New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:16 pm

Hi everyone!
I've written a new CT60 Boot for the CT60,CT63 and CT60e.
After talking with mikro I am going to release this as Boot 1.05
You can get it at my webpage http://insane.tscc.de/
You'll need your standard CT60 Flash Program.
This Boot has been tested with CTPCI, Supervidel, Ethernat and Svetlana attachements

Boot Changelog since v1.03c
- modified the sources for cross compilation on PC (huge thanks to mikro!)
- added fixes from 1.03c-PM (background color ESC-c)
- added fixes from 1.03d (flash chip id is 16bit, not 32bit)
- added v_pline fix from 1.04alpha
- added Patrice Mandin's CT60 Setup, enhanced it and bugfixed the setup loader
- added CTPCI IDE Port support (and nothing else regarding PCI!)
- limit CTPCI memory space to 0xC0000000-0xE0000000 (This way Ethernat+SuperVidel+CTPCI work)
- fixed boot modecode interlace setting when boot monitor != running monitor
- fixed VT52 emulator: ESC KoJEd all destroyed the saved cursor pos
- removed ataboot Linux Atari Bootstrap from ROM - It can't boot the current Linux/m68k Kernel
- Selecting Linux will launch C:\BOOTSTRA.TOS
- New Atari Logo Display Routine which doesn't use the Blitter (for SV Users)
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

marss
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:29 pm

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby marss » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:05 pm

Thanks, thanks, thanks

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby Kroll » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:15 pm

Hi,
awesome, but I would like ask you before apdate of my CT6x.
On my first Falcon, I have CT63+CTPCI. There are use not only Radeon card, but Realtek and USB card too. and in this moment I have 2.02 beta 10. In this case, should I do an update?
On second I have CT60e + CTPCI, there is only Radeon card,that is, there should be no problems here ?

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:16 pm

Hi Kroll!
Only CTPCI Ide is supported on this Boot 1 codebase.
If you are using PCI devices then you'll need to stay on Boot 2
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby Kroll » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:24 pm

OK thank you for additional explanations.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby mikro » Wed Mar 06, 2019 7:05 am

Except the massive respect to insane's work done on this I want to mention one oddity (in a good sense), my problem mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=100&t=35445 is gone with this TOS :D Yes, we have verified that reverting back to standard 1.03d makes it reproducible again. We have absolutely no logical explanation for that but if you observe something fishy with your CT60(e), feel free to give this one a try. ;-)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby Dal » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:52 pm

mikro wrote:Except the massive respect to insane's work done on this I want to mention one oddity (in a good sense), my problem mentioned in http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=35445 is gone with this TOS :D Yes, we have verified that reverting back to standard 1.03d makes it reproducible again. We have absolutely no logical explanation for that but if you observe something fishy with your CT60(e), feel free to give this one a try. ;-)


Intriguing! I read that thread and was convinced it was a hardware problem. Glad the CT60 TOS is getting more support.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby Beetle » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:59 pm

Hi,

here some pics:

before, any existing ct6x TOS with SV:
20190306_144230.jpg


now, with boot 1.05:
20190306_145017.jpg


and pics from the extended setup (press del to enter setup :) )
20190306_145058.jpg

20190306_145105.jpg

20190306_145112.jpg

20190306_145117.jpg

20190306_145153.jpg

20190306_145206.jpg


you may want to upgrade, its worth it. Thank you, Insane!

Greets,
Beetle
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
What Atari do you want to modify today?

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:18 pm

A small update: Boot 1.05 20190306 now shows [ ] Boot from CTPCI IDE Controller inside SETUP.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby joska » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:54 pm

Thank you for this update. Just tested it and I'm pleased to see that it doesn't generate the (to me) useless CT60TEMP.ACC every time it boots :)

One question - on my CT60e the ABE and SDR values are both FFFFFFFF. What does this mean? And what are those values/settings for?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:13 pm

@joska: where those 0xffffffff before the flashing (using abesdr.tos according to the readme.txt)?
Those only show you which Version of the ABE/SDR you have flashed onto the CPLD/FPGA.
If you know for sure that you have rev5 or rev7 (AFAIK all CT60e have Rev7) then you can use abesdr.tos to set those IDs again.
To clarify: those version numbers are stored into the CT60' Flash - not inside the Chips. So it could be that they are erased during flashing.
I've had the same - 0xffffffff, but I do not remember when they were erased. Yet it is only "for Information".
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby joska » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:25 pm

insane wrote:@joska: where those 0xffffffff before the flashing (using abesdr.tos according to the readme.txt)?


Yes, they were.

insane wrote:Yet it is only "for Information".


I can't remember ever having flashed my CT60e, so I guess it came this way from willy. I will set the values using your tools, thanks.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby mikro » Thu Mar 07, 2019 7:18 am

joska wrote:I'm pleased to see that it doesn't generate the (to me) useless CT60TEMP.ACC every time it boots :)

Sorry to bring your mood down but this has nothing to do with the TOS. ;-)

It is generated by CT60CONF.CPX.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby joska » Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:32 pm

mikro wrote:It is generated by CT60CONF.CPX.


Great :( Maybe I'll have a look at the sources and see if I can remove it myself.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby mpattonm » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:15 pm

insane wrote:A small update: Boot 1.05 20190306 now shows [ ] Boot from CTPCI IDE Controller inside SETUP.

I noticed there is another update: 20190312, are there any significant fixes, changes?

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:22 pm

Nothing significant.
- 20190312: Added new Boot-Picture/Demo ID "DEMO"
- if used (instead of XIMG) the 2s wait after the Demo is skipped
Only useful if you code your own intro picture - that's why I haven't posted an update yet.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby mpattonm » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:39 am

Oh, thats a feature I am waiting for :) Looking forward to it!

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby stormy » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:14 pm

I flashed without any issues, the new bios menu is awesome. Thanks for the great work!
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby viking272 » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:32 pm

Great work! What is the plans for the future for those that have CTPCI and Radeon card.
Is this something that will be supported in the future or not at all maybe?

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:38 pm

There are no plans for real PCI support as those need the PCI bios routines from Boot 2.
From which there aren't any sources available. (There are some sources in the 1.04 alpha - but I have no Idea how stable they are)
I also have no personal interest in PCI stuff so someone else will need to take up the torch.
Next 2 features will be skipping the boot logo and skipping the TT-Ram clearing (I think that the TT doesn't clean its TT-RAM) - after that the source will be released on mikro's github as all my features I wanted in there are included by then.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby fidzen » Sat Mar 30, 2019 12:36 pm

I tested this on why Falcon with CT60e and SV and it gave me a black screen. I flashed it back to 1.03c and it works again.
Any ideas what could be the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Sat Mar 30, 2019 12:44 pm

Please redownload - there should now be 2 files - CT60tosA and CT60tosB - use either of them and please see if one of those work.
There have been reports of problems with the SuperVidel in combination with certain code offsets which neither mikro nor I have found a solution thus far.
Please also check if http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=2019 works on your CT60+SV combo running under boot 1.03c
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby evil » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:18 am

Thank you Daniel, this is very good stuff.

The fuji logo display on Supervidel is great, the new bootlogo is greater but the greatest of them all is the boot setup! Finally can throw that CPX away which generates the ever so annoying ct60temp accessory!

The "A" file works fine on the Supervidel here.

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:42 pm

Thanks evil!
Btw: There now is a version C which skips the videl clock measurement+boot logo entirely.
The hang-on-boot bug could be triggered if you don't have the videl clock connected to the SV-clock.
(or sth like that - I don't have an SV - that's from memory).
mikro is still torture testing his CT60e-SV combo :)
We're still trying to fix this race condition
EDIT: this bug also depends on the 68060 cpu speed. fun times.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New CT60 Boot ROM 1.05

Postby insane » Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:08 pm

And a big thank you to Patrice Mandin for coding the first versions of the CT60 Setup program and redistributing his sources!
(Still waiting for the ct60/sv devs to share the boot 2 and the SV_XBIOS sources ;) )
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest