- My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

- My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:28 pm

New to me, anyway. :)

Today I took delivery of a beautiful Atari TT:

Image

It really is a sight to behold. I recall lusting after one of these when they were new...but certainly could not afford one on my salary at the time. It is a 2/50 spec machine, with the 1.44 floppy. I have an 8mb ST ram board and a 16mb TT ram board to install. I also have a brand new, never opened, TTM195 monitor to try out. I also plan to install a larger HD very soon.

Anyway, I hope this is the right spot in the forum for this! I am in no rush, but I plan to update this thread (with pics) as I go along. :thumbs:
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

User avatar
paradroid90
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:16 am

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby paradroid90 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:42 pm

Hi Shane, Must that looks a cracking machine and in really good nick for its age.

Great TT find buddy :D
Atari 1040 STE with 4MB upgrade, Atari 800XL with SIDE2 and Ultimate 1mb

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:54 pm

paradroid90 wrote:Hi Shane, Must that looks a cracking machine and in really good nick for its age.

Great TT find buddy :D


Thanks! I am pretty excited; it practically looks like new. Here are few more pics:

Image

Image

Image

Image

I've had one or two TT's in the distant past, but those were well-weathered examples that I could afford. I remember taking one apart and soaking the case in a bathtub full of bleach!
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby viking272 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:29 pm

Looks gorgeous, am very envious!
Did you buy it privately or find it at a car boot sale!!? :)

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:36 pm

viking272 wrote:Looks gorgeous, am very envious!
Did you buy it privately or find it at a car boot sale!!? :)


I purchased it through an Atari vendor. I wouldn't say it was "cheap", but probably a bargain compared to what some Falcon's go for these days!!
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 pm

I have been sitting on this for a couple of months, waiting to unbox it until I acquired a TT:

Image

As far as I know, this monitor has never been out of the box. I hope it works! :D
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

Guest

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:44 pm

your in the wrong place other than to brag... your TT is just as good as the pcb & revision
so what is it apart from clean and in a box???

you need to be here to learn how to use it

viewforum.php?f=27

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:47 pm

simbo2 wrote:your in the wrong place other than to brag... your TT is just as good as the pcb & revision
so what is it apart from clean and in a box???

you need to be here to learn how to use it

viewforum.php?f=27


I am not sure what you mean? I am excited to have this cpu, and it is in great shape. If someone wants one like this, they can surely find one; I think it is neat because it is a "time capsule" back to my youth.

For some people the fun is in restoring one, or modifying it, or whatever. As for using it, as I say, I have had 1 or two. I've also had Falcons, and most of ST line over the years; I bought a Mega ST brand new in 1988, and used it for some years. So, I am not totally unfamiliar with Atari machines.
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

Guest

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:04 pm

your in the wrong hardware section

this is the st and ste /mega hardware section

your making them all drool

look at the link to the professional hardware

then it means something other than a brag :coffe:

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:06 pm

simbo2 wrote:your in the wrong hardware section

this is the st and ste /mega hardware section

your making them all drool

look at the link to the professional hardware

then it means something other than a brag :coffe:


OK, that makes sense. As I said, I "hoped" it was in the right area. Maybe I can get a mod to move the thread. Thanks!
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

Guest

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:11 pm

great stuff just pm one

your TT is a magic find mega clean and very nice

would you take the top off and take a few pics of the guts

these days there is much to add in and
also with jooke making his rasp pie addin many things to add in easy...

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:16 pm

simbo2 wrote:great stuff just pm one

your TT is a magic find mega clean and very nice

would you take the top off and take a few pics of the guts

these days there is much to add in and
also with jooke making his rasp pie addin many things to add in easy...


I will have the top off soon. I want to upgrade the ram and drive. But I can't even boot it up until this weekend, so it may be a little while for that.

I am not sure what the board revision is, except I was told that it wasn't one of the earlier ones with the daughterboard.

The first TT I had, it had a graphics card in it, AlberTT if I recall. It seems like graphics cards are not easy to find anymore for these.
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

Guest

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:24 pm

TT has a-c
only rev a and a & c made it too market then rev d-k
rev A had the mpu onboard gold top and you could add a daughter board to its socket and it was 32mhz instead of 16
most units went on fast i have found myself in the uk only rev hjk boards
so i think if yours does not have the extra board it will be rev h or j or k
so has a soldered on mc60030 beside the ram under the hdd
memory upgrades you need too look for a riser for stram
{max 10MB 8 board 2 onboard }
and a magnum or other TTram card addin{256MB}

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby lp » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:31 pm

warp12 wrote:I will have the top off soon. I want to upgrade the ram and drive. But I can't even boot it up until this weekend, so it may be a little while for that.

I am not sure what the board revision is, except I was told that it wasn't one of the earlier ones with the daughterboard.

The first TT I had, it had a graphics card in it, AlberTT if I recall. It seems like graphics cards are not easy to find anymore for these.


Indeed nice find. Very clean like mine. Here is a site all about my TT030 adventures.
http://gfa.atari-users.net/TT030/

Yes the gfx cards can be hard to find.

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:35 pm

simbo2 wrote:TT has a-c
only rev a and a & c made it too market then rev d-k
rev A had the mpu onboard gold top and you could add a daughter board to its socket and it was 32mhz instead of 16
most units went on fast i have found myself in the uk only rev hjk boards
so i think if yours does not have the extra board it will be rev h or j or k
so has a soldered on mc60030 beside the ram under the hdd
memory upgrades you need too look for a riser for stram
{max 10MB 8 board 2 onboard }
and a magnum or other TTram card addin{256MB}


Here are the ram boards that I have. The one on the left is 8mb ST ram; the one on the right is 16mb TT with page mode simms:

Image

Are you saying I definitely need to find a riser for the ST ram board?
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:38 pm

lp wrote:Indeed nice find. Very clean like mine. Here is a site all about my TT030 adventures.
http://gfa.atari-users.net/TT030/

Yes the gfx cards can be hard to find.


Very nice! I think I have visited your page in the past. It is great to see these machines in use!
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby lp » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:46 pm

No, you don't need any risers. Just open the HD bay, drop the ST-RAM board in, it only fits one way. If there are jumpers on the board, don't mess with them, should be preset. Simple as that. :wink:

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:46 pm

lp wrote:
Indeed nice find. Very clean like mine. Here is a site all about my TT030 adventures.
http://gfa.atari-users.net/TT030/

Yes the gfx cards can be hard to find.


Also, how is the speed and compatibility of the CF storage solution? Best has some very reasonably priced HD mechs (324mb), and I am picking up a couple. But I might look at that CF setup in the future?
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby lp » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:58 pm

warp12 wrote:Also, how is the speed and compatibility of the CF storage solution? Best has some very reasonably priced HD mechs (324mb), and I am picking up a couple. But I might look at that CF setup in the future?


Of course its ultra silent. As far as the TT is concerned it thinks its a standard SCSI hard drive. Everything runs as it did before I made the change, minus the bad sectors on the old rotating disk. :lol: I suspect the amount of heat inside the case has gone down too since I ditched the large rotating disk.

Typically, as long as you use a combination of device and card that is rated faster than your machine, you will most likely come close to the machines peak performance. My TT benchmarks around 1.8mb/sec with XFERRATE which is consistent with benchmarks performed by others.

I sold an 8mb ST-RAM board on ebay to a Shane not long ago and I suspect it might be you. :wink:

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:25 am

lp wrote:I sold an 8mb ST-RAM board on ebay to a Shane not long ago and I suspect it might be you. :wink:


I suspect you are right! ;)

Well, I couldn't wait until Sunday, lol. Too excited:

Image

I expected the video to be a little wacky on this display, but boy was it neat to hear the old beast whir to life! I know the TT has some odd video timings...but I do have some decent CRT's here, with a large range of adjustability. Perhaps one of those will be able to center the image properly? Not sure....
Last edited by warp12 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shane

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12830
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:30 am

Hi ya,
some bench mark I did back several years ago on TT with CF & HDD.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16366&start=0#p144306
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby lp » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:37 am

I have a cheap HP vs15 which manages to do ok on the centering, but really only use it to boot up. Soon as the gfx card kicks in I shut it off. Most of the monitors I've tried have enough adjustment to center the screen. The only issue I had was some off brand monitor that kept forgetting the setting every time I shut it off. It was a bad NVRAM issue with that particular monitor though.

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:44 am

lp wrote:I have cheap HP vs15 which manages to do ok on the centering, but really only use it to boot up. Soon as the gfx card kicks in I shut it off. Most of the monitors I've tried have enough adjustment to center the screen. The only issue I had was some off brand monitor that kept forgetting the setting every time I shut it off. It was a bad NVRAM issue with that particular monitor though.


I am crossing my fingers. I think I have both a 19 & 21" Viewsonic Professional packed away somewhere. I am going to be on the lookout for a nice monitor stand. I don't think I want to put any of these big monitors on top of the cpu...
Shane

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby warp12 » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:53 am

wongck wrote:Hi ya,
some bench mark I did back several years ago on TT with CF & HDD.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16366&start=0#p144306


Excellent thread. I am going to read up on the speeds of the current fastest CF cards; I really know zero about them.
Shane

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: - My "New" Atari TT and Upgrades -

Postby lp » Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:12 am

warp12 wrote:I am crossing my fingers. I think I have both a 19 & 21" Viewsonic Professional packed away somewhere. I am going to be on the lookout for a nice monitor stand. I don't think I want to put any of these big monitors on top of the cpu...


My only recommendation would be to avoid a wide screen style monitor as they tend to be more blurry. I never sat the PTC1426 on top of my TT even though it had the matching base that fit the machine. Always had the monitor on a shelf.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests