Hex-a-hop

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:27 pm

Another one from Eero's list:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32964&start=25#p344303
Hex-a-hop. Its a nice, little logical/puzzle game. So far it needs a machine capable of displaying 16bpp graphics***
I have tested it with Super Videl and it works fine, I guess it should also work on CTPCI/Radeon combination.
Game can be played with arrow keys or with keys: Q,W,E,A,S,D. Pressing Z undo's the last move, there is no limit for undo, it can be done down to the first move.
The game:
https://ufile.io/cz31b
And source code is attached directly to this post ( as its a small file so it was possible to attach here )
Edit:
Forgot, as the data files have long names, MiNT environment is required.

***I have tried to save the graphics files in 8bit mode in Xnview, but it didnt quite look good in game :) Also tried to initialize video in SDL as 8bit and use its converting function between different pixel formats, but it looked even worse. So for now I gave up and the game is in the original 16bit mode.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by jury on Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:21 pm, edited 10 times in total.

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1772
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Cyprian » Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:30 pm

ładne takie
Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1996
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:20 pm

I'm getting error from that address:

Code: Select all

HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 301 Moved Permanently
Location: https://uploadfiles.io/cz31b [following]
--2019-03-20 20:11:55--  https://uploadfiles.io/cz31b
Resolving uploadfiles.io (uploadfiles.io)... 104.25.155.6, 104.25.154.6, 2606:4700:20::6819:9b06, ...
Connecting to uploadfiles.io (uploadfiles.io)|104.25.155.6|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable
2019-03-20 20:11:56 ERROR 503: Service Temporarily Unavailable.


Do you have the binary anywhere else?

(A patch showing the changes against upstream version would be nice too. :-))

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:31 pm


User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:12 pm

I've got the download from the link in the first post, unpacked the ZIP to a SD-card with LFN (FAT32) and tried several systems.

- CT2A Falcon running MagiC in 256 colours: Start image is displayed (very slowly) in full screen, then nothing. Mouse cursor frozen.
-CT63@95 running MagiC on Radeon in 1920x1200x16M: Starts in window, seems to be playable (albeit rather slow), but that machine has problems with the eiffel :-(
-CT63@95 running MiNT on Radeon in 1920x1200x16M: Bus error, don't know what's the matter there. Might try again tomorrow.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby wongck » Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:31 am

CT63 Mint-848. No memory protection.
Put on my Fat32 partition, it froze the system. No error dialogbox.
Put on my e2fs partition, it killed the desktop and gave a bus error dialogbox ( but for "desktop" ??)
The dialogbox about bus error seems to randomly specify a running app... I had taskbar, phclock reported as bus error.

Can you just rename the filenames to 8.3 inside your program?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Sat Mar 23, 2019 4:37 am

Thanks for the tests guys. I Will check it up.

wongck wrote:Can you just rename the filenames to 8.3 inside your program?


Yes, this should be no problem.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:43 pm

The error I get on the CT63 is an alert from XaAES with "pid 161 (hexahop): BUS ERROR: User PC=3C, Address: 3C (basepage 2314000, text=2314100, data=24B22A4, bss=24BD1A4)"

It's an old version of MiNT 0.17 from 2012 with XaAES to match (0.999 release Nov 3 2012)

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

penguin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:43 am

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby penguin » Sun Mar 24, 2019 2:03 pm

Tested it on my MacAranym setup, XaAES 1.5.5, . Playable both in windowed and full screen mode, but in windowed mode I have to hold the mouse button longer to register.
AtariUpToDate - Atari ST/TT/Falcon software database and version tracker: http://www.atariuptodate.de
st-computer magazine - https://st-computer.atariuptodate.de/

ama
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby ama » Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:27 pm

Thank you jury,
tested with CT60@85 (640x480 256c) with MagiC OS. Slightly slow, but playable! :D
Hint for MagiC Users. Started as a single task. (Shift left)

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:19 pm

Tried on my Milan 040 with MagiC-Milan and ATI Rage in 1600x1200x65k: Crashes badly, Exception #2

Code: Select all

h:\HEXAHOP> HEXAHOP.PRG


Exception #2: PC=01665586 (TEXT+000914B6), USP=017C7AF6, SR=2000
Fault address:FFFF8930 Effective address:017C7AF6
Dn:01528C6C 00000000 0000000A 00000008 00000000 00000001 00002002 0000000C
An:017C7AEE 0021721E 017D7EC0 017D7EC0 017D7EF0 017E4B20 0164F7FE 017C7AC0
PD:015D3FD0 TEXT:015D40D0 DATA:01772274 BSS:0177D174


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:55 pm

Thanks all for tests. Hope I will have some time comming days to try to look into this.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1996
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:10 am

wongck wrote:Can you just rename the filenames to 8.3 inside your program?


Hatari includes a script to convert long file names to 8+3 format in TOS-compatible way:
https://git.tuxfamily.org/hatari/hatari ... ert-dir.py

I've successfully used it to fix MiNTlib compiled programs using long file names to work under TOS, ones that didn't work before the file name conversion.

(Conversion works as long as the resulting file names are still unique in 8.3 length, or non-unique names are for files that matter little.)

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby MacFalcon » Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:42 am

jury wrote:I have tested it with Super Videl and it works fine, I guess it should also work on CTPCI/Radeon combination.

Which OS did you use? With the supervidel and Mint/myaes I get to the title screen but cannot start a new game, nor select anything...

Take care,

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Thu Mar 28, 2019 7:25 am

Hmm, does it hang completely or you can at least quit by Esc?
I tried under 2 versions of MiNT 1.19 with XaAES, one from latest Easymint installation and second one was the latest automatic build from official FreeMiNT repository:
https://github.com/freemint/freemint

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby MacFalcon » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:22 pm

I am stuck in the title screen. Cannot leave it nor select anything.

Mint 1.19.? Myaes 0.97.

But I only have 128 MB RAM. Maybe that's too little?
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:05 pm

Had some time so I went through the code to see if anything could be speeded up ( I was thinking of switching off this nice water waves and reflections ) and found out that the delay times which were calculated dynamically somehow were not giving good results on Falcon, so by trial and error I just hardcoded this value and now the game is just blazing fast! :) especially on Supervidel. But on standard Videl it also gained real speed, so the water waves survived :)
I have updated the first post with the new executable ( hex2.zip )
Hopefully, I should have some time on the weekend, so I will try to look up the rest of reported quirks.

MacFalcon wrote:I am stuck in the title screen. Cannot leave it nor select anything.

Sorry, forgot to write you, try to press quickly Esc key 2 times, its one of the ways to go back to the previous place, and if its the main menu, the game exits.

MacFalcon wrote:But I only have 128 MB RAM. Maybe that's too little?

I doubt, but who knows. I should have some 128MB stick, so will try it.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Fri Mar 29, 2019 8:55 pm

Tried the new version on my CT2A Falcon (14+32MB, MagiC 6.2): Seems to behave like before, switches resolution, shows menu screen, mouse cursor freezes, no response whatsoever. Need reset button to recover. More tests to come tomorrow.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Sat Mar 30, 2019 5:52 am

Ektus wrote:The error I get on the CT63 is an alert from XaAES with "pid 161 (hexahop): BUS ERROR: User PC=3C, Address: 3C (basepage 2314000, text=2314100, data=24B22A4, bss=24BD1A4)"

It's an old version of MiNT 0.17 from 2012 with XaAES to match (0.999 release Nov 3 2012)

This hasn't changed with the new version from Thursday.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby Ektus » Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:02 am

On the CT63 with Radeon and MAgiC, there are two messages in the console:

Code: Select all

C:\gemini2\user> Warning: unable to open file "./data/" for reading
Warning: don't know window width for message:


It would be playable if there weren't massive problems with the Eiffel (mouse too fast? Have to check with older one...)

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby MacFalcon » Sat Mar 30, 2019 7:04 am

Ektus wrote:Tried the new version on my CT2A Falcon (14+32MB, MagiC 6.2): Seems to behave like before, switches resolution, shows menu screen, mouse cursor freezes, no response whatsoever. Need reset button to recover. More tests to come tomorrow.


Sounds like my issue. Same behaviour except I don't see a mouse cursor at all.
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby vido » Sat Mar 30, 2019 8:01 am

Hi Jury,

is it possible to compile it also for the Coldfire?

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby jury » Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:16 pm

Thanks Ektus for tests.
Ektus wrote:It would be playable if there weren't massive problems with the Eiffel (mouse too fast? Have to check with older one...)

Thats strange for me. In my case I could never make mouse working for this game. Either I get no mouse pointer and other
times ( happening really rarely ) when I can see the pointer, its so slow that its not possible to use it. So there is something fishy I certainly not understand.
I play it with arrow keys and also it can be played with keys Q,W,E,A,S,D. But I will try to look into this mouse problem.

MacFalcon wrote:I am stuck in the title screen. Cannot leave it nor select anything.

Mint 1.19.? Myaes 0.97.

But I only have 128 MB RAM. Maybe that's too little?


Checked on some 128MB stick and it started and I could play fine. I will try to make a build with some debug information written into some log file and maybe this will shed some light what is going on.

vido wrote:is it possible to compile it also for the Coldfire?


Yes, I even tried to build it for Coldfire last time I was playing with it, but the linker was giving some strange looking errors to me. Will of course try to do it again next time.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby vido » Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:23 pm

jury wrote:
vido wrote:is it possible to compile it also for the Coldfire?


Yes, I even tried to build it for Coldfire last time I was playing with it, but the linker was giving some strange looking errors to me. Will of course try to do it again next time.

Thany you Jury!
I am looking forward to it :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Hex-a-hop

Postby wongck » Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:12 pm

hex2.zip .... no difference, still hangs on mine.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests