MISTer (Main Core)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:03 pm

Idea / Feature request:

Since the OSD is getting full because some cores have a lot of options now, I thought about splitting the OSD into 3 parts instead of just two.
I thought about the following resorting:

Page 1 ) All MISTer File Operations

- Load *.*, TAP, Bin, ROM and so on
- Autosave YES / NO
- Load Backup RAM
- Save Backup RAM
->Scandoubler FX -> Move to Section 3
- Reset (?)

Page 2) All Core Specific Options
- Aspec Ratio
- Swap Joystick
- Mouse, Audio, CPU, RAM, Region, and so on

Page3) All MISTer Specific Options
- like it is
- Move Scanddoubler FX from Page 1 to this Page to Scale Filter Custom / Internal.

I came to this idea while I was playing C64 and wanted to swap the joystick. I had to press 20 times down (my feeling) and thought it would be better to go one right and just 3 down or so. So I thought about the menu and how to sort it better. By the way in C64 Core it says "Primary Joystick 1 /2"in C16 Core it says "Swap Joystick Yes / No." It would be nice to have a the same wording in all cores.

It's just an idea and I wanted to share my thoughts.

Regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby NML32 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:27 pm

Nice idea

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1463
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Newsdee » Wed May 01, 2019 2:10 am

You can use PageDown/Up to move an entire page in the OSD...

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby kitrinx » Wed May 01, 2019 12:22 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Idea / Feature request:

Since the OSD is getting full because some cores have a lot of options now, I thought about splitting the OSD into 3 parts instead of just two.
I thought about the following resorting:


I think what would be more useful is to have a new menu command like "S5" or something that allowed one to make submenus in 8-bit cores. Maybe just hold a bit in status high while the menu is selected so the core could provide a different string. Not sure how that would work out.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 01, 2019 2:57 pm

I don't see a strong need of redesign the menu.
It's pretty much laconic, easy to program from the core, easy to use and easy to see available options.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby kitrinx » Thu May 02, 2019 1:55 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I don't see a strong need of redesign the menu.
It's pretty much laconic, easy to program from the core, easy to use and easy to see available options.


I wouldn't say redesign, just a feature to add sub menus. NES core for instance has a pretty long menu now, and seems to cause some slowdowns sometimes. It's something to consider for the future, cores are only going to get bigger and have more features.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Thu May 02, 2019 3:59 pm

I really need some clarification between the differences of the sticks:

* Stick 1/2 Tilt
* Alt/Mouse
* Stick X/Y
* Mouse Emu X/Y

What are the uses in each case?

EDIT:
Alright, Locutus73 explained thing to me.
Tilt 1/2 are just test and don't actually define the sticks.

Following question;
If the cores do not respect the Alt/Mouse as second d-pad since we can define two sets now, and we have Mouse Emu X/Y,, why do we still need Alt/Mouse?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 02, 2019 9:41 pm

JamesF wrote:If the cores do not respect the Alt/Mouse as second d-pad since we can define two sets now, and we have Mouse Emu X/Y,, why do we still need Alt/Mouse?

because not all gamepads have analog sticks. So, Alt/Mouse is a chance to assign mouse control using dpad or other buttons.
Also, Alt/Mouse still used as alternative directional control if you define core's button only once.

I have an idea to simplify definition a little bit.

warham
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby warham » Fri May 03, 2019 7:24 am

Sorgelig wrote:
I have an idea to simplify definition a little bit.

:cheers:

Does the hardware have the ability to display supply voltage and or current input so it can be displayed on the OSD?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 03, 2019 1:07 pm

warham wrote:Does the hardware have the ability to display supply voltage and or current input so it can be displayed on the OSD?

no such hardware.

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Zorlac » Wed May 15, 2019 4:26 am

mister-ini.txt


@sorgelig

I re-wrote MiSTer.ini to hopefully make it a little more user friendly. Any thoughts? :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 1:57 pm

Hard to tell.
May be better, may be not.
Btw, comment char is ; not #

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Zorlac » Wed May 15, 2019 10:57 pm

Consensus on the Mister Discord was using # over ; for comments. Doesn’t matter to me either way. I will leave it up to you if you want to implement my re-write. :)

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 17, 2019 12:06 pm

I've been getting a black screen when trying to use some cores. I just updated everything using the updater script. It happens after selecting a game for a core. I can hear music, but the screen is black. It happens about 50% of the time. It seems random so far. The cores I've been using is snes and nes, genesis. This has been happening throughout the last couple updates, and before that I wasn't using MiSTer for a couple months, so not sure how long I've actually had this problem. It was not doing this a couple months ago.

esmith13
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby esmith13 » Fri May 17, 2019 1:19 pm

I have the same black screen issue specifically with the latest SNES & main cores (yesterday was the first time I ran the updater script in 1-2 weeks). Super Mario World is now a black screen only when it worked for dozens of hours of play before this latest update. I have tried both my usual TV via HDMI as well as a Monitor via HDMI that I have used for MiSTer before because it can handle odd resolutions well.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 17, 2019 1:44 pm

No problem with SMW with vsync_adjust=2.

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 17, 2019 2:19 pm

Sorgelig wrote:No problem with SMW with vsync_adjust=2.


vsync_adjust=2 didn't help

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 17, 2019 6:46 pm

[edit] problem solved below
Last edited by MattE888 on Fri May 17, 2019 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 17, 2019 7:05 pm

I just realized that I haven't tried a new SD card. Working on that now...

[edit]. Yes, that was the problem. I feel stupid. I really thought that sd card came with the MiSTer but I guess I was mistaken.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby BitsNStuff » Sat May 25, 2019 4:53 pm

I've tested this now, it seems to work fine.



I'm asking here as there doesn't appear to be a thread for Linux.

I'm a mod from the Classic Gaming Discord and we have loads of MiSTer users on there, I've just seen the new update with the warning and I want to try and get ahead of the game with this. For people who update without also updating Linux, is there a known fix for people who've done that?

I know the updater script has been updated now top take this into account but I know people are going to get it wrong and probably come running to us for advice so I'd quite like to get ahead of this. :?

snattack
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:13 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby snattack » Sat May 25, 2019 6:04 pm

Updated to latest version, which according to changelog requires update of the Linux system.

Where can I find the updated linux system WITHOUT using the update-script? I don't have the Mister connected to Internet, I'm using manual updates onto the SD-card. I want a complete update that I can drag/drop onto the SD-card on another PC.

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Xtro » Sat May 25, 2019 6:09 pm

Updated to latest MiSTer binary and now when I reset the MiSTer from within a core, on MiSTer menu keyboard and gamepad don't respond, I must do a long reset.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sat May 25, 2019 6:10 pm

Linux update is basically only 2 files: linux.img and zImage_dtb.
You can do it on PC offline.
I don't see a tragedy here.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sat May 25, 2019 6:13 pm

Xtro wrote:Updated to latest MiSTer binary and now when I reset the MiSTer from within a core, on MiSTer menu keyboard and gamepad don't respond, I must do a long reset.

MiSTer binary cannot be started because of missing libraries required for new version. You need update the Linux.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Sat May 25, 2019 7:21 pm

This is after updating linux.
Keyboard and Joystick will not work after soft reboot from core.
Also, the custom background menu.jpg will not stay after reset.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests