Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:56 am

Hi

I'm trying to get software onto my STBook. It is modded with an Atari bootable compact flash for a hard drive, but the serial port seems entirely dead - I cannot get STTrans to register with anything...

But I could just take the CF out and plug it into a reader on my Mac / pc... But I've heard that might corrupt it? Is there a utility to read this on mac / windows (preferably Mac) or can I do this through an emulator?

Just want to copy some files into the CF's hard drive partitions (Including a better transfer program!!)

Thanks

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby joska » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 am

Not sure about your Mac (I have little experience with modern Macs) but your Windows computer will not corrupt the card. I suggest you connect the card to your PC and image it, then mount the image as an IDE disk in Hatari. You can now copy files to the image using the TOS desktop. When done, write the image back to the card.
It's easier with Linux, since you can mount the card directly in Hatari. Maybe this works on the Mac too.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:42 am

Thanks for the reply... One stupid question - how would I image it? And would the fact it has multiple partitions make any difference?
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby joska » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:26 pm

On Windows you would use a tool like WinImage (https://www.winimage.com/winimage.htm). There are probably similar tools for OSX but I guess the most commonly used tool for this would be dd (https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/how-to-cr ... d-command/).
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:35 pm

So finally managed to get the CF out of the STBook (absolute mission!), but i can't get it to read on either the Mac or Windows as in both the operating system takes over before Hatari or an image programme and says the CF isn't readable and needs to be formatted or ejected? Is this because its the bootable hard drive (i.e., Master) not a Slave?? Is there any way around this?

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby jd » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:56 pm

Get a Live boot of linux (ubuntu for example) then follow :

https://www.backuphowto.info/linux-backup-hard-disk-clone-dd

before you start messing around with CF in wondows or MAC

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:43 pm

Thanks for the reply. Not sure i'm up to the linux challenge (and mac OS X is debian anyway) and i'm rather worried about screwing up my main bootable CF/harddrive for the STBook.

So i'm trying a different route. I've now got a second open IDE adapter in the STBook at IDE1. If i can format a second blank CF correctly that is readable on both Atari and Mac or windows I'm assuming i can just swap that one in and out and forget messing around with the main HD that is bootable (i.e., just have a non-bootable transfer CF?). I tried to format this second CF on HDDriver on the STBook and while it can see something is installed at IDE 1, it doesn't seem to be able to pick it up to format it or do anything with it?? (Only visible in device check, but no name). The CF is readable on my Mac (currently as MS-DOS 12 format - whatever it was when i picked it up).

So I guess the question is, what/how should i format this second CF on the mac/windows so that it is readable on both those computers and by HDDriver so i can read/write on the STBook? Or if i format it correctly on those, should it just appear on the STBook at HDDriver is running on it anyway (courtesy of the bootable CF i'm now not going to mess with)?

Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree (i've never actually tried this before...)

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:12 pm

Guessing the above can’t be a very common question! In case anyone else was looking I did find this site that seems to describe how to do all the formatting etc. Haven’t tried it yet, but made sense reading it... will see..!

http://www.webring.org/l/rd?ring=atari; ... tide%2Ephp

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:41 pm

For Windows, back in the XP days, I used Gemulators. http://emulators.com/explorer.htm. I am not even sure if it works on Win10 now, probably not.
Nowadays I just mount a FAT32 CF transfer-disk and transfers stuffs if I do not have my SCSI chain on (else I use FAT32 SD card). I don't mount entire C: drive any more.

For Linus, I remembered that some used mtools to great success.
Edit: did a quick search and found Darklord's Howto :D viewtopic.php?f=15&t=27876&p=271885#p271885
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:27 am

Mr.JT wrote:Guessing the above can’t be a very common question! In case anyone else was looking I did find this site that seems to describe how to do all the formatting etc. Haven’t tried it yet, but made sense reading it... will see..!
JT


Ah I see you found PPera web pages, he's a brilliant chap.
You can use one of his disk imaging tool to transfers files as well.
http://atari.8bitchip.info/drimus.php
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby joska » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:20 pm

Mr.JT wrote:So finally managed to get the CF out of the STBook (absolute mission!), but i can't get it to read on either the Mac or Windows as in both the operating system takes over before Hatari or an image programme and says the CF isn't readable and needs to be formatted or ejected?


This is to be expected, neither Windows nor OSX understands Atari partitioning. But this does not matter, the drive image program should still be able to access the card and make an image file of it.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby DarkLord » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:57 pm

wongck wrote:
For Linus, I remembered that some used mtools to great success.
Edit: did a quick search and found Darklord's Howto :D viewtopic.php?f=15&t=27876&p=271885#p271885


Heh, was just getting ready to enter all that when I saw your post Wong. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:00 am

Ok so I bought a new CF (transcend) and minor progress. It shows up in HDDRIVER (9) utility, on the second IDE slot (dual IDE/CF adapter)

However I'm now totally confused how to actually partition it. I've read numerous guides but must be missing something

I am running off a host CF that is bootable. I'm trying to format this second one to use as a transfer drive between atari and windows / Mac to be used on the second (slave) CF slot (Ie., at the same time as the other bootable flash)

In hddrutil if I click refresh devices it shows up (but not automatically). I select the 'device', choose 'partition' and enter a couple of partitions under 512mb each with windows compatibility selected. It warns me its only good for mint. I click OK and it does something. I reboot but the drives don't appear on the desktop and when I load HDRutil again they aren't in drives, I have to refresh devices to make the card show and I can't "install hddriver" to the card...

What am I missing?

(And apologies if these are stupid questions - I don't have full documentation as I inherited the whole setup so it's a mix of guess work and reading semi relevant guides!!)
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby DarkLord » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:38 am

Crazy question but are you actually running MINT?

If not, I wouldn't use whatever option triggered that warning.

Not CF but on the SDcards I use, I always pick the dual compatibility
option with HDDriver.

Also, IIRC, HDDriver has the option to auto partition a source into
fairly equal amounts.

HTHs, and I'm sure others will join in as well.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby wongck » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:50 am

don't be too ambitious, i would try out dual boot TOS/WINDOWS with size of 10MB first.
I know, I know.... your CF is like 16GB and you are using like a fraction of it.
Not sure what TOS version you have but 512mb need TOS 3 and above.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby DarkLord » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:24 pm

Hmm, sorry - that's actually not correct. The Mega ST4 that runs DarkForce
has 512 meg partitions, 8 of them, including the boot partition, and that's
under TOS v1.04. That's on a 4 gig SCSI hard drive. (HDDriver software)

Been running like that since the early 90's. Very reliable, considering how
much BBS software writes to the drive...

PS I use 2 gig SD cards on the Ultrasatan in my STacy. It does have two TOS
versions, both v1.04 and a modified v3.06 (because of the Pak board) but I
am using 512 meg partitions there as well. I switch back and forth between
TOS versions with nary a problem.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby wongck » Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:43 pm

My bad, Sorry about the misinformation, was just typing out of my head.
A quick check in the HDDriver doc states that Tos 1.04 does do 512MB for both boot & data.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby DarkLord » Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:08 am

No problem mate - hard to keep all the info straight sometimes - I know I have
to double-check things all the time.

PS and I *still* get things wrong! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:46 pm

Hi

So trying to get back to this now i have a long weekend! STBook been in bits for a month now!

So I'm running plain TOS (a patched version of 2.06). I can't run MiNT or anything like that until i can transfer files across!

I can partition this second CF to various sizes, but how to i get it to load onto the desktop? Or even to show properly in HDDriver so i can 'install' HDDriver. (Which is what i think i'm suppose to do?). At the moment i can select it from devices and partition it, but it never shows up anywhere beyond there and i can't select it to do anything else with it. Rebooting etc (from my primary TOS only CF in the first IDE slot) does nothing. I don't need to boot from this second CF (i think??) - i just want to be able to plug it in, copy files to it and unplug and plug it into PC/Mac. I have copies of HDDriver 8 and 9 on the STBook but no way of upgrading those until i can read this CF!

Any ideas? Sorry i'm totally new to this process in general

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby Mr.JT » Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:16 pm

So I found this guide - very useful and contains everything (nearly) you could want to know...

http://joo.kie.sk/wp-content/uploads/20 ... _Guide.pdf

However, i still have a problem. I understand what it is now, just dont know why!

I have two devices, ID0 and ID1. ID0 is my boot CF and functions fine. ID1 is the CF i’m trying to format for dual use. When i load HDDriver, only ID0 shows up by default. I dont know why. If i click ‘refresh devices’ then the CF at ID1 shows up in the devices list. I can then select it and partition it.

However, when i have finished partitioning it (supposedly successfully) the partitions are supposed to show up greyed out in the ‘drives’ window. They do not. Only the drives on ID0 (plus a RAM disk) show up. Clicking refresh drives (or devices) doesn’t help. And hence I cannot then install them to the desktop as usuable partitions either.

I’m following the steps exactly as in the guide above, and making sure partition sizes are correct. Interestingly when i go to partition the CF again, the existing sizes aren’t quite what i’d specified the previous time? But initializing them and running checks on them is fine - so they dont seem to be corrupt.

Any ideas what is going on and why the partitions dont show up once made (or why the ID1 devices doesn’t seem to load automatically only after a manual refresh?)

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Reading an Atari Compact Flash on Mac/Windows

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:05 am

i am using older hddriver only so i don't know anything about the features of newer version like refresh (i don't remember even having that button on mine)...... but look at section 4.4.3.1, is your 2nd acsi devices selected?
Look at 4.4.6.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests