Work on the Minimig core?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Work on the Minimig core?

Postby lips2k15 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:49 pm

I was wondering why we havnt seen any work on the minimig core... this could do with some work in many places, RTG and perhaps even a faster cpu mode? I was thinking the RTG could be done with the help of the Vampire guys? Thaughts and suggestions guys?

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby kolla » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:22 pm

When Apollo Team is done with SAGA, it is supposed to be open sourced, so why not wait for that. Most useful for me would be faster networking option, or "simply" make some USB port available directly from Minimig.
-- kolla

lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby lips2k15 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:27 pm

yes I totally agree... is anybody actually working on this?

sardaukarsiet
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:21 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby sardaukarsiet » Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:22 pm

I'm not sure of how much the core _can_ be improved with MiST's older model FPGA. Is RTG even possible?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:52 pm

I'm not an Amiga expert, but AFAIK RTG is just a common graphics API, where the underlying hardware can be different. So I would say, it's possible to "invent" some capable graphics card on MiST. Just the question is as usual, who has the skills, knowledge and willingness to do it.
However I would be more happy to have a bugfixed CPU first.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:42 am

I quote:

slingshot wrote:However I would be more happy to have a bugfixed CPU first.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1311
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:42 pm

I have spent quite some time fixing the 68020 instructions and addressing modes. If you can tell me which instructions you think are broken then I might be anle to help.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:19 am

Pinball Illusions AGA (ADF and WHDLoad version) doesn't work.
Even the last Reshoot-R AGA doesn't start on minimig core.

I think they use 68020 code.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:31 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:I have spent quite some time fixing the 68020 instructions and addressing modes. If you can tell me which instructions you think are broken then I might be anle to help.


I can refer to this MikeJ post:
viewtopic.php?f=117&t=34568&p=356031#p356031
CAS2, CMP2

And this bug report:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/issues/109
MOVEC maybe?

I wonder if there's an 68020 instruction tester for emulators?

sardaukarsiet
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:21 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby sardaukarsiet » Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:53 am

I also got some errors with that error box on the top left about disk access and continue or something while running OS 3.9 - what should I do when I get them to use as a good bug report?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:07 am

First, how can a dev reproduce the bug consistently.
Second (if you want the fix soon) debug what's wrong.

sardaukarsiet
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:21 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby sardaukarsiet » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:36 am

I just got errors on bootup after installing 3.9. Is sharing HDFs possible? I can also try running them in WinUAE to see if the bug happens there too.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:06 am

sardaukarsiet wrote:I just got errors on bootup after installing 3.9. Is sharing HDFs possible? I can also try running them in WinUAE to see if the bug happens there too.

Of course cross-checking in an emulator is always good (I would say that should be the #1 to check). You can share the HDF, if you want. But currently not many people are working on the core.

User avatar
retrofun
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby retrofun » Sun Aug 18, 2019 5:22 pm

I have done some fixes for the MiST firmware and the minimig-core that improves stability and user experience.

mist-firmware:
  • Fix fatal error 4 when choosing new FPGA core
  • Make Kickstart 1.2/1.3 honour changes of memory configuration
  • Improve stability of core startup when a new configuration is loaded
  • Fix IDE on/off, ask to reboot when changed

minimig-mist:
  • Disable joystick1/mouse when OSD is active
  • Code cleanup with changes from Minimig-AGA_MiSTer

Details & binaries: https://github.com/retrofun/mist-binaries-test

Works fine for me. Please test, comment and (maintainers) cherry-pick!

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:40 pm

Please send a PR to mist-devel/mist-firmware.

User avatar
retrofun
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby retrofun » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:12 pm

PR created. Fixes for the mist-firmware were pulled and are available with firmware 190820.

User avatar
retrofun
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby retrofun » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:27 pm

slingshot wrote:And this bug report:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/issues/109
MOVEC maybe?

Debugged this. It's the RTD instruction in mmu.library that tg68k doesn't support.

Some days later I discovered in the minimig/MiSTer thread that R4MS already tracked it down to this CPU instruction.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:30 pm

Now I tried the minimig core again to see Retrofun's patches, and noticed that if I choose higher resolutions, the screen is wrongly blanked (too much border on the left, the main window cut at the right). It's not because of overscan setting.
Then I checked Amiga500 schematics, and realized that:
- no blanking output from Agnus
- csync is the blanking input for Denise
- in the core, the blanking registers are not affecting bitplane fetching
So the question is: how the blanking registers are used in OCS/ECS? (HBSTRT/HBSTOP/VBSTRT/VBSTP)

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby Higgy » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:57 pm

@Slingshot are you on EAB ? If not I can send a PM to Toni Wilen, he created WinUAE THE Amiga emulator. I expect he knows the answer. I don't 'know' him but he has been very helpful in other people's projects.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:49 am

Higgy wrote:@Slingshot are you on EAB ?

What is EAB? :)

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby DrOG » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:06 am

slingshot wrote:
Higgy wrote:@Slingshot are you on EAB ?

What is EAB? :)

English Amiga Board?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:29 am

DrOG wrote:
slingshot wrote:
Higgy wrote:@Slingshot are you on EAB ?

What is EAB? :)

English Amiga Board?

Oh, plausible.
Btw, only me who experienced this blanking issue? Just choose the multisync monitor type, select a 640x480 resolution, and watch the cut down right side of the main window, and the huge border on the left side.

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby Higgy » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:13 pm

I was going to spell out EAB, but I thought if you did not know, then you do not go there. :lol:
I thought Multisync support was only with AGA chipset (A1200 etc). Back in the day I had a multisync monitor with my A1200. I have feeling that some of those resolutions were not simply 15Hz x 2.

Here is some info:

https://people.debian.org/~cts/debian-m ... cs_aga.txt

Which Monitor Type are you selecting?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby slingshot » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:15 am

Higgy wrote:I was going to spell out EAB, but I thought if you did not know, then you do not go there. :lol:
I thought Multisync support was only with AGA chipset (A1200 etc). Back in the day I had a multisync monitor with my A1200. I have feeling that some of those resolutions were not simply 15Hz x 2.

Here is some info:

https://people.debian.org/~cts/debian-m ... cs_aga.txt

Which Monitor Type are you selecting?


It doesn't matter, multisync or scandoubled pal, blanking is wrong. I think the default video modes are using the built-in blank values, so they're right, because hand-calibrated by the core designer, but these are using the programmed blanking, and the programmed values are not working well with the current blanking code. So would be good to know how it's really working, done by Agnus or Denise, which counters it is using (I can experiment until it works, but it's a bit exhaustive to do this trial and error job again, would be better if somebody already knows the answer).

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 859
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Postby vebxenon » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:38 am

Same happens here as Slingshot has told.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests