Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
paulobecas
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:42 pm
Location: Porto, Portugal
Contact:

Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby paulobecas » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:18 pm

I am looking for help creating an hd image for de ST core on Mist.

I found this ready to use pack but i need to create a bootable hd image with the content. Since i'm an Amiga guy and new to Atari, i was wondering if there's some kind of guide that can walk me through.

Thanks

User avatar
jotego
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby jotego » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:18 pm

I have downloaded that image file. It looks wonderful. I will try to hook it up to MiST. I'll tell you if I am successful. I just didn't want to miss saying thanks for sharing the link!

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:40 pm

paulobecas wrote:I am looking for help creating an hd image for de ST core on Mist.

I found this ready to use pack but i need to create a bootable hd image with the content. Since i'm an Amiga guy and new to Atari, i was wondering if there's some kind of guide that can walk me through.

Thanks


On page 3 there is a ready made IMG for MiST. I had a quick try and it works well. Just make sure you have a spare 8GB card to burn it to:

https://mega.nz/#!XNo1jY5Y!WbdlJyPgmwBuIS1BUE-5abQ7bkD3lngJkeG6oKI8DRY

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby mahen » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:26 am

Interesting :-) Are we supposed to "burn" it to the SD with a regular "dd" ?
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:04 am

Yes, I use Win32Imager (for Windows). Any of that type of program should work.

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby mahen » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:00 am

OK it works ! Hmm, is there a fat partition accessible to add options to the MiST ini ? It doesn't seem to mount on my computer for some reason.
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:23 pm

When I place the card in my (Windows) PC I can access a approx 500mb FAT partition with MiST .ini etc

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:38 pm

On a Mac when you put the card in you can see all the multiple partitions .. most are not used.

User avatar
fury23
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby fury23 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:41 pm

On windows only first partition is accessible on SD card.

Data on another partition can be extracted with this utility: http://atari.8bitchip.info/drimus.php

Does anyone know how to remove some partitions from SD card?

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:48 pm

Well if nothing, now I got an idea how to set up multiple partitions on the ST core using FAT ..

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:55 am

If the hidden partitions are not used and the data fits, could someone refit the data onto a 2GB and create a new .IMG?

I would prefer to use up a 2GB card instead of a 8GB one :)

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:37 pm

I'm testing this harddisk image on an 8GB SD-Card and thanks for sharing the link above.

I have no much experience to manage harddrives on an Atari ST, but I hope to learn something.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:40 pm

Although the harddisk is very useful I find that the specific use of TOS 2.06 creates incompatibility with many games.

In standard configuration instead I use a TOS 1.02/STE/4MB configuration and play many titles including STE versions of Pac-Mania and Great Giana Sisters by Zamuel A.

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:42 pm

I need to play around with these images again. As they are based on an old ST Core. From memory the last time I burned an image I could not see the Core on the memory card to write over the latest one.
There are also a couple of 2GB images, Satan disk?

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:11 pm

I used the last core.

nico24
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby nico24 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:38 am

I have a question. If I burn the image to an SD card and put it directly to the MiST we have action! But as already mentioned the compatibility of many games is VERY bad. Now if I put it in my PCs card slot, I don't need to modify anything, the card will no longer work in the MiST, and by that I mean the HDD file is not recognized or something and the core boots up with no disks attached. So I can't modify the contents of the card because I will 'corrupt' it with the PC. Any ideas??

Thanks,
Nick.

nico24
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby nico24 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:00 am

Ok - so if I mount the image in windows I can mess with it without corrupting the SD card. Still don't get good compatibility though.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:06 am

Tested a lot of .ST games with MiST core and the prefered TOS of games is 1.02 version.
Except for some that require TOS 2.06, expecially those one which are STE only.

In order you can try to download different cracked version of one game.

Chris23235
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Chris23235 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:11 pm

I always use this 256MB HD File, works fine on the mist.

EDIT: Nevermind, thought OP is looking for an empty HD file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

caver99
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 5:11 am

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby caver99 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 3:07 pm

Higgy wrote:
paulobecas wrote:I am looking for help creating an hd image for de ST core on Mist.

I found this ready to use pack but i need to create a bootable hd image with the content. Since i'm an Amiga guy and new to Atari, i was wondering if there's some kind of guide that can walk me through.

Thanks


On page 3 there is a ready made IMG for MiST. I had a quick try and it works well. Just make sure you have a spare 8GB card to burn it to:

https://mega.nz/#!XNo1jY5Y!WbdlJyPgmwBuIS1BUE-5abQ7bkD3lngJkeG6oKI8DRY


i have downloaded the image and put it to an 8gb sd card and it doesn't boot, if i put the hdtools disk on to the card and pop that into the mist and load the driver i can see the c drive but its screwed up name now if i switch to medium res i can see it all correct and the switch back to low i can play some games but how do i get it to self boot from the start.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests