not-so-stable TT

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

damanloox
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:45 am

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby damanloox » Tue May 15, 2018 12:24 pm

But the thing is that I have pretty much the same behavior on both scsi and asci (ultrasatan)... If it was scsi2sd then ultrasatan would work OK...

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby paul92706 » Tue May 15, 2018 2:32 pm

damanloox wrote:But the thing is that I have pretty much the same behavior on both scsi and asci (ultrasatan)... If it was scsi2sd then ultrasatan would work OK...


I would still try a mechanical harddrive, just to see what happens.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby rpineau » Tue May 15, 2018 3:42 pm

On the TT the ASCI port use the standard old DMA (same as ST/STE/MSTE). The SCSI port goes through the DCU (U901) driven by one of the new DMA controller (U900).
So if you are having issues with both SCSI and ASCI devices it's most probably something else like memory or some other issue on the CPU bus.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby 1st1 » Tue May 15, 2018 3:55 pm

ANother thing, as I just have read about it somewhere else, did you have enabled backround DMA in HDDRIVER? If yes, disable it.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12320
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby wongck » Wed May 16, 2018 4:36 am

damanloox wrote: When I want to copy a directory I always get an error in a form of "Can not copy a file <two letter file name here>". And that file in fact doesn't exist in the source directory...


This one clue here seems like artifact of FAT32 writting by MS DOS onto the card. It uses extra entries in normal FAT to slow LFN & other stuff, which of course normal TOS knows nothing about.
I am sure you never used the SD card on Windoze after you done your Atari stuff, but this just seems to look like something like that happened.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

damanloox
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:45 am

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby damanloox » Wed May 16, 2018 6:48 am

I partitioned the card in hdrutil (on tt), moved the card to the mac, copied some stuff, cleaned mac specific stuff (all 'dot' files eg. .Trashes etc) and moved the card back to the TT... So It was TT/hddriver that formatted and partitioned the card.. I'll try do it again on windows just to see what happens...
Re: DMA - I don't see such setting in ver 10.11
Re: mechanical drive - I would if I had one...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12320
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby wongck » Thu May 17, 2018 4:51 am

Ok. So those artifacts may be something left behind using it on a Mac. Not having a Mac I only knew about Windozes.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

damanloox
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:45 am

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby damanloox » Sun May 20, 2018 4:40 pm

Update: whoever voted RAM... wins ;)
I had a look at the caps (the ones close to ST ram chips) and noticed soldering job was rather... sloppy (and it was from the factory).
I resoldered them and... TT is like new again! both ultrasatan and scsi2sd work flawlessly (and I copied thousands files to be sure). MINT is working perfectly fine when booted from usatan and scsi2sd.
Thank you all for your help. Now it's time to troubleshoot another issue (sort-of) but that's another topic ;)

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby Gaiyan » Sun May 20, 2018 4:42 pm

damanloox wrote:Update: whoever voted RAM... wins ;)
I had a look at the caps (the ones close to ST ram chips) and noticed soldering job was rather... sloppy (and it was from the factory).
I resoldered them and... TT is like new again! both ultrasatan and scsi2sd work flawlessly (and I copied thousands files to be sure). MINT is working perfectly fine when booted from usatan and scsi2sd.
Thank you all for your help. Now it's time to troubleshoot another issue (sort-of) but that's another topic ;)


I think I voted to inspect for bad solder joints ;) Good job!
Image

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby dhedberg » Sun May 20, 2018 6:51 pm

Great! Glad you got it working again! I so wish I had a TT as well!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1565
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby mikro » Sun May 20, 2018 8:11 pm

damanloox wrote:Update: whoever voted RAM... wins ;)

Me, me, me! :)

FreeMiNT is actually a great tool to detect whether everything is OK with the computer. Much more sensitive to corrupted RAM, I/O etc.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12320
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: not-so-stable TT

Postby wongck » Sun May 20, 2018 10:58 pm

:thumbs: Well Done.
:-) Glad to see your TT is working great again.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest