PC Engine core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: PC Engine core

Postby BBond007 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:05 am

rittwage wrote:Sorry, but released where? :)


https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/TurboGr ... r/releases

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby seastalker » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:19 pm

I saw this core played with on YT. The Mist core is also good but the menu could use some updating. Is anyone working on a Mist version of this core? Theoretically, would the SuperGrafx part be possible on the Mist?

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: PC Engine core

Postby vanfanel » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:32 pm

Hi there!

This core, even the latest release, has some problems with Pac-Land:
-A glitched line on the top of the screen on Pan-Land.
-Wrong music percussion in Pac-Land. Easy to spot if you just start a game and listen to the music vs the real thing.

Since this is one of the system's basic games and I know the game on real HW pretty well, I thought it would be good idea to report.
Last edited by vanfanel on Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

witchmaster
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: PC Engine core

Postby witchmaster » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:07 pm

Other cores seem to remember the recent folder for choosing roms but this core will always show the root of the drive when going to the rom select screen. Should the rom folder be named something specific (I usually name them the same as the core) or is this a bug in the core?

User avatar
thgill
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: PC Engine core

Postby thgill » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:32 pm

Use TGFX16 for the folder.

This is mentioned on the github in the readme.
Like retro computers, game consoles and other obsolete junk? Check out Todd's Nerd Cave on YouTube

witchmaster
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: PC Engine core

Postby witchmaster » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:35 pm

thgill wrote:Use TGFX16 for the folder.

This is mentioned on the github in the readme.

Ok, of course, thanks! :)

beermonkey
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:02 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby beermonkey » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:08 am

Sometimes after playing a couple of games of Devil's Crush I notice that the whites have disappeared from the eyes in the title screen / attract mode.

Release 20181118.

Image

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby SegaMan » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:20 pm

Love this Core!
Great work!

The only game that dont run (black screen) in my set is DAIMAKAIMURA.

Can anybody confirm that?

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby hyperterminal » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:48 pm

SegaMan wrote:Love this Core!The only game that dont run (black screen) in my set is DAIMAKAIMURA.

This is a SuperGrafx game.

From the ReadMe:
Use SGX file extension for SuperGrafx games.

HouseOfTheEd
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:16 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby HouseOfTheEd » Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:42 pm

I just got the raphnet technologies PC Engine to USB adapter. I was able to use the PC Engine Multitap with two controllers hooked up to it after enabling Multitap in the OSD and setting the adapter to 2 player mode in the raphnet adapter manager software. 5 player support for Bomberman '94 would be amazing :D

Recoil
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:36 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Recoil » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:45 pm

Hi can't figure out how to use SGX file extension for SuperGrafx games to run. Can someone give some info on how to get supergrafx to run. Thanks

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby SegaMan » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:05 am

If you have .pce files rename it to .sgx for SuperGrafx games.

Recoil
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:36 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Recoil » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:12 pm

Thanks, I'll try it

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Zorlac » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:48 pm

I would like to report a bug found via the 240p test suite (specifically the 512 horizontal resolution test). The core is cutting off the right side column. This has been confirmed by another user besides myself. All other tests show everything (nothing hidden by overscan).

Here is the 240p test suite:
http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php?titl ... o_Grafx-16

Luu
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:26 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Luu » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:36 pm

There's some graphics glitch in "Wonder Momo" right after the first Act:

IMG_4048.JPG

She's supposed to open and close the eyes. Instead the image looks like this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4889
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:37 pm

Dali edition :)

strogen
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:49 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby strogen » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:18 am

I have a problem with TG16 game "Andre Panza Kick Boxing". During a match I get corrupt graphics, it happens all over the screen.

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Zorlac » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:17 pm

The emulator MagicEngine allows overclocking to help with slow-down, etc.
Could overclocking be implemented for this core in MISTER?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4889
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: PC Engine core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:18 am

I don't like the idea of overclocking the console. Games are written to standard console speed.
I didn't notice any slowdowns in games. It's possible emulators may slowdown on complex scenes, but it's not the case with FPGA.

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby SegaMan » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:36 am

There are many games on many consoles with slowdowns.
But the games where designed for this hardware limitation.

I never used CPU acceleration on emulation because i want to play the games like they where then.

Sure maybe it is nice to have but not really an important option in my view.

cloudd
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:40 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby cloudd » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:48 pm

Does anyone else have an interest in adding add 2 separate turbo fire buttons for button "I" & "II"?

This feature currently exist in other emulators. The turbo fire buttons are mapped to X & Y on Xbox controllers. The reason I ask is that even though there is a way to initiate turbo fire for button "I" and "II" at the moment it is not easy to switch turbo fire on and off in the middle of game play. There are many games that I played on the actual Turbo Grafx and PC engine that I enabled and disabled turbo fire while playing the game.

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: PC Engine core

Postby albconde » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:15 pm

cloudd wrote:Does anyone else have an interest in adding add 2 separate turbo fire buttons for button "I" & "II"?


It's already implemented .You can use the option "Button/key remap from for game" in osd to remap the fire buttons ( two button with the same action ), and apply auto fire in only one of the buttons, this work in all cores .

cloudd
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:40 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby cloudd » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:50 pm

It's already implemented .You can use the option "Button/key remap from for game" in osd to remap the fire buttons ( two button with the same action ), and apply auto fire in only one of the buttons, this work in all cores .


Amazing! I did not understand that I could do that.

Thank you :D

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: PC Engine core

Postby JamesF » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:00 pm

Thank you, that helped me too.
Though you first press the destination key then the source key,, reverse from intuition. :)

cloudd
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:40 pm

Re: PC Engine core

Postby cloudd » Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:00 am

Thank you, that helped me too.
Though you first press the destination key then the source key,, reverse from intuition. :)


I agree this is REVERSE FROM INTUITION. It should be the source button and then the destination button. Still a sweet additional option.


Is there anyway to save this configuration for the the core? If I “save settings” and reboot the mister I lose the button remapping.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests