HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

pjones1063
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:33 pm

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby pjones1063 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:49 pm

So Indexed mode does not seem to work well on my HxC and my 1040STF. it only seems to function correctly in Autoboot mode as drive 'A' Looks like I will have to change the W2 Strap to be on pins 1 & 2 for the HxC to work correctly. I guess I could also just install the HxC inside as drive 'A"

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:00 pm

pjones1063 wrote:I was able to get the cable to work without changing any straps inside my 1040STF. The GoTek/HxC works well as drive B and the internal floppy is still Drive A. The only little issue I have is that I have no way to update the 'slots' in the HxC. I have to open my 1040STF and plug the HxC into the drive 'A' ribbon - then boot to the HxC software. Is it at all possible to update the HxC configuration, specifically the .st image files attached to each slot from a Mac or Windows 10 computer? I can plug the usb thumb drive in any Mac or Windows PC an add .st images. I just need a method to update the HxC configuration (outside of the actual GoTek/HxC host Atari Computer). More Googleing I guess


It would be better if we could use external Gotek as drive A and internal as B.... Is that possible without hacking around the AY8912? :(

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:58 pm

pjones1063 wrote:I was able to get the cable to work without changing any straps inside my 1040STF. The GoTek/HxC works well as drive B and the internal floppy is still Drive A. The only little issue I have is that I have no way to update the 'slots' in the HxC. I have to open my 1040STF and plug the HxC into the drive 'A' ribbon - then boot to the HxC software. Is it at all possible to update the HxC configuration, specifically the .st image files attached to each slot from a Mac or Windows 10 computer? I can plug the usb thumb drive in any Mac or Windows PC an add .st images. I just need a method to update the HxC configuration (outside of the actual GoTek/HxC host Atari Computer). More Googleing I guess


The HxC manager can handle drive B. There is a menu to change the current drive selection. So you should be able to modify the slot config without changing anything else.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:53 pm

And FlashFloppy? The free firmware

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:04 pm

No point with the firmware. The "problem" is the file selector usage.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:36 pm

Sorry if I am being dumb but do you mean that firmware is irrelevant, as long as HXC manager is used then the drive gets selected as whatever I want (A or B) and the internal drive just acts as the "other" one?

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:27 pm

Methanoid wrote:Sorry if I am being dumb but do you mean that firmware is irrelevant, as long as HXC manager is used then the drive gets selected as whatever I want (A or B) and the internal drive just acts as the "other" one?


Exactly !

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby ijor » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:05 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:
Methanoid wrote:Sorry if I am being dumb but do you mean that firmware is irrelevant, as long as HXC manager is used then the drive gets selected as whatever I want (A or B) and the internal drive just acts as the "other" one?

Exactly !


I'm not sure you are talking about the same thing. If you want to swap drives, set the internal drive as B, and boot from the external Gotek as drive A, that is not possible just by software. I think Jeff is talking about managing the external drive B with the HxC manager booted from internal drive A, which is quite a different thing.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:17 am

ijor wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:
Methanoid wrote:Sorry if I am being dumb but do you mean that firmware is irrelevant, as long as HXC manager is used then the drive gets selected as whatever I want (A or B) and the internal drive just acts as the "other" one?

Exactly !


I'm not sure you are talking about the same thing. If you want to swap drives, set the internal drive as B, and boot from the external Gotek as drive A, that is not possible just by software. I think Jeff is talking about managing the external drive B with the HxC manager booted from internal drive A, which is quite a different thing.


Yes, you are correct. That was what I thought could only be done by messing with some switch on the AY8912 chip?

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby ijor » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:31 pm

Methanoid wrote:That was what I thought could only be done by messing with some switch on the AY8912 chip?


It depends on exactly which computer. But you need to swap the drive selection signals. In some cases it is just changing some straps.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:01 pm

ijor wrote:
Methanoid wrote:That was what I thought could only be done by messing with some switch on the AY8912 chip?


It depends on exactly which computer. But you need to swap the drive selection signals. In some cases it is just changing some straps.


Oh that sounds less PITA... I have two STE's - both with CA4003290 boards with square socketted 68000s... if that helps?

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby ijor » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:06 pm

Methanoid wrote:Oh that sounds less PITA... I have two STE's - both with CA4003290 boards with square socketted 68000s... if that helps?


On the STE it's usually changing straps, but they aren't usually populated. You still need to perform some minimal soldering. I'm not that familiar with the motherboard revisions. I'm afraid I can't give more details.

tzok
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby tzok » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:23 am

On most STf and all STe there are jumpers on board to route the DS0 and DS1 signals to appropriate pins of external FDD connector. You mas use them, together with a DSx jumpers on the internal FDD.

I've described it here: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=32863

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby ijor » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:56 pm

tzok wrote:On most STf and all STe there are jumpers on board to route the DS0 and DS1 signals to appropriate pins of external FDD connector. You mas use them, together with a DSx jumpers on the internal FDD.


Yes, but I understand those jumpers are never populated. So you still need some minimum soldering and a cutting a small trace.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby Methanoid » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:58 pm

ijor wrote:
tzok wrote:On most STf and all STe there are jumpers on board to route the DS0 and DS1 signals to appropriate pins of external FDD connector. You mas use them, together with a DSx jumpers on the internal FDD.


Yes, but I understand those jumpers are never populated. So you still need some minimum soldering and a cutting a small trace.


But I think that is likely to be easier/safer than either desoldering the whole AY8912 or trying snip some pins and connect wires to each end you snipped? :wink:

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HxC External floppy cable, works as A and B

Postby ijor » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:46 pm

Methanoid wrote:But I think that is likely to be easier/safer than either desoldering the whole AY8912 or trying snip some pins and connect wires to each end you snipped? :wink:


Of course. Something like that is needed when the straps are not present at all. It is also needed on pre STE computers when you want an internally installed HxC to respond both as drive A and drive B.


Social Media

     

Return to “HxC Floppy Emulator”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests