the NetUsbee for my accelerated ST as well.
It works fine with the stock 68000 CPU, and it works with the 030 if I clock it with the 8Mhz clock.
Never got it to work when running it at 50 or 32 Mhz though. I suspected maybe it was just hyper sensitive to slight timing deviations but I found out about the ParCP-USB so never bothered investigating the NetUSBee issue any further.
What is paracp usb ? I search on Google with no luck...
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Post by saulot »

User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

Can I as the moderator to move all Netusbee "support" posts to a separate topic?
8bitguy1
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:54 am

Re: uip-tool

Post by 8bitguy1 »

susher wrote: on my STE, it will work with the stock power supply but not with the Exxos power supply which has less noise and better voltage control. i.e. the hardware only just about works under the best of conditions.
Wished I'd have known that before I ordered the Exxos Power Supply for my STE. Has anyone else reported this issue?
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by neanderthal »

sqward wrote:Can I as the moderator to move all Netusbee "support" posts to a separate topic?
Yeap,pop it into hardware or something since we are not talking 'Applications' anymore.
JuanPC2020
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:22 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by JuanPC2020 »

Can you improve it?
for example:
Add Network MIDI driver?
ipMIDI ?
rptMIDI ?

https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/rtpmidi.html
https://nerds.de/en/ipmidi.html
https://hackaday.io/project/156332-pedalino/log/153754-ipmidi

:contract:
:coffe:
sqward wrote: Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:25 pm Hello

Some time ago I've started working on a tool that would allow me to quickly upload files over ethernet (netusbee) to my Atari. This was mainly meant to speed up my development iteration but in the end I've decided to add web interface for the benefit of general public. It doesn't require Sting or MiNT. It's a self-contained binary with uIP embedded TCP/IP stack with DHCP. Run it on your Atari and point your PC browser to the IP address you'll see on the Atari screen. As far as I can tell it works on all TOS machines (tested on ST, TT, Falcon and CT60).

Image

It supports drag&drop of files from your PCs desktop.

It's largely unfinished. I'm hoping someone will help me get HTML part to the point it will be a genuinely useful tool.

Code and a binary can be found here:
git repo: https://bitbucket.org/sqward/uip-tools
binary: https://bitbucket.org/sqward/uip-tools/downloads/

Hope someone will find it useful.

uIPtool tutorial

User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

I don't think so. MIDI software for ST has the habit of talking to the hardware directly so there's no way to make any apps work with rtpMidi out of the box. Also, I speculate that the overhead of packet oriented nature of Ethernet would make rtpMidi perform poorly on ST.
lastic
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 5:54 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by lastic »

First thanks for such an excellent tool ! Saves a lot of hassle looking/plugging/unplugging SD cards and/or USB-sticks.

Have you considered adding a TNFS client which has been used extensively on SpectraNet (ZX Spectrum) and recently on the 8-bit Atari's ?

https://fujinet.online/support/

The server side exists and can be run on PC/ARM/MacOS/Linux etc ...
User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

It actually crossed my mind. I've read somewhere that TNFS uses UDP which would be ideal for uip. I'm not sure how this could work on ST. Maybe I'll play with it at some point. However, I have other priorities with uiptool, like adding remote debugger.

Thanks for you interest in my tool!
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by neanderthal »

JuanPC2020 wrote: Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:29 pm Can you improve it?
for example:
Add Network MIDI driver?
ipMIDI ?
rptMIDI ?

https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/rtpmidi.html
https://nerds.de/en/ipmidi.html
https://hackaday.io/project/156332-peda ... 754-ipmidi
Those as far I can see is using networks(ethernet) and such for popping around midi messages over networks so would be a couple of problems.
First.
NetUSBee uses the standard ROM port of the ST-line as does almost all of the dongle copy protectiongs of the time for pro software.
And it would pretty much just be those that could benefit from that.
Btw folks dont test expanders with late time extender dongles like NetUSBee,the expanders are mostly just for same brand protect cartridges,there are some that have already busted some stuff cause of testing.

Second.
Someone would have to write a driver to interact via the interface in question(what ever that would be).
For example Cubase would need a driver for it to know that it can use some interface for popping in and out midi data.

And last,I have a feel that these network things are to skip the rather high cost of midicables and to do some basic synchro when need be,start/stop signals for equipment and such.So have to check up on that RFC document there.At least on 'public' networks all sorts of proper timing is rather off,,as everbody who has done online gaming knows.
User avatar
alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by alienkidmj12 »

love this tool, is there any plans to make server run in a gem dialog ? would be good to hit a button to re-dhcp it etc, maybe show the files request or send in a nice window format :) tftp option is also something id like to see :)
User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

Absolutely no GEM dialog planned. I plan on DHCP improvements so "re-dhcp" should happen automatically. Showing what's being transferred slows down the actual transfer massively that's why it was removed long time ago. You can see what's being transferred on a PC. TFTP? You want to boot a kernel off your Atari? I can't see the point.
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: uip-tool

Post by qq1975b »

It is a great utility. If you put a lot of files in the queue, the transfer speed drops a lot. I suppose it is not the way I should transfer a lot of files to the ST.
Learning...
User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

Transfer speed shouldn't drop. You're talking about FTP or HTTP?
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: uip-tool

Post by qq1975b »

Accessing via web browser through the IP address.
Learning...
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by Moulinaie »

Hi,

I tested it on my TT (not accelerated):
for getting files from the Atari to my PC : 1 MB in 7 seconds (150 kB/sec)
for sending files from my PC to the Atari: 1 MB in 31 seconds... (34 kB/sec)

Arg ! That's really slow !
But I really like the system, the interface is clear, the program really easy to use, bravo!

Very helpful for small files,

Guillaume.
User avatar
sqward
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London

Re: uip-tool

Post by sqward »

PC -> Atari transfer speed must be limited by something on the Atari side. I'm betting your harddrive is very slow. Are you using SatanDisk by any chance?
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Post by saulot »

Surprise that it works on TT anyway.. Some people complained that it doesn't.
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by Moulinaie »

sqward wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:42 am PC -> Atari transfer speed must be limited by something on the Atari side. I'm betting your harddrive is very slow. Are you using SatanDisk by any chance?
It's a SCSI to CF adapter.
I will test it with XFERRATE but I'm sure that it's close to 1MB/sec.

Guillaume.
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by Moulinaie »

saulot wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:47 am Surprise that it works on TT anyway.. Some people complained that it doesn't.
It's an old version of the TT, the one with the metal shield.

On a more recent TT, NetUSBee didn't work.

Guillaume.
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: uip-tool

Post by neanderthal »

Moulinaie wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:40 am Hi,

I tested it on my TT (not accelerated):
for getting files from the Atari to my PC : 1 MB in 7 seconds (150 kB/sec)
for sending files from my PC to the Atari: 1 MB in 31 seconds... (34 kB/sec)

Arg ! That's really slow !
But I really like the system, the interface is clear, the program really easy to use, bravo!

Very helpful for small files,

Guillaume.
The PC to Atari sounds really slow there,wonder if it has todo with machine speed as such?
Maybe polling runs too fast or something in comparison since its a TT,I adapted the stuff for my netcard driver and get about 200kB/s up/down.
But mine is interupt driven and on system-bus on the Falcon(standard clocking/machine) with a old 3Com card.
Had actually to make a software in-buffer for got over-rides otherwise(the 3C509 I use has real small ram buffer).

Never had good look at how the polling worked since had to remove that for my net-card interupt version.

Talking of stuff,the output pack splitting seems a bit unneccesary for me since in normal cases never get a full packet in and out at the same time(thus overflowing card rambuffer).
Any switch or simple way of recompiling without that? (mainly a question to sqward this one)
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”