Hooking up Atari to PC, best program ?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2238
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Hooking up Atari to PC, best program ?

Post by Zorro 2 »

:arrow: serial port (COM1 or COM2) : use GHOSTLINK with a cable "null modem".

:idea: If you have zindozs xp or 2000, you can use an utility who release your serial or printer/parallel port : http://www.writelog.com/support/lpt_por ... ows_nt.htm (source : Strider)

:arrow: parallel port (LPT) : use PARALLELCOPY with his proper cable PARALLELCOPY (or a cross parallel cable !) or PARCP.

Ghostlink v 1.02 beta and Parcp v 2.5 are join on this Sticky with their docs !

Enjoy or Comments or Upgrade !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Member of NoExtra Team
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Post by [ProToS] »

they have also HDD DMN 3.0 from MC Soft & Hard
(not tested)
HDD_DMN - Our last and best product which connects ATARI a PC thru parallel
port. This is most cheap way how to connect hard disc to ST/STE and this is
only one of the functions included !! Let's see some of them:

* You can use 1.44MB HD floppy on your ATARI
* You can use PC hard disc
* So you can copy files from PC to ATARI respectively thru parallel port and using your favorit copy program or DESKTOP !!
* If you have not battery clocks in your ATARI, this is way how to got it.
* INItialization file uses special script which allows you to make your own batch to run when HDD_DMN start's
http://x.opf.slu.cz/~limo/
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1307
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Stefan jL »

has anybody tried the "HDD DMN 3.0"?

Does it make the PC to act as an ST harddrive? showing up like an ikon on desktop?
Image
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Gryzor »

Well, if it is so it would be the equivalent of Amiga Forever... I'm going to try it out ASAP -as soon as I find a stoopid cable, that is...

The link is dead, btw :(

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
User avatar
Zee
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 9:37 am
Location: Åtvidaberg, Sweden

Post by Zee »

Let us know how if you get it to work.

I'm interrested in this too... (But only if someone else gets it to work first :-))

// Zee
My other computer is an Amiga, Sinclar or Spectravideo
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11597
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

Definitely be interested but where to get the cables from .. I bought a laplink cable which had parallel and serial on it .. but can only connect the serial side to the PC - doesn't seem to have appropriate connectors on the cable for either PC or ST via parallel.

Anyone sell the cables on Ebay etc?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4077
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Post by ijor »

muguk wrote:Definitely be interested but where to get the cables from .. I bought a laplink cable which had parallel and serial on it .. but can only connect the serial side to the PC - doesn't seem to have appropriate connectors on the cable for either PC or ST via parallel.
Hmm, never heard of such a cable. Are you sure it is both parallel and serial on the same cable ?
User avatar
Zee
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 9:37 am
Location: Åtvidaberg, Sweden

Post by Zee »

ijor wrote:
muguk wrote:Definitely be interested but where to get the cables from .. I bought a laplink cable which had parallel and serial on it .. but can only connect the serial side to the PC - doesn't seem to have appropriate connectors on the cable for either PC or ST via parallel.
Hmm, never heard of such a cable. Are you sure it is both parallel and serial on the same cable ?
wow, Laplink... Now that's a long time ago... :D
As I recall Laplink came with two types of cables. One serial (probably just a null-modem one) which has both DB9 and DB25 connectors in one or both ends. And a special "parallel" cable that you used to connect the parallel ports of you PC's instead of the comports.

We used this alot in the early nineties to transfer files between computers when installing the OS and making them ready to connect to the LAN.

// Zee
My other computer is an Amiga, Sinclar or Spectravideo
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11597
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

Yep so did I in the old MS DOS days of backing up users Sage Accounts etc the hard-drive onto 3.5" floppies.

Just bought it assuming it'd work PC<->ST .. this the wrong kind of cable then?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
Zee
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 9:37 am
Location: Åtvidaberg, Sweden

Post by Zee »

It sounds like you have the serial Laplink cable...

If my guess is correct then it's just a nullmodem cable and you should be able to run GhostLink. If it isn't a nullmodem cable, you should be able to pick one up at any decent computer cable store.

But you can't use it for the other two programs, PARCP and HDD DMN.

BTW, if anybody actually builds a HDD DMN cable and get it to work, let me know so I can nag and nag until you build one for me too... :wink:

// Zee
My other computer is an Amiga, Sinclar or Spectravideo
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11597
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

MegaSTE to PC using Ghostlink and the Serial 2 port on Mega STE .. worked a treat until it crashed. Several reboots of both machines and still playing up ..

WIll get it fixed .. got a few hundred disks to image up ;-)

Not going back to floppy disks !!
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11597
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

And just to prove me wrong, it's now working again.

Had to remove both COM ports from Device Manager on the Win98 machine, reboot, let it find them again and it's working sweet as ..

some very nice disks will be forthcoming .. due to their amount, will be uploading them to the Atari Legend FTP sometime soon.

Got to transfer them across to this main XP-based PC first ..
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
bjjones37
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:11 pm
Location: USA

Post by bjjones37 »

Just in case your interested. I was using Ghostlink with a null modem cable. It did work well, but it was slow. Now, for some unknown reason I cannot get Ghostlink to work at all, even though the serial transfer still works with STalker and Zmodem. So I switched over to PARCP 2.50. I had to find a parallel cable with an shell connector instead of a molded one. The modification was simple, I just had to switch and solder two wires on one end. Getting PARCP to work with Windows XP was a little more involved, but a utility called UserPort is available for free download which took care of my compatibility problem. It uses an FTP style interface which is a little cumbersome but works really well. Now instead of downloading over night, I do my transfers in about half an hour. It really is MUCH faster than Ghostlink. You lose the convenience of the GEM interface on the ST. Basically the two computers swap roles. IN Ghostlink, the Windows machine acted as the server. In PARCP, the ST acts as the server. At least this is how I have learned to use it. There is a more convenient interface available if you register and you can get version 3.90. I think 2.50 was the last unregistered release that did not limit the number of files accessible.
Courtesy is not an option.
User avatar
membot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:57 am

Post by membot »

now i'm just about ready to enter into the wide world of atari/pc linking

i've downloaded a copy of ghostlink and was wondering if there are any things i should be aware of in using win95.

i need a nice way to back up and store my atari floppies and have an old pc that would make a great hard drive :D

so....any tips from those who have experience using win95 with a STE would be very, very nice.

thanks guys

-j.
User avatar
membot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:57 am

Post by membot »

hi.

just checked out each program mentioned above. it seems that ghostlink is the only one i'll be able to try as PARCP looks like it won't run on a ST(?) and HDD DMN has disappeared...

this seems all clear cut and to the point but if someone has any suggestions on using ghostlink with an STE/STacy and a win95 machine, i'd love to hear them!

bst,

-j.

:: and if there are other, possibly better/faster programs out there that will do the same thing, let me know ;]
User avatar
bripilot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:07 pm
Location: Kansas, USA
Contact:

Post by bripilot »

Getting an error when trying to download either program... needing Ghostlink as I have a serial null-modem cable... Anyone have the prog they can send me?
Atarian since 1980

STs: 1040STfm, Falcon 030 w/ 14MB, 10GB internal HD and BlowUp graphics adapter
8bits: 800XL w/ 32-in-1 OS and Supervideo 2.1 Upgrade, Happy 1050, APE (Registered), Commodore 1702 Monitor and PC storage unit

Wish list: MegaSTE, 130XE, 65XEGS
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Post by [ProToS] »

SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
steph
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:38 pm

Post by steph »

any chance that someone repost hdd dmn ? The original site is dead and it seems to be a cool way to connect a ST to a PC.
Steph
User avatar
steph
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:38 pm

Post by steph »

after a long google exploration, I've found an hdd_dmn archive. It contains the explanation on how to build the cable interface but it looks like chinese to me :cry: .

here is the link :

http://www.funet.fi/pub/atari/net/hdd_dmn.lzh
Steph
User avatar
bripilot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:07 pm
Location: Kansas, USA
Contact:

Post by bripilot »

Thanks Pro! =)

Now I just need about a day to play and I'll be good... damn dentist appointment tomorrow... =(

Anyway... just got my 2 new Wico Bat handle joysticks (best ever made in my opinion), and can't wait to spend a day playing Llamatron and just havin fun... =)
Atarian since 1980

STs: 1040STfm, Falcon 030 w/ 14MB, 10GB internal HD and BlowUp graphics adapter
8bits: 800XL w/ 32-in-1 OS and Supervideo 2.1 Upgrade, Happy 1050, APE (Registered), Commodore 1702 Monitor and PC storage unit

Wish list: MegaSTE, 130XE, 65XEGS
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

probably a dumb question but does the parcp work on the falcon and would
This cable be suitable

thanks
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Post by earx »

yes, it works on the falcon i've been told. that cable probably isn't suitable, though. you need a special cable. the wiring is explained on this page:

http://joy.sophics.cz/parcp/parcpdoc.ht ... dHardware1

you can also use this cable with the nice st trans program from atari.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2506
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Post by christos »

Hello,
Will ghostlink work with windows xp and how?
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11597
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

No it won't .. wish it would :(

It needs someone on the PC to code (if I remember correctly) a true Win32 console version of the xfer program ..

That's why I have a separate (and old!) PC running Windows 98 for this purpose.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
fox78
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Finland

Post by fox78 »

Hi! work the ghostlnk program both ways? Pc-atari or only atari-pc?
And i just wonder witch ports i put the nullmodem cabel?Behind the atari dosen´t read serial...I have atari520ste...This is my first atari and i don´t know very mutch this computer...:(
I hope someone clever can help me:)
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”