MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

FreeMiNT related questions are answered here.

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, ThorstenOtto, mikro, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by Rustynutt »

Decided to try my Dayna Port SCSI Link-T, last used about 2001 on a Falcon with MiNT 1.14.7 and NAES.

Used Joska's network setup tool with the CT60 and SVEthLANa, and NetUSB before, easy.

AIRC, using the setup tool, the xif was displayed in the menu for the other devices.

Doesn't seem like STiCK SCSILINK.XIF is being loaded by MiNT.

Anyone know the last version of MiNT the hardware was actually tested?
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by ThorstenOtto »

I don't know if that is the case, but you cannot use drivers that were built against old mint versions in recent versions (or vice versa).
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5121
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by joska »

Is that true for XIF modules? I'm still using Ozk's ~15 year old RTL8139 and NE2000 driver with 1.19 on my Milan and Falcons.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by Rustynutt »

Thorsten may have a point.
What I think is going on.
Rogers original scsi xif for mint is dated 2007.
The date in the one included in mint 1-18-0 is dated 2013.
The SCSI driver included in Vanilla MiNT and FreeMiNT 1-19-xx are for sting, not stick...

I'm using the xif dated 2013, I can get the units MAC address stepping through the MiNT boot and it appears, after moving the network setup over from Vanilla MiNT (I'm not competent enough to do it by hand), all looks good. After 12 hours, came across the "resolve.com" issue of it being in long name format.
There's activity just connected to the router, but unlike the SVEtherlan, I don't see it come up in the routers client list. I entered a manual address, but couldn't ping the router, or the Falcon itself.
Haven't dropped back to Rogers 2007 version however.
stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by stormy »

Perhaps you could open a GitHub issue where it can be looked into.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by Rustynutt »

Well, don't know if it solved it.
Getting good and throwing MiNT folders around :
Put Rogers original XIF from 2007 in a Vanilla MiNT installation. Ran network set up.
I'm on Google with CAB right now :)
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by ThorstenOtto »

joska wrote: Thu Nov 04, 2021 7:18 am Is that true for XIF modules? I'm still using Ozk's ~15 year old RTL8139 and NE2000 driver with 1.19 on my Milan and Falcons.
Generally, yes. May depend on what functions the driver uses (if any). The kernel exposes some structures to drivers, but if the driver does not use them, and also does not check the structure version, it may still work. But that is rather unlikely, functions like memset(), memcpy() etc. are also part of this interface.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: MiNT and Dyna SCSI Port Link XIF

Post by Rustynutt »

Found request :) deleted post.
Post Reply

Return to “FreeMiNT support”