ZX Spectrum Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:50 pm

when you change video timings you also need to reset the core, but the "reset and apply" option is not activated in the OSD, it is only activated if you change "memory".
Maybe it would be good if it's always visible.
Is there any way to save z80 snapshots in the core?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2855
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:12 pm

Video timing change doesn't require reset.
Reset always available from keyboard as in any other cores RCtrl+RAlt+LAlt.
F11 also resets the GS, so you don't need to issue additional reset.

You cannot save z80.
There is Multiface option providing snapshot save if you mount PlusD formatted disk (MGT/IMG/DSK).

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2855
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:16 pm

Btw, Nether Earth GS doesn't work with GS neither in TSConf, nor in ZX core. So, it's game problem - it also shows artifacts on screen while loading, so may be Disk dump is corrupted.
Use other GS games.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:28 pm

Ah okay. I tried nether earth and venom both don't work.
Didn't try others.....

All the other tips didn't work for the above games (neither Gluk nor Real Commander or starting with run instead of load).Also ALT+F5, or even saving config, reloading core and so on ... nothing worked.

So maybe only a handful of GS games work. Checking others tomorrow.

But it doesn't matter that much for me!
I never had a spectrum and never had GS Sound. I was just curious and wanted to try it for fun. Also I wanted to learn about that system and I got a handful of tipps from you both. Thank you Sorgelig and albconde.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

bakkerboy
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:28 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby bakkerboy » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:32 pm

When I compare the output of the zx spectrum (and the zx81) with other cores I noticed that the output on the hdmi is not sharp and has shadows like I got on my vga crt monitor thirty years ago. Activating the crt lines reduces it a bit, but it still very much worse than other cores. What is causing this? Is it the conversion from 50 to 60Hz?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nightshadowpt, THaase and 13 guests