Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Postby EmpireAndrew » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:17 pm

I grabbed a copy of Microsoft Writ from Atari Mania but when I ran it under MINT I got a memory violation (and the utility I use to edit flags won't let me edit this one). Under the standard TOS I got 2 bombs...

I'm using NVDI 5, not GDOS, however from looking up the manual online, it seems it didn't need GDOS despite coming with it.

Is it just a bad copy of Write or is it just incompatible?

I see the 2 bombs were reported on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8663&p=66375&hilit=microsoft+write#p66375

and a different copy of the program was attached (longer by 1 byte) that the OP said didn't bomb, but it still bombs for me... :shrug:
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Postby tenox » Fri May 03, 2019 4:51 am

Try running without NVDI or any extensions. I use it from time to time no problem. Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1012
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Postby Frank B » Fri May 03, 2019 5:32 am

It two bombs out on me. I have fast ram in my TT. Might be that.

User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Postby EmpireAndrew » Fri May 03, 2019 10:06 am

tenox wrote:Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)


I forgot there was a 32-bit section! :oops:
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Postby Cyprian » Fri May 03, 2019 10:20 am

tenox wrote:Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)

wouldn't be better to have one subforum forum for ST/TT/Falcon and an other for clones?
Demos, Professionals, Codings section are in most of cases common for all 16/32bit Ataris.
Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests