BeePi 1.0

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat May 11, 2019 9:29 am

Difficult to answer as there are many references of screens.
Beepi is built on Raspbian light stretch. From what I read on the net, Raspbian light doesn’t seem to include a driver for LCD plugged in screen, but a driver can be installed manually.
Have a look at this article to see if your lcd is compatible and a procedure to install a frame buffer driver.
http://www.circuitbasics.com/setup-lcd- ... pberry-pi/
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat May 11, 2019 9:32 am

pixelkiller wrote:I just tried it on a pi zero

but doesn't boot, stays stuck on the root login
any clue ?

Sylvestre

Sorry for the late answer, I was busy lately.
Difficult to answer you without more precision.
Have you passed the setup steps as explained in the video?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby d0us » Sat May 11, 2019 5:12 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:Difficult to answer as there are many references of screens.
Beepi is built on Raspbian light stretch. From what I read on the net, Raspbian light doesn’t seem to include a driver for LCD plugged in screen, but a driver can be installed manually.
Have a look at this article to see if your lcd is compatible and a procedure to install a frame buffer driver.
http://www.circuitbasics.com/setup-lcd- ... pberry-pi/


Thanks I'll have a look!

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:06 pm

Raspberry Pi Model 4 version released last month. Any plans to support it with BeePi?

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:41 pm

Yes of course, but I don’t know when yet.
Is it sold already?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Fri Jul 05, 2019 5:06 pm

Yes, I see them on Ebay already so they are being sold.

Count
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Count » Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:54 pm

Today I gave BeePi several tries on my Pi 1B Rev. 2 with 512 MB RAM, but it won't 2nd boot to the Green Desktop. I always end up at the login prompt which leads me to bash. Switching to autologin mode doesn't work either as I see "login: --noclear (automatic login)" but no login happens.

Is this issue caused by my old Pi or am I doing anything wrong? I wrote the image to the SD card using Win32 Disk Imager, inserted it into the Pi and turned the beast on. I came to the login prompt, entered the requested information and was lead to the setup menu. There I changed the password, expanded the SD card and finished. After the reboot I found myself at the login prompt again and after entering the requested information I had much "fun" with bash.
Last edited by Count on Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:22 am

I have never tested Beepi on a PI 1B as I don’t have one.
Try to start aranym from the shell by typing “aranym-jit”, it should start and complaints that there is no TOS and config file, but at least you can test if the emulator starts.
Aranym is configured to use by default 512 MB of memory, so that’s may be the reason it’s not starting.
Try to decrease the memory in the aranym config file.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

Count
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Count » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:02 pm

Philippe, you are right. The alternative RAM size was the problem. I reduced it to 128 MB and the Pi bootet into Teradesk. But I think, the model 1B is way to weak for BeePi. Even setting up wifi was horrible and the speed isn't really funny.

Apart from that the Aranym sometimes refused starting leaving me with a black screen without any cursor or messages. So I finally gave up.

Installation on the Pi 3B which I use for RetroPi was very smooth, so I think I will grab another one.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:48 pm

The Pi 1 is really underpowered for aranym. It should be good for Hatari and a vanilla ST emulation though.
The freeze of aranym at boot from time to time is a known bug. It appears only on the Pi, not on a x86. It should be corrected with the latest aranym and emutos version from what I understood, but I have not tested it yet.
Also, I have to look at the Pi 4, the extra power could worth it.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:09 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:The Pi 1 is really underpowered for aranym. It should be good for Hatari and a vanilla ST emulation though.


Hu? I think Hatari needs much more CPU power than Aranym, because of the cycle-exact emulation.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:25 pm

May be I have not expressed it well.
You can play games on a Pi zéro, (if I am not wrong it’s the same speed as the Pi 1) with Hatari at ST speed in low res. There are many handheld DIY consol built on it.
Aranym will run of course faster than a plain ST, but it won’t be fun to use, especially with mint, fvdi in 32 bits and network as in BeePi.
Aranym needs more horsepower in this context.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:15 pm

Hm, sure, mint needs more memory, but i think that shouldn't be a problem even with PI1. And i doubt that Hatari's screen conversion is faster than Aranyms native support of fVDI. I haven't tried, but i would bet that if you setup a resolution not too big, that will still be much smoother. Of course you can't compare a 1280x960x32 resolution in Aranym to 320x200x4 in Hatari.

Hatari just has other advantages, most games won't work in Aranym i guess.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:35 pm

Well I did some research and decided to change my microSD card in an attempt to get better performance from beepi.

The issue seems to be the hardware of the Raspberry Pi 3 is really bad with random reads and writes which beepi does a lot of.

Based on this web page https://www.jeffgeerling.com/blog/2018/raspberry-pi-microsd-card-performance-comparison-2018 this is the card I decided on:

evoplus.png


After reinstalling beepi 1.0 on the new card I must say the overall system performance seems less sluggish and I am happy with it except for netsurf which is still slow.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby wongck » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:54 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:After reinstalling beepi 1.0 on the new card I must say the overall system performance seems less sluggish and I am happy with it except for netsurf which is still slow.

I guess to have netsurf going faster, it will need multi-threading netsurf and OS, which Mint is not even as the hardware is capable. Doing each task faster does help but not as much.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Cyprian » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:02 am

wongck wrote:which Mint is not even as the hardware is capable

what do you mean by this? IIRC MiNT supports multi-threading.

---EDIT---
quotation corrected
Last edited by Cyprian on Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:06 am

@Cyprian - I think your quote got changed a bit. I didn't write the statement you are asking about. :D

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby ThorstenOtto » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:10 am

Not really, since the os is not aware of multiple processors or cores/cpu. And even if it is, the libraries aren't thread-safe. You can fork() another process, and treat it like a thread, but since that is only managed by mint, it won't run on a different core on the host, so that would make things even worse.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:27 am

well, if it did then all the networking stuff will not be so slow.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Cyprian » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:15 am

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:@Cyprian - I think your quote got changed a bit. I didn't write the statement you are asking about. :D

corrected. thanks for pointing this out
Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:37 pm

Yes the Rapi3 proc isn’t fast enough to run Netsurf at a confortable speed.
May be the Rapi4 improves it a little bit, but BeePi isn’t compatible yet with the Pi4.
With a fast Intel proc it is usable if the site doesn’t use https. It’s sad to say, but browsing a modern web page needs a lot of power today.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:45 pm

Rats.... I was thinking of getting the Pi4 to replace my broken Firebee.

Yes, even Chrome have to implement lazy load.... to avoid huge data downloads.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:18 pm

Networking question for anyone that has it working.

Under beepi 1.0 my local machines aren't reachable. Though I can reach external addresses like atari-forum.com, google.com, etc

My local network is 192.168.1.xxx

The beepi on the host side gets a ip of 192.168.1.8 from the router. It sets up the virtual ip of 192.168.1.50 for the tap0 interface. The MiNt side is set with an ip of 192.168.1.51.

Pinging the router 192.168.1.1 from the host side works. The same ping from the MiNT side has no response. This means of course ftp doesn't work either which I need :).

Here are the settings beepi has atm:
beepinetwork.png


Any ideas on what to change?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby wongck » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:05 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Under beepi 1.0 my local machines aren't reachable. Though I can reach external addresses like atari-forum.com, google.com, etc


IIRC, this was asked several times in the forum before.
One possibility is that your router does not route back internal addresses.
Look at my pages (url here) specifically at the last section.
You just need to add a route into your route table in Mint.
( or a manual route into your router, either way )
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.0

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:26 am

I think my router is ok with internal IPs. For example, my Atari STE and Hades060 use the same router and they work fine under MagicNet.
Everything is wired with CAT5, no WLAN. Also, the host side of Aranym works fine and it has an internal ip.

From the suggestions at the end of your page:

Code: Select all

 $ ifconfig en0 addr 192.168.0.228 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

This is working as I can get to external ips.

Code: Select all

and set the default route

                $ route add default en0 gw 192.168.0.1 metric 1

As the picture from my previous post shows, beepi sets the gateway to the virtual ip of the host side TAP interface (192.168.1.50). It works to get traffic out of the Atari side at least for external ips, so I think its ok as far as routing.
I did change it to point to the router IP earlier today but it didn't work. Just tried it again and it doesn't work as you can see below.
routeadd.png


Code: Select all

If your router does not route back internal IP addresses, you may need to set internal routing in your Atari. To do this run the following:

                $ route add 192.168.0.0 en0

Also as seen in the picture from my previous post, this is already set

The difference with beepi is we are dealing with 3 ips....the host (physical interface), the virtual ip (TAP interface) and the MiNT interface (bridged)

The host side is 192.168.1.8
The host virtual is 192.168.1.50
The MiNT bridged is 192.168.1.51

Here are ping results from the MiNT side:
ping.png


So MiNT can ping the virtual TAP interface of the host (192.168.1.50) but not the actual host ip (192.168.1.8 ) and in fact, no internal ips past the virtual interface.

So I think the problem might be how the virtual ip 192.168.1.50 is routed. That's on the host side which I think it debian.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests