Atari 2600 / VIC 20

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Lroby74 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:53 pm

slingshot wrote:Yes


Did it, thank you!

Now it's time to create C16.ROM :)

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:41 pm

Hi!

This weekend I noticed that the video out of the Atari 2600 core shows some colors wrongly in case of PAL ROMs if scanlines are set to 25 or 50%. Usually I connect my MiST over SCART to the display, but this time tried component. Over VGA (only NTSC ROMs are compatible with my TV using this connector) no such decoloration, but scanlines are barely visible over blue background. See attachments taken from Seaquest.

Cheers: Gábor
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:01 am

The reduced scanline modes are discarding some bits from the RGB output, and sometimes it can transfer to some different colors, as I see. Will check once...

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:16 pm

slingshot wrote:The reduced scanline modes are discarding some bits from the RGB output, and sometimes it can transfer to some different colors, as I see. Will check once...

Thank you in advance! Not urgent at all, I use mainly SCART connector in case of my main screen as it's very picky in aspect of non-standard resolutions/refresh rates over VGA as mentioned earlier.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Lroby74 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:19 am

A friend of mine (Antonino or Nino for friends Porcino) started very recently to study Verilog and VHDL, and added in the Vic20 core the ability to read an audio file (for now) from the Mistica EAR port, his goal would be to become expert enough to add full support for TAPs (including the various Datasette keys) in the C64 core.

He released a small demonstration video:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2955017 ... 625401460/
Last edited by Lroby74 on Fri May 03, 2019 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:41 pm

Lroby74 wrote:A friend of mine started very recently to study Verilog and VHDL, and added in the Vic20 core the ability to read an audio file (for now) from the Mistica EAR port, his goal would be to become expert enough to add full support for TAPs (including the various Datasette keys) in the C64 core.
He released a small demonstration video:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2955017 ... 625401460/

It would be really nice! Mistica's EAR port can be easily reproduced on a daughterboard for the MiST (in fact I believe Mistica utilized the original schematic of V6Z80P, as they are the same - BC846 is the SMD version of BC548, see attachments).

We recently try to modify the original circuit to accept lower signal levels (perhaps line-in voltages as well), see details in another topic:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=30124
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Thu May 02, 2019 7:55 pm

I assumed VIC-20 is complete, I was wrong:

https://github.com/gyurco/VIC20_MiST/releases/tag/1.7

The horrible audio distortion is fixed, also @nippur72 rewrote the sound generator. TAP support is added.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Fri May 03, 2019 4:41 am

THX!!! :cheers: Gonna try it this weekend!

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DanyPPC » Fri May 03, 2019 6:15 am

Really great update ! :cheers:

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DanyPPC » Fri May 03, 2019 7:55 am

Vic20 core lacks an option like C16/C64 Cores to load a standard kernal, so I have to delete my VIC20 JiffyDOS rom from SD card if I want to load tapes.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Lroby74 » Fri May 03, 2019 5:57 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Vic20 core lacks an option like C16/C64 Cores to load a standard kernal, so I have to delete my VIC20 JiffyDOS rom from SD card if I want to load tapes.

ATM, you can rename or move into a subfolder Vic20.rom file when you need to load TAPs :)

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 893
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby vebxenon » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:28 pm

E7 mapper added thanks to Slingshot :D :cheers: :cheers:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... ores/a2600

"E7 - M-Network cart (Bump'n'Jump, Burgertime), use .E7 extension"
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:11 pm

Burger time don't move ! :shrug:

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:32 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Burger time don't move ! :shrug:

It needs "B" difficulty setting (same in Stella, so not a core bug).

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:04 pm

Ah, ok. You are right :wink:

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby NML32 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:19 pm

I'm happy to see the Atari 2600 core getting updates. :D

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:06 am

Timer fix season...
Looks like a small error in RIOT caused unstable video in many games (Star Wars acrade, Espian, Tapper, ...). And nobody noticed that Haunted House and Video Pinball don't work properly?
Attached a fixed core, please test it, hope I didn't break something else. If not, I'll put it on mist-binaries.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 893
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby vebxenon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:11 pm

slingshot wrote:Timer fix season...
Looks like a small error in RIOT caused unstable video in many games (Star Wars acrade, Espian, Tapper, ...). And nobody noticed that Haunted House and Video Pinball don't work properly?
Attached a fixed core, please test it, hope I didn't break something else. If not, I'll put it on mist-binaries.


It works very well!!! And now video is too stable :cheers: :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:55 pm

Well done !!!

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:27 pm

Some background of the Haunted House bug:
At some point, the programmer intended to execute a
SBC #$0F
instruction.
However during the process from the brain to the keyboard, it became a
SBC $0F
And this, instead of subtracting $0F from A, is subtracting the value read from zero page address $0F from A.
$0F is in the TIA address space, but register $0F exists only for writing. Reading from this address will put nothing on the bus, so the CPU "sees" the last value read from it (probably latched somewhere). And what was the last value? $0F of course, the second byte of the instruction. So at the end, SBC #$0F and SBC $0F is identical on an Atari2600.

I found it interesting, maybe someone else, too.

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby squid4 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:19 pm

Looks good on all the games I've tried, nice find slingshot!

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby squid4 » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:06 pm

Anyone confirm paddles in the atari 9 pin port actually work? Just got a second hand one and it's not working with Super Breakout (fire button works), not sure the controller is faulty.

Chris23235
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Chris23235 » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:54 pm

squid4 wrote:Anyone confirm paddles in the atari 9 pin port actually work? Just got a second hand one and it's not working with Super Breakout (fire button works), not sure the controller is faulty.


Super Breakout only works with Paddles, it doesn't work with a joystick on real VCS as well.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1326
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:51 pm

squid4 wrote:Anyone confirm paddles in the atari 9 pin port actually work? Just got a second hand one and it's not working with Super Breakout (fire button works), not sure the controller is faulty.


The MIST does not support paddles on it's built in db9 ports. These would require some special analog inputs there which the board doesn't have. But I successfully used the 2600daptor with the MIST and a original 2600 paddle. See

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nyR-TPYOdvU
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:51 pm

Someone is possibily rewriting the TIA for 7800 development, so 2600 core will likely get a nice upgrade.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests