Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby mOdmate » Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:07 pm

Much appreciated, thank you! :-D

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:52 am

A cover of one of the most relaxing PC Engine tunes of all - the end theme to PC Genjin (Bonk's Adventure).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby matt » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:16 pm

Dreamy.

Another relevant fact about ST & PCE crossover is that HUDSON looked into using the M68000 for the PCE, going so far as to make some hardware and games, but eventually went with their own custom 8-bit CPU.

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby dma » Wed Jan 09, 2019 1:37 pm

Then resulting in the most advanced 8bit gaming system, being one the of latest. :)

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby smoston » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:05 pm

This is cool.

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:04 am

Thanks smoston :)

Update: v0.46. Now has better copy/paste.

1) Notes, effects, and volumes can be pasted between Channels 1 to 6 and in any pattern
2) Tone/noise parameters are preserved between Channels 1 to 3
3) Wave parameters are preserved between Channels 4 to 6
4) Detune parameters are preserved only within their respective channel
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby dma » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:54 am

Here is my fast made test track shared.
Imaginary track for a fantasy shooter level, quite PCE sounding indeed. ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby NGF » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:07 pm

junosix wrote:Nemesis "Challenger" theme cover.


Very PCEngineish! :)
Have played alot PCE lately and love the sound.
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:46 pm

dma wrote:Here is my fast made test track shared.
Imaginary track for a fantasy shooter level, quite PCE sounding indeed. ;)

:D Ah man, that's magic!
NGF wrote:Have played alot PCE lately and love the sound.

Same. Not sure why it is but the level of musicality is consistently high amongst all the games when you compare it to the other consoles of the day too.

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:15 am

Fantasy Shooter Level 2...

(and a very minor update - high-contrast mode for easier viewing on composite/RF - press spacebar on Operations page, plus a couple of other little fixes).

@dma - would it be okay for me to put FAERIE in the TC folder as a demo tune in the next update and credit you in the manual?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby dma » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:34 am

@junosix : Sweet track! A good and inspired musician you are. :)
Never did music on ST YM before? Not been interested on such composition?

No problem for including my test track as demo track.
Cool if it showcases the soft enough for such a consideration. ;)

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:26 pm

Thanks :) Haven't done any YM stuff until now, went from Quartet back in the day to Octalyser then onto MadTracker 2 for more recent stuff

I think Faerie's ace (it's crying out for a longer version with a full-on gear-change of key after its second loop I reckon :) ), I'd be delighted to include it.

karbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:27 am

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby karbo » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:49 pm

hi! cool tracker, and i want to make 1-2 track in this. i do not have real atari, and in my hatari and steem sounds like sht.

https://youtu.be/Hnb1cKJC-wM

this buggy sound only in turbochip tracker. MYM playing good.

what i must do for cool sound in emulators?

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby nativ » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:20 am

Hi Junosix :)

what screen resolutions does the editor support?

might have a bit more time for atari stuff at the moment

cheers

/nativ
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:30 am

Yo man!

Medium resolution only at the moment. Might do a high res one at some point but that won't be for ages.

karbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:27 am

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby karbo » Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:00 am

test

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby nativ » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:17 am

kool beeeeeeeanz!

sounds great...

something I always wanted with these chip sound makers is a 'burn to sample' feature so I can reload any sound patches into a tracker possibly..

will try get a screen setup to have a play.

o/
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby evil » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:43 pm

karbo wrote:hi! cool tracker, and i want to make 1-2 track in this. i do not have real atari, and in my hatari and steem sounds like sht.

https://youtu.be/Hnb1cKJC-wM

this buggy sound only in turbochip tracker. MYM playing good.

what i must do for cool sound in emulators?


It sounds like Turbochip require 50 Hz refresh, so either change to a PAL region TOS file or download a program to change to 50 Hz before launching TC.

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby matt » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:47 am

evil wrote:
karbo wrote:hi! cool tracker, and i want to make 1-2 track in this. i do not have real atari, and in my hatari and steem sounds like sht.

https://youtu.be/Hnb1cKJC-wM

this buggy sound only in turbochip tracker. MYM playing good.

what i must do for cool sound in emulators?


It sounds like Turbochip require 50 Hz refresh, so either change to a PAL region TOS file or download a program to change to 50 Hz before launching TC.

50Hz was default in my TOS but I still got the garbled sound.

So, I set frameskip to 1 and everything sounds sweet.

There's probably a better solution, but this ws good enough for me.

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby dma » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:49 am

Well it sounds like your computer maybe too slow then ?
You're not running Hatari as emulating a Falcon maybe ?

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby junosix » Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:06 pm

Hi karbo,

For some reason your posts weren't showing up until now! Sorry I couldn't see them before.

TC does need 50Hz to run. I've updated it so that it sets the sync mode to 50Hz (then sets it back to whatever it was before upon quitting). Couple of little updates too, still had a ghost notes issue so have sorted that, and I've made a small change to the copy pattern (F6) key which now also sets the end marker to the bottom of the pattern, so it's easy to pick up a whole channel and paste it into another without having to move down to the bottom and set the end marker.

matt - get a new Mac! :P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby Orion_ » Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:32 pm

matt wrote:Another relevant fact about ST & PCE crossover is that HUDSON looked into using the M68000 for the PCE, going so far as to make some hardware and games, but eventually went with their own custom 8-bit CPU.

Do you have source of that ?
If it's true, it was a huge mistake imo, because the 6502 on the PC Engine is horrible to code compared to the 68000, you have to use bank switching to access ram and rom, doing 16bits computation is a pain in the ass, I would so much want to make a game for this console but the 6502 is too painful for my brain.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby matt » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:02 pm

Orion_ wrote:
matt wrote:Another relevant fact about ST & PCE crossover is that HUDSON looked into using the M68000 for the PCE, going so far as to make some hardware and games, but eventually went with their own custom 8-bit CPU.

Do you have source of that ?
If it's true, it was a huge mistake imo, because the 6502 on the PC Engine is horrible to code compared to the 68000, you have to use bank switching to access ram and rom, doing 16bits computation is a pain in the ass, I would so much want to make a game for this console but the 6502 is too painful for my brain.

Yes, here is the source. If this is a scoop it's worth me citing properly.

BEEP 1988-07, page 45
https://retrocdn.net/File:Beep_1988-07.pdf
quoting
ハドソン 技術本部長 中本伸一氏
Shinichi Nakamoto, head of Hudson Technology Division

Beep_1988-07_page-45_M68000-half.jpg

The exact part is in the middle.

The odd line breaks help automatic translation if you want to try yourself.
68000より
速い(!)CPU、
Hu6280

まず、従来のコア構想にあったパソコンとの接続がなくなったことに触れておこう。早い話が、パソコンに比べてPCエンジンの処理速度が速すぎて、やってみたらあんまりメリットがなかったってことなんだ
(初期のコア構想に挙げられた項目は、すべて試作して実際におもしろいかどうかを確かめている)。
ハドソンの中本さんによれば、PCエンジンの開発中は、あの68000を使った実験機とゲームも試作したけど
(こりゃスクープだぜ)
重たすぎて、結局ゲームでよく使われるフラグジャンプ
(条件によって、特定のルーチンに飛ぶ)
機能を強化したカスタムCPUのHu6280を作ったんだそうだ。
その結果、中味はシンプルな6502
(AppleⅡで使われている)
というCPUに近づいたけど、なにせクロックがやたら速い
(推定7MHz。ファミコンも6502系のカスタムチップだけど1.75MHz)
のでヘタな16ビットマシンよりも高速になったってワケ。
したがってパソコンが進化しないかぎり、この点についてはおあずけなのだが、以下のコア構想を見てゆくと、そんなの待ってる間にPCエンジンの天下になりそうな気配だゾ。

machine translation:
From 68000
Fast (!) CPU,
Hu 6280

First of all, let's mention that there is no longer a connection with the PC conforming to the conventional core concept. The early story is that the processing speed of the PC engine is too fast compared with the personal computer, and it seems that there was not much benefit when trying
(All the items listed in the initial core concept are prototyped to see if they are actually interesting).
According to Hudson's Nakamoto san, while developing the PC engine, I tried making experimental machines and games using that 68000
(This is a scoop)
Too much heaviness, flag jump commonly used eventually in the game
(Depending on the condition, it jumps to a specific routine)
It seems he made a custom CPU Hu 6280 with enhanced functions.
As a result, the contents are simple 6502
(Used in Apple II)
I came close to the CPU that, but the clock is quick and fast
(Estimated 7 MHz.NES is also a 6502 series custom chip but 1.75 MHz)
Because different reasons I was faster than the poor 16-bit machines.
Therefore, unless the personal computer evolves, this is a misunderstanding, but as you look at the core concept below, it seems that PC engines are likely to be in the middle while waiting for that.

8)

junosix wrote:matt - get a new Mac! :P

3 GHz Intel Core i7 + 8GB RAM no longer enough :(

matt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby dma » Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:39 am

matt wrote:
junosix wrote:matt - get a new Mac! :P
3 GHz Intel Core i7 + 8GB RAM no longer enough :(

Weird i got a PC with lower specs than this, and running Hatari on it in STe mode doesn't give me slowdowns (but gives plenty in Falcon emulation mode...).
Maybe your setup got some hungry background programs or OS tasks/services with higher priorities.

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Turbochip - 7-channel YM+DMA replay

Postby matt » Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:54 pm

The odd thing is that my Mac shows < 20% total CPU usage when Hatari is stuttering. Still, must be something on my setup.

The stuttering does seem to settle down eventually after the first screen of playback.


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests