PCEngine core issues with roms?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby GreyRogue » Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:25 am

slingshot wrote:I didn't fix anything in CPU or VDP, so don't expect a Gensis level compatibility, just ported the Huc6260 from MiSTer, since it gave a good centering for me.
Game compatibility should be the same as before (e.g. Afterburner doesn't work), but it's now stable for me at least, no more freezes.

If you're interested, this is how I fixed AfterBurner II for MiSTer:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/TurboGr ... pu65xx.vhd
The more recent of the IRQ fixes is the one you probably want. If I remember correctly, the issue was at the end of the IRQ handler, the IRQ flag is cleared, but it didn't take affect fast enough to prevent a second irq proccessing loop. The IRQ processing then tried to process the IRQ, but didn't know what generated it, so it called the wrong IRQ handler.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby slingshot » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:48 am

GreyRogue wrote:https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/TurboGr ... pu65xx.vhd
The more recent of the IRQ fixes is the one you probably want. If I remember correctly, the issue was at the end of the IRQ handler, the IRQ flag is cleared, but it didn't take affect fast enough to prevent a second irq proccessing loop. The IRQ processing then tried to process the IRQ, but didn't know what generated it, so it called the wrong IRQ handler.


Thanks! I've already ported the CPU and indeed fixed Afterburner, and also pixel-wobbling in Outrun.

Upd.: ported the VDP, too, uploaded a new beta:
https://github.com/gyurco/FPGAPCE/releases/tag/181207

Thanks GreyRouge and Sorgelig for the work on these components.

TheSaint123
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:02 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby TheSaint123 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:25 pm

Hello slingshot your are right the Scanline activation have nohting to do with the slowdown !

I have to write that your are the BEST ! ,thank you for the wonderfull FPCE Core :thumbs:

Soldierblade is now perfekt playable .
Doraemon titlescreen is perfekt .

The Musik and Sound is a little bit strange in Soldierblade ! :shrug:

desUBIKado
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby desUBIKado » Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:39 pm

Finally on this 181207-beta core 15 KHz output is well centered. slingshot thank you, thank you, thank you.

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Higgy » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:32 pm

Slingshot - would it be difficult to map the controller buttons also to the keyboard? Handy for testing etc if you don't have a controller about.

Scanline intensity is a nice feature. What does the Ram switch do in the OSD menu?
Thanks.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby slingshot » Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:26 pm

Higgy wrote:Slingshot - would it be difficult to map the controller buttons also to the keyboard? Handy for testing etc if you don't have a controller about.

Joystick emulator is a feature of the MiST firmware for a long time. NUM Lock acitvates it, you can read more at the scrolling text in the OSD.

What does the Ram switch do in the OSD menu?

Flips bits if the ROM file dump needs it. I didn't meet any .pce files where it has to be used, but the code was there previously, so I kept it.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:35 pm

Good Job Slingshot !

Some info:
- what kind of rom is Street Fighter 2 wich ha some graphic glitches ?
- Bikkuriman World starts with a screen not well synchronized on my TV/Monitor led, but it is visible on a PAL/NTSC monitor.

Can someone test these 2 roms ?
Thanks.

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Higgy » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:05 pm

Thanks for info Slingshot, I just tried joystick emulation.
And yes 07 12 2018 Core has great centering now on CRT TV

DanyPPC - i tried ROMS. Street Fighter has gfx issues, main characters are just blobs of colour.
B World works fine on my CRT TV and LCD Monitor. Not tried on LCD TV yet.

Jack Nicklus Golf is a strange one. Graphics have wobbly glitches. It redraws the screen slowly and looks more like a PC EGA game not typical PC Engine so I wonder if it is using more the CPU than any GFX chip.
RType Part II I noticed also has some grahically wobbles, seemed to just be on right hand side of screen?

I have a PC Engine (well Core Grafx) and Everdrive flash cart so I can test ROMS on real hardware.

SLiX
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:34 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby SLiX » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:15 pm

Same here:
* Good centering on 15Khz CRT monitor
* Sprites in Street Fighter 2 are completely messed up
* Bikkuriman World works but title screen seems to have colors problems (seems too dark)

Big thanks Slinkshot !

User avatar
Xtro
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Xtro » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:36 pm

Very good progress on this core, tried several games and seemed ok 100%. Only Sidearms shows distorted/flickering graphics (playing in a 15khz CRT TV)

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby GreyRogue » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:07 am

DanyPPC wrote:- what kind of rom is Street Fighter 2 wich ha some graphic glitches ?

Street Fighter 2 is 2.5MB. It requires RAM banking to work correctly (and enough RAM/address lines to address it).
See starting here for the code in MiSTer (and the comments above for a description):
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/TurboGrafx16_MiSTer/blob/master/pce_top.vhd#L313

This will need to be moved likely here:
https://github.com/gyurco/FPGAPCE/blob/master/src/virtual_toplevel.vhd#L395

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:46 am

Many thanks to all for the clarification.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby slingshot » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:00 pm

GreyRogue wrote:
DanyPPC wrote:- what kind of rom is Street Fighter 2 wich ha some graphic glitches ?

Street Fighter 2 is 2.5MB. It requires RAM banking to work correctly (and enough RAM/address lines to address it).
See starting here for the code in MiSTer (and the comments above for a description):
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/TurboGrafx16_MiSTer/blob/master/pce_top.vhd#L313

This will need to be moved likely here:
https://github.com/gyurco/FPGAPCE/blob/master/src/virtual_toplevel.vhd#L395

Thanks, I'll definitely look at into that, just first I had to port the VRAM caching from the Genesis core, since on the higher pixel clocks, the background rendering process was overtaken by the displaying. And this way maybe MiST can have the SuperGfx, at least at the lowest pixel clock mode.

Chris23235
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Chris23235 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:44 pm

Great improvements, many thanks for your work. Most games I tried no run fine, only game I found the didn't even start is 1941 Counter Attack.

nico24
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby nico24 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:20 pm

Great performance now thanks! Super to have a great PC Engine core going.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby DrOG » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:13 am

Nice, thanks a lot! :cheers:

User avatar
Xtro
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Xtro » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:51 am

Chris23235 wrote: only game I found the didn't even start is 1941 Counter Attack.

1941 Counter Attack is a SuperGrafx exclusive game so won't run actually

Chris23235
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Chris23235 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:01 am

Xtro wrote:
Chris23235 wrote: only game I found the didn't even start is 1941 Counter Attack.

1941 Counter Attack is a SuperGrafx exclusive game so won't run actually


Ah okay, I thought SuperGrafx games would run as well, because Darius Plus works, but as I read now, this is because Darius Plus was just enhanced on the SuperGrafx and not an exclusive.

Televicious
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Televicious » Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:36 pm

If this thread is about general issues with PC Engine I just want to throw out there, Blazing lazers has graphical corruption issues in it the longer you play. Tile sets disappear and just turn to coloured blocks. Gonna try and find more ROM dumps, but I don't think it is the ROM.

squid4
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby squid4 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:36 pm

Does this need special SD card formatting? Can't get it to work on 16GB SD with FAT32.

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby Higgy » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:12 am

I am using a full size SanDisk 16GB card and I am sure it is formatted as FAT32.
What is not working? If you get a blank black screen - press F12 to get the menu up :lol:

squid4
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: PCEngine core issues with roms?

Postby squid4 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:52 am

Thanks Higgy, I didn't have a keyboard attached and was pressing the middle MiST button - but that doesn't appear to work as usual.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests