C64 Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:27 am

vanfanel wrote:Sorgelig, please, could you double-check that vsync_adjust=1 or 2 DOES really work on this core? It's the only 50Hz core where I'm having occasionar frame desync, Amiga core 1-pixel scrolling is PERFECT always, for example, in every situation. But this C64 core has a small framerate hiccup every 25 seconds or so, same as vsync_adjust=0.


i will check it.
You can check you yourself in USB console. When video mode is changed you should see the yellow text about mode and vsync adjust. After adjust you will see the resulting frame times for VGA and HDMI in the log. They should match with may be +/-1 which is fine.

Try to switch between NTSC/PAL to see if it helps. The problem may come from the core internals instead of framework. Framework handling the vsync adjust is standard and copied across the all cores.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby slingshot » Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:20 am

yellperil wrote:Hmm that explains why the VICE test suite for the CIA has Old CIA and New CIA tests in it.
I’m guessing the Lorenz tests were only written for an old Breadbin. Maybe these tests would be a better benchmark.

https://sourceforge.net/p/vice-emu/code/HEAD/tree/testprogs/


I found them, it shows some errors in timer B in the cia-timer-oldcias test. I wonder why just Timer B, they're almost the same, except the inputs.
Switching to the new CIA is not hard, only one line change (maybe an OSD option for it?).
But! In Vice, Turbo Outrun works with either the old and new CIA. Also "properly" switching to new CIA (test passing) won't make it work. Only a wrong CIA (tests are failing) will play the samples. I wonder if it's not a CPU error around interrupts.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby slingshot » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:01 am

Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Tried it, and yeah, some samples are there. Then I realized it breaks the Lorenz tests, so I investigated further:
Seems there were 2 CIA versions, the original (6526) which is implemented now, and has the 1-cycle IRQ delay. Then there's the 8521 (not the 8520, which has a different TOD, and it's in the Amiga), which is the HMOS version, and it doesn't have the 1-cycle IRQ delay.

So it looks like need an OSD option to switch between versions?

If you want both versions. AFAIK no game should depend on a specific version (not even Turbo Outrun, the problem is somewhere else, not the CIA model).
I've added in my dev tree, at least it passes all VICE CIA-new timer tests:
https://github.com/gyurco/mist-board/co ... ba4d57a484

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:07 am

slingshot wrote:If you want both versions. AFAIK no game should depend on a specific version (not even Turbo Outrun, the problem is somewhere else, not the CIA model).
I've added in my dev tree, at least it passes all VICE CIA-new timer tests:
https://github.com/gyurco/mist-board/co ... ba4d57a484

if it doesn't fix any game then it's not required.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: C64 Core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:16 pm

@Sorgelig: I have been experimenting with PAL (50Hz) cores as you suggested. None of them has hiccups every 35 seconds, only the C64 one.
The C64 core displays the adjust_vsync=2 option, but I am not sure it's obeying the setting. These are the results for the C64, Amiga and ZX Spectrum cores. ONLY the C64 core shows the hiccup as I said:

Code: Select all

C64 core (This is the only 50Hz core with a hiccup every 25 seconds)
====================================================================

INFO: Video resolution: 370 x 280, fHorz = 15.9KHz, fVert = 50.9Hz, fPix = 8.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1965599, HDMI = 1672532
Adjust VSync(2).
Calculate PLL for 72.7522 MHz:
Fvco=436.513043, C=6, M=8, K=0.730261(3136446475) -> Fpix=72.752174
Read scaler coefficients
   phase H-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase H-01:   -4, 127,   5,   0
   phase H-02:   -6, 123,  12,  -1
   phase H-03:   -8, 118,  20,  -2
   phase H-04:   -9, 111,  29,  -3
   phase H-05:   -9, 102,  39,  -4
   phase H-06:   -9,  93,  50,  -6
   phase H-07:   -9,  83,  61,  -7
   phase H-08:   -8,  72,  72,  -8
   phase H-09:   -7,  61,  83,  -9
   phase H-10:   -6,  50,  93,  -9
   phase H-11:   -4,  39, 102,  -9
   phase H-12:   -3,  29, 111,  -9
   phase H-13:   -2,  20, 118,  -8
   phase H-14:   -1,  12, 123,  -6
   phase H-15:    0,   5, 127,  -4
   phase V-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase V-01:    0, 127,   0,   0
   phase V-02:    0, 126,   0,   0
   phase V-03:    0, 123,   1,   0
   phase V-04:    0, 119,   2,   0
   phase V-05:    0, 113,   6,   0
   phase V-06:    0, 103,  14,   0
   phase V-07:    0,  85,  31,   0
   phase V-08:    0,  58,  58,   0
   phase V-09:    0,  31,  85,   0
   phase V-10:    0,  14, 103,   0
   phase V-11:    0,   6, 113,   0
   phase V-12:    0,   2, 119,   0
   phase V-13:    0,   1, 123,   0
   phase V-14:    0,   0, 126,   0
   phase V-15:    0,   0, 127,   0
Send HDMI parameters:
video: 1366, 70, 143, 213, 768, 3, 3, 24,
PLL: 0x4, 0x404, 0x3, 0x10000, 0x5, 0x303, 0x9, 0x2, 0x8, 0x7, 0x7, 0xBAF2600B,
sending keymap: 0
INFO: Video resolution: 370 x 280, fHorz = 15.9KHz, fVert = 50.9Hz, fPix = 8.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1965599, HDMI = 1965598

ZX Spectrum core
================

INFO: Video resolution: 320 x 284, fHorz = 15.6KHz, fVert = 50.1Hz, fPix = 7.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1996799, HDMI = 1672532
Adjust VSync(2).
Calculate PLL for 71.6154 MHz:
Fvco=429.692523, C=6, M=8, K=0.593850(2550568294) -> Fpix=71.615420
Read scaler coefficients
   phase H-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase H-01:   -4, 127,   5,   0
   phase H-02:   -6, 123,  12,  -1
   phase H-03:   -8, 118,  20,  -2
   phase H-04:   -9, 111,  29,  -3
   phase H-05:   -9, 102,  39,  -4
   phase H-06:   -9,  93,  50,  -6
   phase H-07:   -9,  83,  61,  -7
   phase H-08:   -8,  72,  72,  -8
   phase H-09:   -7,  61,  83,  -9
   phase H-10:   -6,  50,  93,  -9
   phase H-11:   -4,  39, 102,  -9
   phase H-12:   -3,  29, 111,  -9
   phase H-13:   -2,  20, 118,  -8
   phase H-14:   -1,  12, 123,  -6
   phase H-15:    0,   5, 127,  -4
   phase V-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase V-01:    0, 127,   0,   0
   phase V-02:    0, 126,   0,   0
   phase V-03:    0, 123,   1,   0
   phase V-04:    0, 119,   2,   0
   phase V-05:    0, 113,   6,   0
   phase V-06:    0, 103,  14,   0
   phase V-07:    0,  85,  31,   0
   phase V-08:    0,  58,  58,   0
   phase V-09:    0,  31,  85,   0
   phase V-10:    0,  14, 103,   0
   phase V-11:    0,   6, 113,   0
   phase V-12:    0,   2, 119,   0
   phase V-13:    0,   1, 123,   0
   phase V-14:    0,   0, 126,   0
   phase V-15:    0,   0, 127,   0
Send HDMI parameters:
video: 1366, 70, 143, 213, 768, 3, 3, 24,
PLL: 0x4, 0x404, 0x3, 0x10000, 0x5, 0x303, 0x9, 0x2, 0x8, 0x7, 0x7, 0x98069566,
sending keymap: 0
INFO: Video resolution: 320 x 284, fHorz = 15.6KHz, fVert = 50.1Hz, fPix = 7.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1996799, HDMI = 1996798

Amiga core
==========

INFO: Video resolution: 377 x 287, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 7.17MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981377, HDMI = 1672533
VMODE: resolution: 1508 x 287, mode: 0
VMODE: set positions: [216-4020, 17-4042]
Adjust VSync(2).
Calculate PLL for 72.1728 MHz:
Fvco=433.037024, C=6, M=8, K=0.660740(2837858774) -> Fpix=72.172837
Read scaler coefficients
   phase H-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase H-01:    0, 127,   1,   0
   phase H-02:    0, 126,   2,   0
   phase H-03:    0, 124,   4,   0
   phase H-04:    0, 120,   8,   0
   phase H-05:    0, 114,  14,   0
   phase H-06:    0, 102,  26,   0
   phase H-07:    0,  85,  43,   0
   phase H-08:    0,  64,  64,   0
   phase H-09:    0,  43,  85,   0
   phase H-10:    0,  26, 102,   0
   phase H-11:    0,  14, 114,   0
   phase H-12:    0,   8, 120,   0
   phase H-13:    0,   4, 124,   0
   phase H-14:    0,   2, 126,   0
   phase H-15:    0,   1, 127,   0
   phase V-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase V-01:    0, 127,   0,   0
   phase V-02:    0, 126,   0,   0
   phase V-03:    0, 123,   1,   0
   phase V-04:    0, 119,   2,   0
   phase V-05:    0, 113,   6,   0
   phase V-06:    0, 103,  14,   0
   phase V-07:    0,  85,  31,   0
   phase V-08:    0,  58,  58,   0
   phase V-09:    0,  31,  85,   0
   phase V-10:    0,  14, 103,   0
   phase V-11:    0,   6, 113,   0
   phase V-12:    0,   2, 119,   0
   phase V-13:    0,   1, 123,   0
   phase V-14:    0,   0, 126,   0
   phase V-15:    0,   0, 127,   0
Send HDMI parameters:
video: 1366, 70, 143, 213, 768, 3, 3, 24,
PLL: 0x4, 0x404, 0x3, 0x10000, 0x5, 0x303, 0x9, 0x2, 0x8, 0x7, 0x7, 0xA92649D6,
sending keymap: 0
INFO: Video resolution: 304 x 216, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 7.17MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981378, HDMI = 1981376
INFO: Video resolution: 608 x 216, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 14.34MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981378, HDMI = 1981376
VMODE: resolution: 1508 x 287, mode: 1
VMODE: set positions: [80-0, 0-0]
Adjust VSync(2).
Calculate PLL for 72.1728 MHz:
Fvco=433.036806, C=6, M=8, K=0.660736(2837840000) -> Fpix=72.172801
Read scaler coefficients
   phase H-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase H-01:    0, 127,   1,   0
   phase H-02:    0, 126,   2,   0
   phase H-03:    0, 124,   4,   0
   phase H-04:    0, 120,   8,   0
   phase H-05:    0, 114,  14,   0
   phase H-06:    0, 102,  26,   0
   phase H-07:    0,  85,  43,   0
   phase H-08:    0,  64,  64,   0
   phase H-09:    0,  43,  85,   0
   phase H-10:    0,  26, 102,   0
   phase H-11:    0,  14, 114,   0
   phase H-12:    0,   8, 120,   0
   phase H-13:    0,   4, 124,   0
   phase H-14:    0,   2, 126,   0
   phase H-15:    0,   1, 127,   0
   phase V-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase V-01:    0, 127,   0,   0
   phase V-02:    0, 126,   0,   0
   phase V-03:    0, 123,   1,   0
   phase V-04:    0, 119,   2,   0
   phase V-05:    0, 113,   6,   0
   phase V-06:    0, 103,  14,   0
   phase V-07:    0,  85,  31,   0
   phase V-08:    0,  58,  58,   0
   phase V-09:    0,  31,  85,   0
   phase V-10:    0,  14, 103,   0
   phase V-11:    0,   6, 113,   0
   phase V-12:    0,   2, 119,   0
   phase V-13:    0,   1, 123,   0
   phase V-14:    0,   0, 126,   0
   phase V-15:    0,   0, 127,   0
Send HDMI parameters:
video: 1366, 70, 143, 213, 768, 3, 3, 24,
PLL: 0x4, 0x404, 0x3, 0x10000, 0x5, 0x303, 0x9, 0x2, 0x8, 0x7, 0x7, 0xA9260080,
sending keymap: 0
INFO: Video resolution: 714 x 287, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 14.34MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981377, HDMI = 1981377
FileLoad(open) File:/media/fat/config/MINIMIG_input_046d_c534.map, error: -1.
FileLoad(open) File:/media/fat/config/input_046d_c534.map, error: -1.
FileLoad(open) File:/media/fat/config/input_046d_c534.map, error: -1.
FileLoad(open) File:/media/fat/config/kbd_046d_c534.map, error: -1.
INFO: Video resolution: 357 x 287, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 7.17MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981377, HDMI = 1981377
VMODE: resolution: 1508 x 287, mode: 0
VMODE: set positions: [216-4020, 17-4042]
Adjust VSync(2).
Calculate PLL for 72.1728 MHz:
Fvco=433.037024, C=6, M=8, K=0.660740(2837858774) -> Fpix=72.172837
Read scaler coefficients
   phase H-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase H-01:    0, 127,   1,   0
   phase H-02:    0, 126,   2,   0
   phase H-03:    0, 124,   4,   0
   phase H-04:    0, 120,   8,   0
   phase H-05:    0, 114,  14,   0
   phase H-06:    0, 102,  26,   0
   phase H-07:    0,  85,  43,   0
   phase H-08:    0,  64,  64,   0
   phase H-09:    0,  43,  85,   0
   phase H-10:    0,  26, 102,   0
   phase H-11:    0,  14, 114,   0
   phase H-12:    0,   8, 120,   0
   phase H-13:    0,   4, 124,   0
   phase H-14:    0,   2, 126,   0
   phase H-15:    0,   1, 127,   0
   phase V-00:    0, 128,   0,   0
   phase V-01:    0, 127,   0,   0
   phase V-02:    0, 126,   0,   0
   phase V-03:    0, 123,   1,   0
   phase V-04:    0, 119,   2,   0
   phase V-05:    0, 113,   6,   0
   phase V-06:    0, 103,  14,   0
   phase V-07:    0,  85,  31,   0
   phase V-08:    0,  58,  58,   0
   phase V-09:    0,  31,  85,   0
   phase V-10:    0,  14, 103,   0
   phase V-11:    0,   6, 113,   0
   phase V-12:    0,   2, 119,   0
   phase V-13:    0,   1, 123,   0
   phase V-14:    0,   0, 126,   0
   phase V-15:    0,   0, 127,   0
Send HDMI parameters:
video: 1366, 70, 143, 213, 768, 3, 3, 24,
PLL: 0x4, 0x404, 0x3, 0x10000, 0x5, 0x303, 0x9, 0x2, 0x8, 0x7, 0x7, 0xA92649D6,
sending keymap: 0
INFO: Video resolution: 304 x 216, fHorz = 15.8KHz, fVert = 50.5Hz, fPix = 7.17MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1981378, HDMI = 1981376






As you can see, they all use different fVert frequencies, but only the C64 core shows the problem. As an important hint: in NTSC mode, the C64 core hiccups are still present.
So my conclusion is that it's not obeying vsync_adjust OR something is wrong with the core itself internally.

Any smooth scrolling sequence (like Remember cracktros with endless smooth scrolling text) is good to see the hiccup.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby slingshot » Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:15 pm

Experimented further, seems the 6526 has a bug in Timer B, which explains why it shows some failure with VICE tests. But it's not important to implement this bug, I think.
Turbo Outrun can be make better with tweaking not the interrupt firing, but the clearing. It causes less test failures, but still not perfect.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:46 am

vanfanel wrote:INFO: Video resolution: 370 x 280, fHorz = 15.9KHz, fVert = 50.9Hz, fPix = 8.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1965599, HDMI = 1965598

it means vsync_adjust=1 works. So, something wrong inside the core.
In which game you see the scroll problem?

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: C64 Core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:31 am

Sorgelig wrote:
vanfanel wrote:INFO: Video resolution: 370 x 280, fHorz = 15.9KHz, fVert = 50.9Hz, fPix = 8.00MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1965599, HDMI = 1965598

it means vsync_adjust=1 works. So, something wrong inside the core.
In which game you see the scroll problem?


Any game with infinite smooth scrolling will do. For example, the "Remember" cracktro in this one (see attachment), with fine-scrolling text will do.
You don't need to enter the game, just look at the cracktro scrolling text, and you will see a hiccup every 25 seconds or so.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:14 am

I think the best way to detect if it's HDMI specific issue or not - check the VGA output.
If you will see this problem on VGA then the problem is in core. If you won't see the problem on VGA then something wrong in the VGA->HDMI code.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: C64 Core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:35 am

Sorgelig wrote:I think the best way to detect if it's HDMI specific issue or not - check the VGA output.
If you will see this problem on VGA then the problem is in core. If you won't see the problem on VGA then something wrong in the VGA->HDMI code.


Ok, tested VGA output, and there are no hiccups whatsoever, in case that helps. The problem seems to be HDMI-only!

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby bitfan2011 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:11 am

BTW THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS CORE
IT'S SO FUN TO REVISIT THE C64 AFTER SO MANY YEARS, AND THE A/V IS SO CLEAN

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 669
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: C64 Core

Postby DrOG » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:01 am

bitfan2011 wrote:...AND THE A/V IS SO CLEAN

Yes, in case of C64 FPGA cores the video out has much higher quality compared to the original hardware. The explanation is that the genuine C64 has only composite/S-video outputs, and does not have separated RGB lines! Of course if you used the RF modulator (aerial out) back in the days, the difference is even higher...

In case of some other computers, i.e. Amiga<->Minimig, the disparity is not so huge, as they have been used RGB output in their glory days as well...

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby bitfan2011 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:12 am

DrOG wrote:
bitfan2011 wrote:...AND THE A/V IS SO CLEAN

Yes, in case of C64 FPGA cores the video out has much higher quality compared to the original hardware. The explanation is that the genuine C64 has only composite/S-video outputs, and does not have separated RGB lines! Of course if you used the RF modulator (aerial out) back in the days, the difference is even higher...

In case of some other computers, i.e. Amiga<->Minimig, the disparity is not so huge, as they have been used RGB output in their glory days as well...


it reminds me of laserdisk and how it was limited internally to s-video output?

anyway, the C64 video is super slick when i have it running on 1600x1200 integer 5x scale over VGA (OSSC is doing the multiplying and scanlines)
some people find this 5x look to be too sharp, but IMO it's pretty great. there's something about correct scanlines that really makes older games gel. i don't even care about fancy filters w/ CRT-style "pixels", convex distortion, etc.. i've been a designer for ages now, and scanlines are some basic form of eyecandy that maybe defies explanation.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:46 am

vanfanel wrote:Any game with infinite smooth scrolling will do. For example, the "Remember" cracktro in this one (see attachment), with fine-scrolling text will do.
You don't need to enter the game, just look at the cracktro scrolling text, and you will see a hiccup every 25 seconds or so.

I've stared to scroller long time and didn't notice any hiccups in scrolling. used vsync_adjust=1 (2 is buggy currently).

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: C64 Core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:42 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
vanfanel wrote:Any game with infinite smooth scrolling will do. For example, the "Remember" cracktro in this one (see attachment), with fine-scrolling text will do.
You don't need to enter the game, just look at the cracktro scrolling text, and you will see a hiccup every 25 seconds or so.

I've stared to scroller long time and didn't notice any hiccups in scrolling. used vsync_adjust=1 (2 is buggy currently).


I have tried vsync_adjust=1 too, and the exact same hiccup is present on this core.
Well, if you can't reproduce it, I suppose it can't be fixed. Thanks for taking the time to look into it, Sorgelig!

djsquare
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby djsquare » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:35 pm

With this new update, it's time to blast some stereo sid jams this weekend. :cheers:

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: C64 Core

Postby vanfanel » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:26 pm

djsquare wrote:With this new update, it's time to blast some stereo sid jams this weekend. :cheers:


Any suggestion for this dual-SID crazy stuff? A single SID can blow me away... I need to hear what's 2 SIDs like!!

Also, "Edge of Disgrace" glitches around the half of the first part.

Flausch
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: C64 Core

Postby Flausch » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:49 pm

vanfanel wrote:Any suggestion for this dual-SID crazy stuff? A single SID can blow me away... I need to hear what's 2 SIDs like!!


The current implementation is not ready for real dual SID stuff, because it is not possible to access each SID at different adresses. Currently both SIDs use the same adress, therefore playing the same voices.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:02 pm

Flausch wrote:
vanfanel wrote:Any suggestion for this dual-SID crazy stuff? A single SID can blow me away... I need to hear what's 2 SIDs like!!


The current implementation is not ready for real dual SID stuff, because it is not possible to access each SID at different adresses. Currently both SIDs use the same adress, therefore playing the same voices.

You tell it like it's you implemented it.
How about set the right SID to DE00 address?

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby bitfan2011 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:41 pm

djsquare wrote:With this new update, it's time to blast some stereo sid jams this weekend. :cheers:

where does one find demos of the SID being maxed out?

SuperBabyHix
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:36 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby SuperBabyHix » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:54 pm

bitfan2011 wrote:where does one find demos of the SID being maxed out?


I don't know anything about dual-SID stuff, but I've always thought the music in the demos by Shape were really good. http://www.pouet.net/groups.php?which=635&order=thumbup

User avatar
laserdisc
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 6:47 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby laserdisc » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:57 pm

bitfan2011 wrote:
djsquare wrote:With this new update, it's time to blast some stereo sid jams this weekend. :cheers:

where does one find demos of the SID being maxed out?


I tell ya, when I read the change log, I let out a "eeee". My goto demo to test Stereo SID implementations is...
https://markus-klein-artwork.de/sid/bla ... itles.html

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:22 am

laserdisc wrote:I tell ya, when I read the change log, I let out a "eeee". My goto demo to test Stereo SID implementations is...
https://markus-klein-artwork.de/sid/bla ... itles.html

Current implementation is DE00 for second SID.
Probably I need to add more address options.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:27 am

here are player, composer and some music for Stereo SID:
https://www.lyonlabs.org/commodore/stereo-sid/

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby BBond007 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:00 am

Sorgelig wrote:here are player, composer and some music for Stereo SID:
https://www.lyonlabs.org/commodore/stereo-sid/


Thanks for the dual SID update. I always wanted a dual SID C=64

StereoPlayer 10.3 worked well for me :)

The Blade Runner demo did not sound right I presume because the SID was at the wrong address.

Do you think it would be possible to map the C=64 USER port to serial UART? It would be cool to use the TCP/MODEM option. C=64 was the first computer I had a modem for.

Thanks!


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: antoniovillena, phillymost, ragnar76 and 5 guests