How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Hazelord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:35 pm
Contact:

How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Hazelord » Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:29 pm

Anyone knows how can i insert the second disk on Steem SSE Atari ST emulator? I'm new to the platform so i don't know how people do this on the real machine, what could help me to know how things work... I have a Memory Snapshot before entering the disk exchange screen of the game Deliverance and i tried some things, but i'm still stuck...

Steem SSE (1).png


- Tried to activate the Automatically Insert Second Disk option, but nothing happens;

Steem SSE (2).png


- Tried the above again with extracted files to see if it would make any difference, but nothing happens;

- Tried to put the file over the first disk of the game, but nothing happens;

Steem SSE (3).png


- Tried to put the disk in slot B together with the first disk on slot A, but nothing happens;

Steem SSE (4).png


- Tried to click two times in the disk 2 archive, and i ended up in a green screen;

Steem SSE (5).png


- Tried the "Freeboot side B - caution!" option, and it gives me a weird blue screen;

Steem SSE (6).png


I'm lost now... Maybe this is an easy thing to do and i just don't know how to... Maybe i'm forgetting something that i really don't know... Maybe is something to do with ACSI HD or GEMDOS HD? Maybe TOS compatibility? I read parts of the emulator manual talking about the Disk Manager and etc, and read almost all the FAQ archive, trying to raise my knowledge about the emulator and the Atari ST itself... Maybe i didn't read enough the manual? *sigh* Atari ST is too complex to emulate but have some great games, so i didn't wanna give up... :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Hazelord on Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_(:з」∠)_

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11283
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Mug UK » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:39 pm

Try this version by Klaz as it's fixed for multiple machines, includes a trainer and recognises that Disk 2 of the game will be in drive B:

Normally I would send you to his site to grab the files, but it's having some bandwidth issues, so I've attached it below.

Deliverance_(Klapauzius)_MSA.zip


Unpack the two .MSA files and insert into STEEM's drives A: & B: accordingly
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Hazelord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Hazelord » Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:26 pm

Mug UK wrote: Try this version by Klaz as it is fixed for multiple machines, includes a trainer and recognises that Disk 2 of the game will be in drive B:

Normally I would send you your site to grab the files, but it's having some bandwidth issues, so I've attached it below.

Deliverance_ (Klapauzius) _MSA.zip

Unpack the two .MSA files and insert into STEEM's drives A: & B: accordingly


Thank you for the answer, so, this is what happened now:

- Now the first disk enter the green screen, everytime, and i found a program file inside floppy disk A;

Steem SSE (7).png


- Then I did just like you and the program said, to insert the second disk on driver B;

Steem SSE (8).png

Steem SSE (9).png


- Then I played the game again and entered the boss room, where it has the load screen, but it gave me a black screen instead and stay on it;

Steem SSE (10).jpg

Steem SSE (11).png


I can not reach the disk exchange screen now, that is localized after the boss D: is this a error or i'm forgetting something?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_(:з」∠)_

User avatar
Hazelord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Hazelord » Sat Mar 24, 2018 4:31 am

Solution:

I downloaded ".ipf" disks, and worked, i had to swap disks because it not recognize in the second slot...

- I used the Swap option in the Disk Manager menu;

Steem SSE (12).png


- Then when i returned to the Insert Disk 2 screen, the game finally continued.

Steem SSE (13).jpg


obs: The disk 1 ".ipf" file appears to not work every time after i close the emulator and return, then load the memory snapshot from inside the boss room, and enter the disk exchange screen... It gives me a Insert Disk 1 screen don't know why.

Anyway, i'm happy that i found the solution, maybe these information helps other people with the same problem, thanks again for the help Mug UK, because of you i ended up looking for the game in another format. :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_(:з」∠)_

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11283
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Mug UK » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:05 pm

The Klaz version should have worked OK as he was adept at making sure games were tested on a multitude of systems before he released his hacked versions. Very odd that it didn't work for you though.

Glad it worked out in the end though.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Hazelord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Hazelord » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:50 pm

Yes, he did a good job on it, so i thought today about what could have caused the black screen on the .msa file, then today by curiosity i played the game again without saving and the game worked normally, then i played again saving and it worked normally... Nice, the .msa works! I really have no clue of what could possible caused this black screen.

I have only one question left: With .msa file is there a way to enter the game directly without passing by the green screen?
_(:з」∠)_

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11283
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Mug UK » Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:20 pm

By the 'green screen' you mean the GEM desktop? If so, I've redone you a version of Disk 1 whereby the main .PRG file has been placed inside an AUTO folder. You will still need the second disk to play the game though.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Hazelord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Hazelord » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:57 pm

Yes, i was talking about the GEM desktop (sorry for the green screen, didn't know the name...), thank you for the file, it worked like a charm! After i gonna try to do this by my own to learn. I'm pleased for all your help here man, you're an awesome person.
_(:з」∠)_

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11283
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: How Can I Insert Second Disk on Steem SSE Emulator?

Postby Mug UK » Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:11 pm

No worries.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest