C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby NML32 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:32 pm

--Hopefully someday MiSTer will be able to connect to NeoHabitat online.

Neohabitat is a relaunch of the first massively multiplayer online roleplaying game, Lucasfilm's Habitat. Originally developed in 1985 by Lucasfilm Games (now LucasArts) for the Commodore 64, Habitat is considered the grandfather of modern MMORPGs. Neohabitat is an open-source project led by Randy Farmer, one of Habitat's creators, reviving the original Habitat world.

NeoHabitat Github for real C64: https://github.com/frandallfarmer/neoha ... RealC64.md

Loading the first disk Habitat-Boot_v1.1-modemenabled.d64 and connecting to the server works but fails once you mount and load the second disk Habitat-B.d64.

I joined NeoHabitat #troubleshooting via Slack and got a little more info about Disk B. Maybe the issue loading disk B will make more sense.

=========================================================================================
steve [2:35 PM]
i am unfamiliar with that device, but disk b is a bit tricky because it requires a complete 1541 emulation
there is a special bootloader that gets loaded into the 1541 which is used to read data off that disk
this is also the reason why sd2iec devices don’t load disk b
the only fpga-based device i know that can do it is the 1541 ultimate

randy [2:38 PM]
If this is physical hardware, no other device may be on the same cable as the 1541. That caused us a lot of grief. (edited)

steve [2:39 PM]
not to mention it can’t be a 1571 or other device, gotta be a 1541 and only a 1541

stu [2:50 PM]
had a look at the C64 core topic for the MiSTer FPGA device, they have a 1541 test suite and although all instructions are passing, apparently there are "VIA" issues. wondering if it's just an incomplete emulation causing the problem.
=========================================================================================

NeoHabitat, the modem needs to be set to 1200 baud
Press F7 to enter Terminal mode to issue modem commands. (Same screen you enter your desired username)
In Terminal mode dial the server by entering: ATDTneohabitat.demo.spi.ne:1986

Guide Step 4 - Start NeoHabitat
After the modem commands have been issued and the connection to the NeoHabitat server is active and RUN/STOP has been pressed, simply press RETURN.

NeoHabitat has launched (some further stuff is loaded from disk).

When the message "Press Alt-N/Cmd-N" is displayed, insert or virtually-mount the Habitat-B disk. Press SPACE.

After a short while, your avatar should hatch at the NeoHabitat Immigration center.

If the game stops loading before your avatar shows up, you might check your modem connection. In case the modem is not connected, there will not be any error message, the game just will stop loading at this point.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby ericgus » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:22 am

Oh this is unfortunate, I was looking to give NeoHabitat a go now the c64 core has UART support. Hopefully the issue is identified.

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:11 am

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am the flux ninja

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1351
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby slingshot » Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:48 pm

JimDrew wrote:There is a bunch of stuff missing in the 1541 emulation of the C64 core. Until that is added, no custom loader is going to work.

What are these "bunch of stuff"?
Lots of fastloaders are working. Even that picky Blast from the past loader. Or JiffyDos. The VIA comes from Ultimate II.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:13 pm

JimDrew wrote:There is a bunch of stuff missing in the 1541 emulation of the C64 core. Until that is added, no custom loader is going to work.

Said someone who is not using C64.

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:53 pm

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:30 am, edited 4 times in total.
I am the flux ninja

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:52 pm

JimDrew wrote:So, to say I don't use a C64 is a bit ridiculous!

Ridiculous to say that fastloaders won't work with current C64 core. Such funny assumption could be made by the one who didn't use the core.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby kitrinx » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:30 am

JimDrew wrote:This is a complete low-level, cycle exact, 1541 (and other drives) emulator for the C64 that I will be releasing shortly. It is done using a dual core microcontroller. It is designed to be able to easily fit inside of your C64 (wired internally). I will also have an external plug-in board available with OLED and push buttons as well as a version for the C64 Reloaded.


Why are you derailing conversation by selling your junk here? Did you post in the wrong thread? This is about MiSTer stuff.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby BBond007 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:42 am

JimDrew wrote:Huh? Apparently you don't know my history?


To be fair, JimDrew is like a Commodore national treasure. Much in the same way Justin (Drew) Bieber is for Canada.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby ericgus » Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:39 am

JimDrew wrote:There is a bunch of stuff missing in the 1541 emulation of the C64 core. Until that is added, no custom loader is going to work.



could you elaborate on this so the core authors might address these shortcomings and fix the gaps in the core.. ?

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:04 am

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am the flux ninja

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:05 am

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am the flux ninja

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:08 am

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby DrOG » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:17 am

JimDrew wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:Ridiculous to say that fastloaders won't work with current C64 core. Such funny assumption could be made by the one who didn't use the core.

... I know *exactly* what is failing, because I in fact do run the tests (on every new version of the C64 core). I keep track of ALL of the 1541 disk drive emulators and their compatibility....

Did you test the SDrive1564 as well?
http://www.c64sdcard.hu/en/index.html

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:29 am

JimDrew wrote:I am not selling these particular products (yet).

MiSTer forum is about open source and hobby product for retro addicted users who like to share their work. This is no way your ad platform. It's possible that work and hobby may match, so i ask you to concentrate on hobby part if you want to participate this community. Your ads are NOT welcome here. Regardless if they are direct or hidden ads.

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:26 am

...
Last edited by JimDrew on Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am the flux ninja

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: C64 NeoHabitat Disk-B won't load

Postby JimDrew » Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:33 am

...
I am the flux ninja


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests