Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Orion_ » Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:20 pm

Hello,
I recently acquired a Mega STe, I removed the old harddrive to get a SCSI2SD device, I also acquired a VGA card to plug on the VME bus via an adapter
and I would like to add a second floppy drive (Gotek/HxC)
Adding all these things, I fear a bit that the original PSU might get a bit tired, and I don't want it to blow up, also I don't like the PSU fan noise.
So I would like to replace it with a modern PSU.
PicoPSU seems nice, but doesn't offer lots of additionnal molex connector, and it's a bit overpriced (adding the power brick)
So I found something else, a Flex ATX PSU called FSP-180-50LE
It's a 180w PSU, so I guess it more than enough, it has plenty of molex and floppy connector
I'm just trying to figure out how to match the ATX 20 pin connector, with the Mega STe PSU connector
I'm missing the -5v pin and I'm not sure about the power on pin,
Could someone tell me if the -5v pin is mandatory ? and if the power on pin is ok ?
Image

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby mzry » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:32 am

This guy gives a detailed guide of how he replaced his psu with a modern one, it says he used the -12 rail to make the -5v with a voltage regulator:

http://www.mr2.net/marknias/atari_tt030 ... r%20Supply

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Orion_ » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:59 am

Thanks for the link, unfortunately he doesn't give any detail about the voltage regulator, and I don't know anything about this :/

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:41 am

PSU -> -12V -> 7905 -> -5V
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Foxie » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:53 am

Orion_ wrote:Thanks for the link, unfortunately he doesn't give any detail about the voltage regulator, and I don't know anything about this :/


Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 12.54.39 pm.png


You might need to heatsink the 7905. Don't let the heatsink touch anything else! It will be live to -12V. Pinout here: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-opaTlI9UCDc/U ... /white.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Orion_ » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:14 pm

thank you !

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Orion_ » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:55 am

I'm wondering why there is a diode between -12v and -5v, won't the current goes through the diode without conversion ?
and, is there any difference between C4/C2 and C3/C5 ? because the value is the same, but the schematic is not

_KrISS_
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby _KrISS_ » Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:25 am


User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Foxie » Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:31 pm

Orion_ wrote:I'm wondering why there is a diode between -12v and -5v, won't the current goes through the diode without conversion ?
and, is there any difference between C4/C2 and C3/C5 ? because the value is the same, but the schematic is not


The diode is required by the 78xx and 79xx regulators whenever the output capacitance is greater than a certain amount (10uF?). Without it, when the supply turns off the capacitor on the output will discharge backwards through the 7905 and damage it. The diode looks like it's in the wrong direction, but remember that we're dealing with -12V not +12V.

C4 is a 100uF electrolytic, while C2 is a 100nf (0.1uF) ceramic. The ceramic caps are just decoupling, they should be physically close to the 7905.

R1 is to ensure the 7905 gets a minimum load, without it the 7905 can't regulate. That's different to the 7805 which will regulate with no load. It might be that the MegaSTE will draw enough current at -5V to keep the 7905 happy, but I personally wouldn't want to chance it.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:54 pm

In the original Atari TT or MSTE PSU there is also a 7905 ...

7905.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:34 pm

_KrISS_ wrote:https://www.ebay.com/itm/ATX-20-PIN-to-AT-P8-P9-CONVERTER-WITH-5V-ON-OFF-SWITCH-DUMMY-LOAD-USA-MADE/251025150787?hash=item3a7243d343:g:GaIAAOSwBP9UW9d3


This is exactly the same converter from the same seller I have been using on my TT and PicoPSU for almost a year. Highly recommended.
Image

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby rpineau » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:43 pm

I used a PicoPSU ( picoPSU-120 ) and a small PCB with a ATX connector on it and a 7905 to generate the -5V. Works fine with my TT.
I even put a connector for the fan and reused the original PSU enclosure. I'll see if I can take a few picture if interested. I think there is a thread on the forum somewhere where I posted the Eagle files.

[edit]
Found the thread : viewtopic.php?f=15&t=30904&p=308030&hilit=PicoPSU#p309052
Last edited by rpineau on Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mega STe PSU replacement with Flex ATX

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:46 pm

Orion_ wrote:I also acquired a VGA card to plug on the VME bus via an adapter

Orion_ wrote:Could someone tell me if the -5v pin is mandatory ? and if the power on pin is ok ?


You almost certainly need the -5V in that case. It was required on some ISA gfx and sound cards back in the day.
Image


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests