I/O Board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

THaase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board

Postby THaase » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:54 pm

The one with the short pins are fine.
But when using the long ones you can use the cut part for the other side (USB Connector connection-P2? - sorry only online using mobile)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:29 pm

length of pins doesn't matter. the height of connector does matter.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: I/O Board

Postby kitrinx » Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:33 pm

What hardware mod is required to work with the HPS cold reset from P2 on the IO board?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:42 pm

kitrinx wrote:What hardware mod is required to work with the HPS cold reset from P2 on the IO board?

you need to solder the closest to VGA Arduino pin (under P2 pin) to cold reset signal on DE10-nano. I think i've posted the picture in this thread somewhere in the beginning.

Hewhoisred
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby Hewhoisred » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:58 pm

- Add pull up resistors to USER IO port.


Sorgelig, will users with the old revision IO board have any problems with future devices utilizing the IO port? In other words, should we think about replacing the IO board with your new version? For those of us handy with the soldering iron, would it be easy to "mod" to the 5.5 board?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:47 pm

Hewhoisred wrote:Sorgelig, will users with the old revision IO board have any problems with future devices utilizing the IO port? In other words, should we think about replacing the IO board with your new version? For those of us handy with the soldering iron, would it be easy to "mod" to the 5.5 board?

You don't need to replace the board. It's very easy to add pull up resistors. It's just 6 resistors with 10K each connected to each signal of USER I/O and 3.3v. Refer the v5.6 schematics.
I think it's better if devices designed specifically for MiSTer would include pull-up resistors on board. So modifications won't be required.

Hewhoisred
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby Hewhoisred » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:22 pm

You don't need to replace the board. It's very easy to add pull up resistors. It's just 6 resistors with 10K each connected to each signal of USER I/O and 3.3v. Refer the v5.6 schematics.
I think it's better if devices designed specifically for MiSTer would include pull-up resistors on board. So modifications won't be required.


Yes, thanks for the response. I imagine it would be fairly easy to fabricate a pass through device (dongle) with those resistors should we need to.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:23 am

Hewhoisred wrote:Yes, thanks for the response. I imagine it would be fairly easy to fabricate a pass through device (dongle) with those resistors should we need to.

Yes, it's also possible.
Currently there are even no devices using this USER I/O port. In most cases such devices have to be custom made, so it's not a problem to include pullups right on device.
Actually, FPGA output pins on USER I/O are configured with internal on-chip pull-up resistors. They are just too weak ~25K. It may be enough for some devices. Probably enough to keep a single CMOS input pulled up. So i suggest do nothing till you start to use some device on this port.

AlanWrench
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby AlanWrench » Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:43 pm

I've run into some confusion about mounting my I/O board, maybe someone could clear this up for me? On my DE10, the female extension headers are almost as long as the mounting spacers in the corners (14 mm); so if I solder in a male header for P7 on the I/O board, its isolation adds 2-3 mm, which makes the I/O board hover above the spacers and sit at a slanted angle when I put the other side all the way in. Yet in pictures it looks like everyone's I/O board is neatly flush with the spacers on the DE10, and properly locked down with screws (and I guess this would be a requirement to make the whole thing fit into the cases, as well). How do you do that? Where does the isolation of P7 go?

On a related note, P7 is only connected to the USB(ish) extension port, right? So as a workaround, could I leave it out for the time being?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:26 pm

There must be no isolator/spacer under P7.
You don't need to solder P7 if you don't plan to use USER IO port.

AlanWrench
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby AlanWrench » Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:49 pm

Sorgelig wrote:There must be no isolator/spacer under P7.


Thanks! How do you do that though? The part linked in the BOM has an isolator, do you somehow remove it after soldering?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:30 pm

I don't use the headers. Because i trim long pins from 2x20 header, i reuse them for P7. I have a dead DE10-nano which i use as a template for soldering of some connectors. So i plug the I/O board and then put separate pins for P7, then solder them from the top.
You can use good DE10-nano as well if your soldering skills are good and you can solder quick enough to not let the DE10-nano female header melt.
Or you can use some Arduino board as a template. Or something else depending on your fantasy.

AlanWrench
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby AlanWrench » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:00 pm

That makes sense, thank you!

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Mon May 06, 2019 5:08 pm

I'm getting ready to build IO board 5.6. I ordered the BOM from Digi-key posted on Github. The BOM has quantity 10, 10k ohm resistors meaning 2 per board, correct? Looking at the 5.6 .pdf schematic it has a lot more than 2, 10k ohm resistors. Am I missing something? ty

Image

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon May 06, 2019 7:12 pm

BOM looks like for v5.5
v5.6 has those pull up resistors added.

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Mon May 06, 2019 7:25 pm

Sorgelig wrote:BOM looks like for v5.5
v5.6 has those pull up resistors added.


Ouch, ok, looks like I'll order more, thanks Sorgelig

EDIT - Anything else that the 5.6 I/O has that the 5.5 BOM doesn't include that you're aware of? Are the 10k ohm resistors the same type as the ones in the 5.5 BOM? These are the ones I ordered, sorry I'm not sure how to tell if these are "pull up" resistors.

https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/ ... =291894435

Better question might be if there is a 5.6 BOM anywhere?

How do I know which voltage smd cap's to order?

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Mon May 06, 2019 10:35 pm

Can anyone with a working completed rev 5.6 IO board please post a pic of both sides please? ty

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon May 06, 2019 10:39 pm

digitron wrote:Are the 10k ohm resistors the same type as the ones in the 5.5 BOM?

yes.
Basically only VGA DAC resistors should be precise 1%. All other resistors are 5%.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon May 06, 2019 10:40 pm

digitron wrote:Can anyone with a working completed rev 5.6 IO board please post a pic of both sides please? ty

what you want to see exactly?

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Mon May 06, 2019 11:02 pm

Ugh, ok, that 5.2 BOM messed me up, my bad. I wasn't being careful when ordering parts.. Now to order missing stuff, lol.

Anyone have a 5.6 BOM by chance? :) The Components listed says for rev 5.5 - https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... embly-(DIY)

Recommendations for fan screws?

Image
Image

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Tue May 07, 2019 3:25 am

Is there a smd resistor and/or cap kit/book you recommend so I don't have to individually comb through so many p/n's on Digikey? ty

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Tue May 07, 2019 11:40 am

From your pics i see you use incorrect order of soldering.
You need to solder SD card first and only then buttons and LEDs. Now it will be hard to solder the SD card.

I buy all passives in local retail store, so i cannot recommend the kits. I don't think there are really useful kits of caps/res are available for MiSTer.

For fan you can use any M3 screws with enough length. Just make sure it doesn't protrude too much on the bottom.

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Tue May 07, 2019 12:14 pm

Thanks. Are there different components from 5.5 to 5.6? Will it work without user port and sd card reader components installed?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5078
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Tue May 07, 2019 1:28 pm

will

digitron
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby digitron » Tue May 07, 2019 2:16 pm

C12 10uF cap, what is that for? What is CD?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kintaro and 6 guests