SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

crocky
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby crocky » Fri Dec 07, 2018 3:03 pm

Ok thanks then I will try some other files :(

ghogan42
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby ghogan42 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:27 pm

crocky wrote:Ok thanks then I will try some other files :(


The US version of Super Street Fighter II should also work.

crocky
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby crocky » Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:31 pm

Finally the card was unable to boot and I did an error check on windows and now both SSF2 and S Bomberman 2 are working. I shall keep in mind to do this next time before posting.

markun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:03 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby markun » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:34 pm

The game "Super Mario All-Stars + Super Mario World (USA)" has a regression since release 20181206. In the main menu the cursor keeps scrolling to the right and does not land (exactly) on a game poster. Pressing the START button results in a menu that is almost completely out of the screen.

In 20181201 it worked fine. I just tested 20181207 and it's unfortunately still broken.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:03 pm

Does MiSTer SNES core support VGA output? I can't manage to make it work on my de0ns. I've also recompiled MiSTer main arm binary just to be sure.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:10 pm

Yes, it supports VGA.

Jeebs
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Jeebs » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:34 pm

markun wrote:The game "Super Mario All-Stars + Super Mario World (USA)" has a regression since release 20181206. In the main menu the cursor keeps scrolling to the right and does not land (exactly) on a game poster. Pressing the START button results in a menu that is almost completely out of the screen.

In 20181201 it worked fine. I just tested 20181207 and it's unfortunately still broken.

I saw this same issue as well. Mario All Stars without Mario World works just fine too.

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:10 pm

Thanks for the confirmation. On other cores I can see this (or similar) line printed on the console when the core starts:

Code: Select all

INFO: Video resolution: 641 x 568, fHorz = 31.3KHz, fVert = 50.1Hz, fPix = 27.99MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1996799, HDMI = 0


But on my build of SNES core I can't see that. I guess MiSTer main did not detect the video mode for some reason - most likely because of my mods. The core runs, because I can enter the OSD menu (not displayed) and load another core (blindly, pressing right arrow, enter, up arrow, enter). I must have missed something then.

314ter
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby 314ter » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:29 am

In Final Fantasy V, the english translation (GBA port patch, but also other patch versions) I can’t get past the title screen.
When you press start button, the title logo flies toward you and the music fades, but the the screen stays black while the music keeps playing softly. The previous core versions also show this behaviour.
Can anyone confirm this? Or does anyone know a fix for this?

widge
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby widge » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:18 am

Hello,

I have VGA signal on other console cores but not on SNES.

Updated MiSTer to MiSTer_20181208.

Updated SNES to SNES_20181207.rbf

Am I missing something?

Thanks

SegaMan
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby SegaMan » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:37 am

Whats your settings in Mister.ini?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:55 am

widge wrote:Hello,

I have VGA signal on other console cores but not on SNES.

Updated MiSTer to MiSTer_20181208.

Updated SNES to SNES_20181207.rbf

Am I missing something?

Thanks

you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Postby albconde » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:08 pm

tested a lot of games , compatiblity is great .
Some issues :
snow white in happy ever after : black screen
metal marines ( u) \milita (j) : problems with image when you start to play after history .
seiken densetsu 3 (j) : some flickers in the image in first fight ( resolution changes?) ( works in 20181201)
derby stallion 96 (j) : black screen
bart's nightmare :strange color in background when move (works in release 20181201)
onita atsushi FMW (j) :freeze when you start game, no sound
pachiokun special (j):freeze when you enter in any building in game , no sound
sound novel Tsukuru (j) : black screen
chou aniki - bakuretsu rantouden (j) : black screen

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:10 pm

Sorgelig wrote:you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.


Thanks. that was it. Furthermore the carts I downloaded were SMC format, therefore containing 512 byte copier header. This needs to be skipped in order to read the raw cart data. I've made a fix to MiSTer main to skip the smc/sfc header. You can test it by using the unofficial release bellow:

https://github.com/ole00/Main_MiSTer/tr ... r/releases

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:12 pm

albconde wrote:tested a lot of games , compatiblity is great .
Some issues :

... black screen


Try my unofficial release of MiSTer main (see above) which detects the copier header in the carts and skips it. It may help to fix some of the 'black screen' issues.

widge
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby widge » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:14 pm

Sorgelig wrote:you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.


Thanks, I am not familiar with boot.rom, is it just a SFC file renamed to to boot.rom?

I have tried:

injector SNES_20181207.rbf game.sfc new.rbf

and (game.sfc renamed to boot.rom):

injector SNES_20181207.rbf boot.rom new2.rbf

new.rbf and new2.rbf do no produce VGA.

widge
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby widge » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:16 pm

SegaMan wrote:Whats your settings in Mister.ini?


I have just set forced_scandoubler to 1.

I have not touched the rest of the file.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Postby albconde » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:40 pm

widge wrote:Thanks, I am not familiar with boot.rom, is it just a SFC file renamed to to boot.rom?

don't need to inject the room rename a game as boot.rom and put in a folder named snes

olin wrote:Try my unofficial release of MiSTer main (see above) which detects the copier header in the carts and skips it. It may help to fix some of the 'black screen' issues.


No luck , black screen with your unoficial mister file

User avatar
yarko
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: SNES core

Postby yarko » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:19 pm

I confirm - only black screen on VGA output

PhantombrainM
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:43 pm

yarko wrote:I confirm - only black screen on VGA output


Just put a renamed game into the SNES folder. Rename it to boot.rom. Then you will get a picture on VGA output.

I used the SNES Test Suite und now every time I start the core I get the test suite (even on VGA)
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

widge
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby widge » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:23 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Just put a renamed game into the SNES folder. Rename it to boot.rom. Then you will get a picture on VGA output.

I used the SNES Test Suite und now every time I start the core I get the test suite (even on VGA)


Ok the boot.rom mechanism works on my side but I only have video on HDMI, nothing on VGA.

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:16 am

widge wrote:Ok the boot.rom mechanism works on my side but I only have video on HDMI, nothing on VGA.

Similar for me: 15.7 kHz fine via SCART, but when scandoubler is enabled then my VGA monitor does not pick up the signal. I wonder whether it is the non standard vertical frequency of 60.1 Hz

Code: Select all

INFO: Video resolution: 512 x 448, fHorz = 31.5KHz, fVert = 60.1Hz, fPix = 21.48MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1663917, HDMI = 0 

Shamus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Shamus » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:53 am

... black screen ...


I have the black screen issue in another context: many roms run just fine, whereas others mentioned to be working in this thread consistently give a black screen and no sound in DVI (DVI mode = 4; NTSC and PAL tried):

Donkey Kong Country
F-Zero
Super Bomberman 1+2, whereas Super Bomberman 3 works!
Super Street Fighter
all Super Mario games; Mario is missing and Mario's Time Machine work
etc.

Is this connected to DVI (I cannot try VGA or HDMI with my setup), could it be the rom files, or am I doing something wrong?

Shamus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Shamus » Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:56 pm

I just downloaded different rom files for Super Mario World and eventually one worked indeed. Then it is the rom, or header or ...?

Shamus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Shamus » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:30 pm

From my experience with working and non-working roms: what would be a good source for an SNES ROM pack that works well with the MISTer core?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MysteryM, paulofduarte, vorvek and 2 guests