Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby ijor » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:03 am

MiSTer Atari ST core

I am looking for a couple of a testers for a preliminary closed beta.

The requirements are:

- A MiSTer with SDRAM board. I/O board is no required.
- Being familiar with ST demos, games and handling disk images. The main goal is to test programs that have compatibility problems.

Please contact me by PM.

skywalky
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby skywalky » Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:58 pm

:cheers:

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby ijor » Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:23 pm

All potential testers please check this thread: viewtopic.php?f=117&t=34458

User avatar
davemacblack
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:20 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby davemacblack » Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:16 am

ijor wrote:MiSTer Atari ST core

I am looking for a couple of a testers for a preliminary closed beta.


Great news, finally I have reason to get MISTer :-)
Then I'll get involved in testing ST Core.

BBond007
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby BBond007 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:56 pm

I got it up an running.

I'm really impressed that the first few games I tried all worked :)

There are a few little issues:

The mouse I'm using (Logitech M325) moves extremely slowly and won't move in a straight horizontal or vertical line. It seems like it only moves diagonally. That makes it really tedious to use the GEM desktop.

I'll try a different mouse and report back.

The disk selection does not remember the previously selected path or disc. That would be super nice for testing purposes.

Have several different versions of most things, so when requested to insert disk #2, not only do you need to navigate through the directory structure again but you need to remember which version of disk #1 you initially used to get the corresponding version.

A few games I have tried seem to play ok for a while but then controller quits responding (but sill worked in OSD) and the game continues to run. This happened In games Jim Power, Final Fight, Shadow of the Beast and at least one more.

Anyway, nice job and thanks!
Last edited by BBond007 on Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

breiztiger
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby breiztiger » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:13 pm

hi

i'm not an atari addict but if i can try st core i would be enjoy to report bug a discovered

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby ijor » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:33 pm

BBond007 wrote:The mouse I'm using (Logitech M325) moves extremely slowly and won't move in a straight horizontal or vertical line. It seems like it only moves diagonally. That makes it really tedious to use the GEM desktop.


Yes, I have seen this myself. Need to check it.

I know there are a few cosmetic issues. Please keep reporting them, but I am more interested in core compatibility issues.

A few games I have tried seem to play ok for a while but then controller quits responding (but sill worked in OSD) and the game continues to run. This happened In games Jim Power, Final Fight, Shadow of the Beast and at least one more.


I will try those games, but it might be helpful if you have more details. It happens at random time and points on the game?

Thanks,

BBond007
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby BBond007 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:50 pm

ijor wrote:I will try those games, but it might be helpful if you have more details. It happens at random time and points on the game?

Thanks,


Happens very early on in the first seconds/minute(s) of gameplay. definitely random time and point with Jim Power.

I'm using a logitech F710 gamepad. I've not seen this with the same controller with other cores.

Maybe it could it be getting unresponsive because it thinks a button is stuck? in the Elvira arcade game I got stuck just jumping over and over repeatedly.

Thanks,
Last edited by BBond007 on Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Doozer
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby Doozer » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:01 am

BBond007 wrote:I got it up an running.

A few games I have tried seem to play ok for a while but then controller quits responding (but sill worked in OSD) and the game continues to run. This happened In games Jim Power, Final Fight, Shadow of the Beast and at least one more.

Anyway, nice job and thanks!


I am not having this non responsiveness issue with Final Fight (longtime play and several cold reboot later, it is not reproducible here).

BBond007
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby BBond007 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:43 am

Doozer wrote:I am not having this non responsiveness issue with Final Fight (longtime play and several cold reboot later, it is not reproducible here).


Yeah... apparently my hardware is failing :(

I'm getting missing USB events so the core it's getting confused.

Just got the same thing with the Amiga core.

It's got the be my OTG hub or the de10-nano at this point because I've swapped everything else.

thanks for checking :)

witchmaster
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby witchmaster » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:54 pm

BBond007 wrote:I'm getting missing USB events so the core it's getting confused.

Just got the same thing with the Amiga core.

It's got the be my OTG hub or the de10-nano at this point because I've swapped everything else.

I noticed a similar thing today (not on the Atari ST core though). My keyboard was missing events when I had both a keyboard and gamepad connected. When I disconnected the gamepad, the keyboard was working perfectly. I'm also using a OTG hub.

mattsoft
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 pm

Re: Atari ST core. Seeking beta testers

Postby mattsoft » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:29 pm

If your power supply is not providing enough current, USB devices will drop. You should be using a PSU with at least 3 amps. Another option is to use a powered USB hub. Not saying this is it, but it could be...


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests