Roland MT-32

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Rarkhaan
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 9:08 am

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by Rarkhaan »

Hi DarkLord

Happy to hear that you are making progress reviving your MT32
Regarding Ultima nothing special to be done except switching MT32 to accept midi on channel 1 which is not the case by default as described here:
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/ar ... -channels/#

Cheers
Rarkhaan
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 9:08 am

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by Rarkhaan »

Hi again

For the display topic you may be interested in the following vogon’s thread:
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=67681

But to be honest, depending on your soldering skills, I will probably go first for a recap.

Cheers
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by DarkLord »

Read that thread, not sure there's a resolution there.

But...given I have a "hum" and given that I have a dim
display, I think my next step is to replace the P/S with
something new and see what that does...

And if that doesn't work, then I guess it's time to start
thinking about caps...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by crashman »

I let a friend one mt-32 and misplaced the psu, I gave him one with the right volts, + on the outside, but with lower mA, result? no working lcd!
as soon as we try one with the right mA, I think it needs 650, everything comes back to life.
Good luck with yours!
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by DarkLord »

Thanks, still looking into that...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by DarkLord »

I actually found a replacement P/S specifically for the MT-32 on Amazon
and have ordered it. Looks like it's gonna be a few weeks before it gets
here, despite Amazon Primes' "2 day shipping". :)

Hopefully this is the issue and the replacement will resolve it. I'll
report back here once it's arrived and in place.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32

Post by DarkLord »

BTW, still not been able to get the Ultima games to work with the MT-32.

I attempted to follow the suggested online guides, doing this:

1. While holding down MASTER VOLUME, press and hold PART 5.

2. Press PART 1.

Doing the first part results in this being shown:

Channel 1-8 ? [1]

Pressing PART 1 then returns it to the regular menu.

This is supposed to change the default receive channels from 2-9 and
10, to 1-8 and 10. Apparently the Ultima games use the lower end
channels.

But...still no MIDI sound from the Ultima games.

Thanks all.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Post Reply

Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”