TI-99/4A on Mister (based on Speccery's)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac

TI-99/4A on Mister (based on Speccery's)

Postby GreyRogue » Sat May 12, 2018 5:41 am

I still don't really know what I'm doing, but I've managed to squish the ColecoVision project with the TI-99/4A project by Speccery (Erik Piehl) found here: https://github.com/Speccery/EP994A/tree/soft-cpu.
Because I'm still learning, I thought I'd use the ColecoVision's vdp18 instead of the TMS9918 in Speccery's project, which are the same video chip, and likewise for the SN76489 instead of the TMS9919. Since the ColecoVision was already hooked up to these in Mister I thought it would be easier. I'm not sure if it would be better to use Speccery's instead.
I switched to using my own Multiplier, as the one in Speccery's project is specific to the Xilinx. My multiplier is untested. I guess it would be possible to use the Altera equivalent instead.
The instructions still need cycle counts implemented, and the main clock is in fact running at the wrong frequency as well (the actual TI-99/4A runs on a four phase 3MHz clock.
There are sound glitches, likely related to timing differences, and games might have other glitches as well.
I tried TI-Invaders and it is playable, if not quite exactly right.
Currently, only a single bin file is loaded which contains the BIOS, system GROMs and cartridge ROMs/GROMs. The script to create this is fpga/create-misterrom.cmd. The diskdsr_4000_padded8k.bin file is what it's name suggests. You should be able to replace this with a hole8k instead if desired.
I reduced the core memory size from 1MB to 256KB, which still allows running anything released during the computer's lifetime. I'm using altsyncram, but switching to SDRAM should be straight forward if the full 1MB is wanted (or for porting to MIST).
Files: