NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:01 pm

I add a IDE SD card Adapter ...

mega_sd.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:21 pm

Very nice Frank !
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:06 pm

After a bit of a pause, I'm trying to get this controller board working again. I was getting the White Screen of Death (viewtopic.php?f=15&t=27768), but this was down to the CPU not connecting to socket correctly. Now I get the boot screen & desktop loading. However, when I connect the IDE-CF card adapter, I get the boot screen with memory test, then the screen flashes and displays 2 bombs which is a bus error.

Is this due to :-
Socket problem?
CPU problem?
The IDE adapter?
The 40-44 pin adapter?
Something else?

Thanks for any advice!

Image

Image

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:33 pm

Without the card does the STE work correctly ?

Given there's screen corruption, I suspect something on the CPU isn't connecting. Do you have a multimeter ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:58 pm

alanh wrote:Without the card does the STE work correctly ?

I have to pull the CF card and IDE adapter for it to work. it works ok with the IDE controller board.
alanh wrote:Given there's screen corruption, I suspect something on the CPU isn't connecting. Do you have a multimeter ?

Yes I do.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:07 pm

wyerd wrote:
alanh wrote:Without the card does the STE work correctly ?

I have to pull the CF card and IDE adapter for it to work. it works ok with the IDE controller board.
alanh wrote:Given there's screen corruption, I suspect something on the CPU isn't connecting. Do you have a multimeter ?

Yes I do.


A little confused with the above. Does it work "without" the IDE board, or with the IDE board but without the "CF card" ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:11 pm

It works with the IDE Controller board, but as soon as I connect the IDE CF adapter card and CF card, I get the 2 bombs.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:16 pm

If you hold down the ALT key, it should boot to the desktop. Then you could try loading the HD software.

It may be trying to boot from the disk which has corrupt boot sectors and needs partitioning the Atari way.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:21 pm

I still get the 2 bombs when I hold the Alt key. To check, this is the key to the left of the space bar.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:28 pm

You need to press it pretty quickly after terminating the memory test.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:03 am

I pressed it as quickly as I could, bit I still get the 2 bombs. It also happens if I remove the CF card from the IDE-CF adapter.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:27 am

A little confused, as I thought you said it worked with the IDE controller but without the CF card a few comments back......

So if the IDE controller is removed completely does it boot to the desktop ?
Last edited by alanh on Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:34 am, edited 2 times in total.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:31 am

If it does, then we need to make sure each pin on the IDE board is making contact with the CPU pin.

It's easiest to do this with the STE motherboard completely removed, and then use a multimeter to check the pins on the top of the IDE board make contact underneath the CPU area of the motherboard.

I'm not sure if there's a diagram of the Atari's CPU socket pinout from underneath, but you might want to verify each pin first with the CPU and IDE board removed to get the layout. Then reinstall the CPU and IDE board and recheck.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:37 am

Oh, hang on. I think I see what you are saying. You are leaving the CF adapter card installed, but without the CF card ?

If that's right, it could be an issue with the CF card adapter, as the STE should boot to the desktop without a card.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:38 am

Just looked at your IDE CF adapter on that picture. It looks like you don't have pin1 aligned, the CF card adapter looks upside down.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:30 am

I agree, it's upside down. The CF adapter is correctly connected to the 44<->40 pin adapter, but the adapter is connected upside-down to the IDE interface.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:56 pm

I don't quite understand what you guys are saying. Are you saying that the 44-40 pin adapter and the IDE-CF card adapter need to be flipped round? Where is pin 1 on the IDE controller? I thought it was the triangle symbol.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:59 pm

Pin 1 on the IDE interface is at the triangle symbol, which would be on the right on the picture you posted. But pin 1 on the 44<->40 adapter and the CF interface is to the left...
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby crashman » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:00 pm

Yes, you can see a white triangle at the CF adapter, that it's opposed to the one in the IDE adapter.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:33 pm

Once you are setup, you also might want to try getting one of these style adapters which are much smaller and take the power directly from the IDE board.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Female-IDE-Ad ... 5af217e8d3
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:02 pm

Thanks guys. Well spotted! Flipping it over has make it work:-

Image

Image

I'll configure a few partitions and get used to using HDDRIVER before upgrading to the full licence.

alanh wrote:Once you are setup, you also might want to try getting one of these style adapters which are much smaller and take the power directly from the IDE board.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Female-IDE-Ad ... 5af217e8d3


I like that. It's a lot shorter and doesn't need the 44-40 pin adapter either, so won't get in the way of the FDD. Thanks for the heads-up.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:23 pm

I prefer SD-cards myself. CF-cards could be a bit fuzzy on Ataris, especially on the Falcon. But with a good adapter all SD-cards works without problems. Also, SD-cards are much cheaper and can be bought everywhere.

I have used this adapter with many retro computers including an STE with Alan's IDE-interface and it's working extremely well.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:54 pm

I think the problem with CF cards is that the logic is entirely on the card, and if that strays somewhat from standard IDE timings then things can go wrong.

With the SD card adapters, the logic is in the chipset, so it's the same regardless of SD card. Once you know that works, it's likely that any SD card will work with the adapter.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:58 pm

joska wrote:I prefer SD-cards myself. CF-cards could be a bit fuzzy on Ataris, especially on the Falcon. But with a good adapter all SD-cards works without problems. Also, SD-cards are much cheaper and can be bought everywhere.

I have used this adapter with many retro computers including an STE with Alan's IDE-interface and it's working extremely well.

I have quite a few CF cards lying about as my Canon DSLR uses them. The 256MB CF Card in the above photos didn't work with HDDRIVER as it spat out a message "Couldn't read Root sector" when I tried partitioning it. I had a spare 1GB CF card which did partition.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:56 pm

I'm finding HDDRIVER a bit tricky to get to grips with. Once you created a partition and formatted it, how do you designate the drive letters and get it to boot off C? Is there a guide anywhere or a list of steps? Thanks. Getting there :D


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests