CosmosEX 3.0

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4224
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby DarkLord » Sat Apr 07, 2018 1:25 am

Cyprian wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote:The ACSI accessible card can be used with an UltraSatan IIRC.

yep, but as I mentioned I'd like to copy ST data from any device (e.g laptop) into CosmosEx SD cart directly.


I use Mtools with my kubuntu linux laptop here to directly share data with the 2 gig SD cards I use
with the Ultrasatan in my STacy. I'd assume that would work with the CosmosEx as well.

Command line, but I know that wouldn't be a problem for you Cyprian.... :)

https://www.gnu.org/software/mtools/

HTHs.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1464
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby Cyprian » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:34 am

will check that. Is it possible to use it from Android?
I use different devices in home, and regardless whether I use a laptop or mobile device, would be cool to have possibility to use them with CosmosEx.
E.g. download some files with your mobile phone and copy them directly to CosmosEx SD card, to ST partition.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby whiskey » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:04 pm

Cyprian wrote:yep, but as I mentioned I'd like to copy ST data from any device (e.g laptop) into CosmosEx SD cart directly.

Not an issue, just make sure the SD card is formatted/partitioned in the right way to be readable by both your PC and ST (I use HDDRIVER for that).

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4981
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:22 pm

You can also use the funtionality of the CosmosEX to map USB mass storage (pen drgives or SD card readers) as Atari drives.
I haven't used the ACSI drive on my Mini yet, only used the network and USB mapping. Both work fine for data exchange with other systems.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby Gaiyan » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:06 pm

catmando wrote:Sorry Simon, no offense but...

Image


Then you must really hate me :)
Image

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby fidzen » Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:57 pm

catmando wrote:Sorry Simon, no offense but...

Image


Well we all remember the war between Atari and Amiga users.
And on top of that this is a Atari forum. ;-)

I'm a proud Atarian!
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4981
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:59 pm

Same here so I ignored that offense ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4224
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby DarkLord » Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:11 pm

Cyprian wrote:will check that. Is it possible to use it from Android?
I use different devices in home, and regardless whether I use a laptop or mobile device, would be cool to have possibility to use them with CosmosEx.
E.g. download some files with your mobile phone and copy them directly to CosmosEx SD card, to ST partition.


I can't seem to find a specific 'droid version. Googling turns up "mtools" but its apparently "mobile tools" and serves
a different purpose.

Sorry...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby LevelFT » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:33 pm

EDIT.....was already answered.
Last edited by LevelFT on Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby LevelFT » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:39 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:We are not talking about a mass produced China device here but rock solid custom tailored quality from Eastern Europe by Atarians for Atarians.


Really ? That Raspberry Pi is hand produced in Slovakia ??? MMmmm...

And that custom PCB too ? Mmmmmmm..

I bet both are produced in China, not that that is a bad thing but.....let's keep things realistic.

Now...I have gathered some info about CosmosEX and I have basic ideas of what's it can do but what Id love to see is a good video from someone explaining and demoing in clear English all the features it offers. This way I can decide wether to invest this price compaired to an Ultrsatan.

LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby LevelFT » Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:12 pm

mikro wrote:Just to clarify a few things:

  • the price includes "everything", one of the most frustrating things during Jookie's endeavour was people wanting a zillion different configurations, combinations and setups and then of course complained that it doesn't work as they imagined. Now you'll be getting one device, power up, works, voila

Uuhhhhhmmmmmm.....except that the most important cable is not included....the ACSI cable.

That's like selling a TV without a mains cable....

I can fully relate to selling all options in one set because ordering stuff would be a nightmare, but for 160 euro plus shipping I would expect an ACSI cable to be included....i bet 85% of the buyers will use ACSI.

User avatar
hellraiser
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:15 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Postby hellraiser » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:16 am

LevelFT wrote:
mikro wrote:Just to clarify a few things:

  • the price includes "everything", one of the most frustrating things during Jookie's endeavour was people wanting a zillion different configurations, combinations and setups and then of course complained that it doesn't work as they imagined. Now you'll be getting one device, power up, works, voila

Uuhhhhhmmmmmm.....except that the most important cable is not included....the ACSI cable.

That's like selling a TV without a mains cable....

I can fully relate to selling all options in one set because ordering stuff would be a nightmare, but for 160 euro plus shipping I would expect an ACSI cable to be included....i bet 85% of the buyers will use ACSI.


Yep, When Jookie sold them, the cable was included and I dont see much "upgraded" accept for the price. From around €90 shipped to €185...


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests