NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:47 pm

Hi jimbob005,

Yes, they work on the STFM. Ordering page is here...

http://www.freemint.org/ide/ide.html

Thanks,

Alan.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1758
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:58 pm

My Atari Mega ST with the IDE Interface ...

mega.jpg


... with Alan´s 8MB Alternate Ram Card under the IDE Interface Card.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:44 pm

Nice. Thanks for sharing.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:38 pm

Hi,

I hope to purchase one of these controllers for my STe, but while I wait for Alan to get enough orders to make his production run worthwhile, I need to make sure that the configuration I want to use will work, so I'll appreciate it if an expert eye runs over what I intend to do.

I'll be using the Primary interface to connect to an IDE- CF card adapter which will be the main boot/storage device with a number of partitions. Would this device be ok? http://www.ebay.com/itm/CF-to-44-Pin-Ma ... 4185ea23c1 or something like this if I wanted loads of extra storage http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dual-CF-to-44-P ... 2562dc7eed

I'll also want to remove the FDD as I want to utilize the space by connecting the Secondary interface to one of these http://www.ebay.com/itm/161021221153?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT so I can use the SD card to transfer data between the PC and STe. I think that the SD card adapter would just fit in the vacated space and the open slot used for removing/inserting the sd card.

I'll be running HDDRIVER latest version, yet to be purchased and the current TOS upgraded to 2.06. From memory, I'm going to have to solder in a jumper or two as there are only solder blobs.

I'd be grateful if this could be checked over and let me know if I've missed anything or if something can't be done.

Thanks,
Dave.
Last edited by wyerd on Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby spiny » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:03 pm

If you don't mind modding your case, you can format the CF card in a PC compatable way with HDDriver and stick it in a PC card reader to copy files. Then place it back in the STe and job done :)

This is mine:

Image

otherwise, your other points seem correct, I need to upgrade mine to 2.06 so I can auto-boot, but it's low down on a long list :)

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:10 pm

Looks great, but I don't want to mod the case. There's no problem removing the FDD as far as you know?

Thanks.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby spiny » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:53 pm

Well, I'm not 100% but it might take longer to boot, I think the ST still looks for a floppy bootsector, even if it's going to boot from a hard drive, so could cause issues.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12780
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wongck » Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:34 am

spiny wrote:Well, I'm not 100% but it might take longer to boot, I think the ST still looks for a floppy bootsector, even if it's going to boot from a hard drive, so could cause issues.


Should take longer to boot without a floppy drive.
If you get a HxC floppy emulator, you MAY try to squeeze the CF adapter and HxC in the floppy bay...
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Atari030 » Fri Jan 16, 2015 1:03 am

What about using an external floppy drive and setting the ID to 0? That should work.

User avatar
wyerd
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Upstate NY. USA.

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby wyerd » Fri Jan 16, 2015 1:31 am

I don't mind waiting a minute or two for it to boot without the FDD. I'm used to it as I've be running Windows for years. :lol:

zmiennik
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:18 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby zmiennik » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:35 pm

Hi, I am new to Atari, I am about to buy STe but I'd like to use hdd/cf card to play games from.
I've seen that it is now sold out.
I couldn't somehow send you a PM (maybe insufficient posts number).
When do you plan to have the IDE controllers available to buy again, I am interested in buying one..
Cheers

zmiennik
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:18 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby zmiennik » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:36 pm

sent twice...
Last edited by zmiennik on Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:32 pm

More are on order, due in March.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:25 am

alanh wrote:More are on order, due in March.



Hi there, I purchased the ste ide interface with dual 44 pin headers on it... and well it's been about a year, maybe more since i purchased it...
just wondering, will this work with compact flash straight away? or is there something else that needs to be done... also wondering if you could
point me to the lastest software i would use to set this up from scratch :)

Cheers... :)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:14 am

Just plug in and go. Be good to hear your experience with it.

You can use HDDriver, AHDI, CBHD or Cecile to name a few.

But only HDDriver supports the second port.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:50 pm

Well I finally installed my STE IDE interface. I had it sitting in a drawer for over a year I would say, and finally got the nerves to install it so to speak. :)
The physical install went well. I lined up the pins, pressed in the corners with 4 fingers, and it seated nice and firmly... :) I tested it with the demo version of HDdriver by Uwe Seimet and it partitioned my 4gig card with a 512K partition. So it looks like it's installed :O) correctly. Now I just need to get my hands on AHDI or one of the other free ones... :)

Does anyone have links to those handy? I can definitely try google if not. :)

ok found this:

http://www.dilgar.de/ahdi6061.zip

I will give that a shot... :)

I wont be using the secondary ide port, just the primary with a 4 gig card... :)
thanks again for such a cool product... I may have to purchase a couple more for my mega st 2. :)

Cheers. :)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 5:36 pm

Great. Glad it's all working for you !!
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Sun Feb 01, 2015 7:17 pm

perhaps I should post in another thread... but I have a question:

i used the latest AHDI from the above link, and it allowed me to partition the 4 gig card, ( I just started with 4 500 megs ), it only took a few seconds, and said it would reboot when I exit the program. Which it did... only now all I get are 4 bombs... everything was fine previously... I get the 4 bombs right after the memory check. it's odd...

I have tos 2.6 is there any way to prevent it from attempting to boot from the hard drive? I think perhaps it may be picking up some currupt info and bombing from that?
unfortunately i put the STe back together all screwed in etc. I'm hoping i wont have to take it appart... is there a magic key press combination so it does not access the drive? or do i have to pull the CF out of the computer and format it on pc?

Also is there a way to image the compact flash on a pc, then just put it in the Atari? :)

Please let me know if I should start a new thread... The product is great, and I know it's not the issue... I'm sure it's just me...

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:00 pm

Hold the ALT key to prevent booting from the hard drive. 4 bombs can happen if you were auto booting from the drive before and repartitioned it. Alternatively just leave the machine off for a few minutes which will clear the memory to avoid this.

No need to start a new thread. Keep it all here.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:04 pm

Oh, if you just want to use a free hd driver then I'd suggest CBHD.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:19 pm

Thanks for your help thus far... :)

I think i will start a new thread so as not to associate my inability to get this up and running with your fine product...
please do feel free to assist me there though... any help appreciated. :)

Cheers. :)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:21 pm

If you could keep it in this thread it helps others track everything that goes on here.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:59 pm

Rats, i just created it in another thread...

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=27530

here it is:

Hi there i have an Atari STe with Alanh's ide interface on it...
I am having some luck, but I am having issues formatting a 4 gig card for use with it.
I also have a 32meg card and I could format it, but for the life of me i could not get it to autoboot...

for now, I will focus on the 32 meg card because at least i can partition it.
i am using AHDI .

first thing i do is boot from my AHDI disk in drive A, then run hdx, click Disk, then format, and say ok to all the warnings.
then it says formatting,.. but no action on the activity light on the CF card holder. (the red light is power, there is a green light for activity, and it wont light up when trying to format) on the screen it says Format a Physical Unit under that formatting, with the busy bee.
i can move the mouse but nothing ever happens:

Image

nothing after that.

oddly enough if I reboot, boot from the AHDI disk, go back into HDX, and this time select Partition, Unit 0, total number of partitions 1
it's a 30.6 mbyte partition... i exit out after doing that, and the sytem reboots... i boot from the floppy still as there are not drivers on c yet...
and the c drive comes up... even though it was not formatted...

Image

so I figure great... so i then go into the install folder to install the driver on the c: drive...
I select install from the file menu, then select c as the logical drive, click ok on the warning, then i get:

Cannot read root sector from the disk! try backing up the disk and reformatting it. and I click ok.
and that's as far as i get..

Image

That is what happens with the 32meg CF card, i can partition it, but cannot format it... i can zero it as well... but cannot install the driver on it and make it bootable...
i am using an ste, with 2.62 or what ever the latest is on a 1040 ste (with 4 megs of ram) :) Any help or idiot's guide would be appreciated... :)

Cheers. :)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:49 pm

This could be a tolerance issue on one of the ICs I use and I've bumped into this before with older CF cards like the 32MB ones.

Does AHDI work with your 4GB one ?

I'll PM you as you might need to send it back so I can fix the tolerance issue.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4419
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:21 pm

My experience is that CF-cards are troublesome on Falcon/ST IDE. I prefer to use IDE->SD adaptors and SD cards instead.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tjam and 6 guests