ROM port Ethernet adapter

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:03 am

....and a new one
rtl8012d.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:15 pm

Seem identical performance compared to the last driver.
Sends OK but NO Receive.
You can make many version in a pack if you want ;)
I will make soon a video.log.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:42 am

OK, thanks!
Yes please send me the video log, although it's not working I'd like to see if there were any improvement on the readings that were failing during the driver loading.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Wed Feb 28, 2018 8:18 pm

Sorry for the wait, I forgot to recharge the battery :oops:

http://falcon060.free.fr/video/latest-driverv2-060.3gp

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:47 am

It didn't improved the readings during the driver's loading :-/

Now I've attached two drivers, version a and b, I hope they make some difference, I'm running out of ideas ;-)

rtl8012a.zip

rtl8012b.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:21 am

I tested both drivers and it doesn't work.

I tried to change the test protocol to see if I could help you a bit more.
Arrived on the desktop I disabled the cache of 68060 via a CPX, ping the internet box and it works perfectly!
Maybe it can give you an indication and another way to explore ?

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:18 am

Xerus wrote:I tested both drivers and it doesn't work.

I tried to change the test protocol to see if I could help you a bit more.
Arrived on the desktop I disabled the cache of 68060 via a CPX, ping the internet box and it works perfectly!
Maybe it can give you an indication and another way to explore ?

OK! Thanks for that hint
Yesterday I was just thinking about caches as a possible reason of the failure, but DMA is not involved so I discarded it, so I guess it works because code execution slows down with caches off.

I know it's boring but could you send me please the video logs of the last two drivers, just the booting sequence would be enough. Thanks a lot!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby joska » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:48 am

The original driver works on the Afterburner (68040) with caches enabled. So it's almost certainly a question of execution speed.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:25 am


Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:57 am

Hi Xerus! I didn't have time during the weekend to work on this.
Video for driver b in the last post seems corrupted, I can't view it.
Could you please make a video during boot while driver is loading with caches turned off? only the booting sequence I don't need ping part.

Thank you!

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:48 pm

Hi Galvez :)
Sorry for the corrupted file, probably a problem of transfer; it's fixed now:
http://falcon060.free.fr/video/driver_b.3gp

For your new test I used another program in AUTO to disable the cache during Boot.
I also put a program called Falcdate to see what happens.
Strangely it doesn't work at boot with cache off!
But when I'm on the desktop with the cache disabled with a CPX, it works normally, he finds the server to change time (see last link).

http://falcon060.free.fr/video/driver_b ... lcdate.3gp
http://falcon060.free.fr/video/driver_b ... lcdate.3gp

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:42 pm

Thanks for the videos!
In the first video where you test Falcdate with caches on (driver_b-060-cache_on-falcdate.3gp), at the end it's working when it's run from the desktop with caches enable, isn't it?

So ping doesn't work but Falcdate does (but only from desktop)......weird

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:01 am

Galvez wrote:In the first video where you test Falcdate with caches on (driver_b-060-cache_on-falcdate.3gp), at the end it's working when it's run from the desktop with caches enable, isn't it?

So ping doesn't work but Falcdate does (but only from desktop)......weird

No, we must have obligatory the cache off for that Falcdate works.
Si Falcdate works, the ping too and vice versa.
The weird thing is Falcdate doesn't work with cache off during the boot, only on desktop (but with cache off via CPX).
I use cacheoff.prg (includ in tos060.lzh), I suppose it works correctly.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:12 am

Xerus wrote:
Galvez wrote:So ping doesn't work but Falcdate does (but only from desktop)......weird

No, we must have obligatory the cache off for that Falcdate works.

I still have some doubts, what I see in this video (driver_b-060-cache_on-falcdate.3gp) is.... CACHEOFF.PRG is run from AUTO folder followed by CACHE_ON.PRG, so we are with caches enabled, after MiNT is loaded Falcdate is run and it doesn't work, later finally you arrived to the desktop and a double click on Falcdate is done without turning off the caches and it seems it retrieves some date, (I've never used Falcdate), Is the date shown from the internet?

EDIT: It's very strange than during boot the BogoMIPS value shown is the same when using CACHEOFF.PRG or CACHE_ON.PRG (133.53), I'd have expected this value to be different, the calibration routine reads from memory a variable inside a loop.

When you turn off caches from the CPX and reboot. Does not CT60 TOS keep that configuration?

EDIT2: Nevermind about the different values of BogoMIPS, the variable read from memory is a volatile type so it's never cached, then it makes sense that the value is the same.

EDIT3: I was wrong in EDIT2 a volatile type doesn't guaranties that isn't going to be cached by the processor.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:26 pm

Galvez wrote:(I've never used Falcdate), Is the date shown from the internet?.

Yes

In fact we can save the cache configuration (on or off) with the CPX.
The confusion may be coming from there, I probably saved the CPX in OFF mode, sorry.
Normaly, enabling or disabling the cache with the CPX is only valid on the desktop.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:35 pm

Xerus wrote:In fact we can save the cache configuration (on or off) with the CPX.
The confusion may be coming from there, I probably saved the CPX in OFF mode, sorry.
Normaly, enabling or disabling the cache with the CPX is only valid on the desktop.

I was thinking that the CACHE_ON.PRG would overwrite the CPX saved configuration, but it seems that the caches configuration from the Control Panel is kept in some disk file (perhaps NEWDISK.INF) and loaded after AUTO directory programs are launched.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:56 pm

Xerus wrote:The weird thing is Falcdate doesn't work with cache off during the boot, only on desktop (but with cache off via CPX).
I use cacheoff.prg (includ in tos060.lzh), I suppose it works correctly.

I have now the answer to this, the reason is that MiNT enables again caches while is booting.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:11 am

I've attached a new driver that disable caches for the driver's initialization and restored them when it's finished.
I'm interested in some weird values that are shown during the driver's loading in 060 mode, I'd like to know if with caches off those values change.
Could you please make a video so I can check them?

Thanks!

rtl8012.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:51 pm

Of course:
http://falcon060.free.fr/video/driver07-03-2018.3gp

Yesterday I tested driverb avec cache off juste before the loading of falcadate (thanks to autosort) and it worked at boot.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:57 am

Let's hope this is the one :-)

rtl8012c.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:20 pm

you did it, it woooooooooooooooooorks!
Image

I tested with 060 at 66MHz or 100MHz and same result, I will make a video soon ;)

Congratulations :cheers:

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:38 pm

HAHAHAHAHA....Great!!!
Thank you so much for your help.
Now I'd like to optimize it, because I guess some of the delays I've added to the driver could be removed or could be made shorter.
I'll prepare some modules tomorrow.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:33 pm

Xerus, now I'd like to optimize the driver.
I've compiled 5 modules for optimizing it step by step.
There is no need for new videos. Could you please test them?

Compile for the 060 target instead of the 020-60:
rtl8012ct60_1.zip

Disable debug messages:
rtl8012ct60_2.zip

Remove delay:
rtl8012ct60_3.zip

Remove delay:
rtl8012ct60_4.zip

Remove delay:
rtl8012ct60_5.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:42 am

I tested all the drivers by doing 50 pings for each of them, all worked :)
I can test others if you want :wink:

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:38 am

OK! Thanks!

These I expected to be the last ones.
If version 6 works it's not necessary to test version 7 or 8, please test 9 then.
If version 6 doesn't work and you need to test version 7 and it works skip version 8 and test version 9.
If either version 6, 7 or 8 don't work you can skip version 9.

Use one "nop" instead 1us delay:
rtl8012ct60_6.zip

Use 2 "nops" instead 1 us delay:
rtl8012ct60_7.zip

Use 3 "nops" instead 1us delay:
rtl8012ct60_8.zip

Remove probably unneeded delay:
rtl8012ct60_9.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: didi55 and 11 guests