One MegaSTE setup

This is the gallery. It's where we put the pictures upon pictures of us all showing off our dens and collections.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:06 am

Hi,

Working on my MegaSTE...

It has 4MB Ram and I replaced the old SCSI drive with a Ultrasatan with a 4GB SD card. The partition is a lot of 511MB and some 16MB units to work with the old Supercharger PC Emulator.

I added a Nova graphic card.

Here is the desktop under plain TOS with ColorTOS in 800x600x256:
colortos.jpg


Then you can run Geneva and Neodesk, same resolution:
geneva.jpg


The available resolutions are from mono to TC and from 640x480 to 1024x768:
resolutions.jpg


You can see the hardware (Supercharger on the right, the Ultrasatan under the monitor and the NetUSBee on the left. This last was used with UIP-TOOL to backup the hard disk and restore all my file system :
megaSTE.jpg


Guillaume.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2645
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby alexh » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:20 am

Very nice. I do hope to get something similar for my MegaSTe one day. At the moment it has a nice install of CosmosEx. But no gfx card.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Atarieterno » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:35 am

In one word: BEAUTIFUL.

:cheers:
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:15 pm

alexh wrote:Very nice. I do hope to get something similar for my MegaSTe one day. At the moment it has a nice install of CosmosEx. But no gfx card.


Someone is selling nive NOVA boards on Ebay.
he is very helpful for every problem you can have.

Guillaume.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:16 pm

Atarieterno wrote:In one word: BEAUTIFUL.

:cheers:


Thanks a lot!

Now I'm installing STING : I was able to send and receive mails.

next step : NVDI for NOVA and maybe HighWire will run !

Guillaume.

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby shoggoth » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:26 pm

Awesome. Love that machine. Nice setup.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:34 pm

May be MagiC 6.20 + MagiCNet + CAB 2.8
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:55 pm

frank.lukas wrote:May be MagiC 6.20 + MagiCNet + CAB 2.8


Do you use CAB 2.8 ?
What version of CAB.OVL have you got?

Guillaume.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:59 pm

There are a normal MiNTNet OVL or a SSL MiNTNet OVL ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:51 pm

frank.lukas wrote:May be MagiC 6.20 + MagiCNet + CAB 2.8


I succeded with NVDI, now HighWire works well on the MegaSTE.

I disabled the "view images" entry. And surfing speed is acceptable (slow but... acceptable).
Then, when I get to the page I wanted, I relaod the images.

Guillaume.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: One MegaSTE setup

Postby Moulinaie » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:27 am

Hi!

This is HighWire under TOS :
highwire.jpg


To run it, I loaded:
- Nova Drivers in 800x600x256
- NVDI 5.03
- Sting 1.26 for the NetUSBee
- ColorTOS to get a colored desktop
This is the free ram you get on the desktop:
ramtos.jpg


But when Highwire is browsing my home page, this is what remains:
ramnet.jpg


I also setup again the files and boot partition for the Supercharger PC Emulator.
This is Windows 3.0 running with a Hercules monochrome graphic card 720x352. With the original emulator, the display had to be scrolled left/right on the ST High resolution 640x400. I modified the program to make it work with the new NOVA resolution 800x600 mono to get a full page display without horizontal scrolling:
windows.jpg


Guillaume.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Gallery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests