NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

artik-wroc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Wroclaw - POLAND
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby artik-wroc » Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:53 pm

alanh wrote:No reason why it shouldn't. I do have a couple of PAK's though. So I can try it.


I tried, but I failed :(

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby DarkLord » Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:45 am

artik-wroc wrote:
alanh wrote:No reason why it shouldn't. I do have a couple of PAK's though. So I can try it.


I tried, but I failed :(


Hmm, how about a few more details...exactly what went wrong? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

artik-wroc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Wroclaw - POLAND
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby artik-wroc » Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:10 am

Computer will not boot. It may be incompatible with Ultrasatan. I don't know.

User avatar
Shockwav3
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Shockwav3 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:34 pm

Are the schemes for the IDE board available? I just finished the PAK68/3-030A schematics last night - maybe either project could be adapted to work if the issue can be pinpointed.

Can I haz hardware?

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:37 pm

I've got some time off this week so I can take a look with my PAK.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:45 pm

artik-wroc wrote:Computer will not boot. It may be incompatible with Ultrasatan. I don't know.


It works fine with the ultrasatan. I've tested that and many others too.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby catmando » Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:21 pm

alanh wrote:O.k. First of all, apologies folks for those who have the "rev2" STE IDE boards. There's a small hardware problem where some people have noticed boot problems or loading problems on the STE.

It turns out this is only on the primary port, the secondary port is fine.

Here's a photo of the fix. Essentially a trace cut near the top row of CPU pins, and an additional wire down near the IDE pins.

This will fix the issue, and bring back the primary port to it's full glory.

This also ONLY happens on the "STE rev2" boards. The first development boards sent out DO NOT have this problem.

Apologies folks.

stefix2.jpg


PM me if you have problems doing the fix yourselves.
I've done the modification, is there a way to test the trace cut before I put the board back into the machine?
Last edited by catmando on Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:27 pm

Yes, before soldering the new wire in-place, put an ohm-meter between the two pins that need to have a wire soldered between, it should not show a short.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby catmando » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:13 pm

alanh wrote:Yes, before soldering the new wire in-place, put an ohm-meter between the two pins that need to have a wire soldered between, it should not show a short.
Thanks, looks like all went to plan
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:04 pm

New batch of STE boards getting ready to be ordered.

Those interested should visit the order page now so I can get quantities correct.

http://www.freemint.org/ide/ide.html

Thanks folks !
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby jomor58 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:17 pm

alanh wrote:
Hi John,

Hope it goes well. Exxos did a bit of a write up when he installed his STFM version here....

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atar ... /index.htm



Hi alanh

I have successfully installed the IDE controller and ROM boards in my STFM.

Being a STFM the controller and ROM boards have been soldered directly to the st main board and the 68000 to the controller, as advised by Exxos in his write up.

Image

To refit the metal work I have had to chop a few hole because the 68000 and Hi ROM stand just slightly to high.

Image

A longer IDE cable is on the way so the CF adapter can be fitted in the gap between the PSU and floppy drive.
I only need to find a Blitter chip to make this ST perfect. Any body know were I can get one?

John

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:02 am

Nice job John !!!
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Fujiyama » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:07 am

jomor58 wrote:I only need to find a Blitter chip to make this ST perfect. Any body know were I can get one?


Try Bravo Sierra computers or Best Electronics.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?

jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby jomor58 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:05 am

Fujiyama,
Thank you for the links but I would prefer to source one a bit closer to home, UK or EU, and not so expensive.

John

Starteck2002
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:24 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Starteck2002 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:44 pm

Hi Alan,

What's the availabilty of a Mega STe board? Just recieved the machine today and ready to mod :-)

I've not opened it up so don't know what TOS is on it oranything yet but can confirm it works, has a whopping 47meg scsi drive and a mind blowing 2megs of ram :-) Can you PM me details, prices and any other info you think I may need as I don't have enough posts to PM you yet.

Cheers,

Dave

User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Fujiyama » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:45 pm

I understand.
There's Barrie at Keychange, but he isn't exactly known for being cheap compared to the above links.
You could also ask in this forum's "Wanted/for sale" section, as someone locally might have a broken ST with the blitter intact for sale cheap.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby qq1975b » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:08 pm

ST-Freakz may also have one. Send him a PM.

You can also ask for it on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=33&t=23490
Trying to learn...

Guest

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:48 am

i would like1 for an st

this machine is a gold board with two roms and the ls11 ic
i want to add flash tos to it and made the boards

i think this is a better option using pperas and posels flash tos without tos 2

and using your board alan for tos 2 and ide

please pm me where to send cash and what to order
im dumb ive looked on the site and see

so ill order an st board

great work man

,,!!!!! :)

jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby jomor58 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:21 am

qq1975b wrote:ST-Freakz may also have one. Send him a PM.

You can also ask for it on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=33&t=23490


Thanks for recommending ST-Freakz. I've been in contact with him and blitter chip is on its way to me.


@Fujiyama
Thank you for the link to Barrie at Keychange. Your comments on there prices did put me off but could have been an option if ST-Freakz had come up negative.

John

Muzz73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:00 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Muzz73 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:43 am

Hey, I know this is an old thread, but I must know...

Is there a way to get one of these into a Mega ST without using the MegaBus adapter? My MegaBus slot is already occupied by a TOS 2.06 upgrade board.

Many thanks!

Louis

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:59 am

You can solder it to the 68000, but the IDE board has a TOS 2.06 decoder built in, so you could do away with your current one and use mine :-)
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

Starteck2002
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:24 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Starteck2002 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:43 am

My STe IDE Board has turned up today (Thanks Alan!) - I'll be fitting it later today and will put up some photos and details of my installation experience. Feel it needs to be said though.... Alan's 'customer service' is exceptional - one of the better buying experiences in my opinion. I got plenty of advice and prompt answers to my harrassing emails :-)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4407
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:41 pm

Alan, I just looked at the picture of your STFM IDE board:

Image

It looks like you can solder a CPU socket on top of it, is that correct? I'm considering buying one for my Mega which already has a PC-Speed so I need a through-port. Also, the Megabus port is occupied so I can't use that one either.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:14 am

Yes, that's correct.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

jimbob005
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:29 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby jimbob005 » Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:40 pm

Alanh I would like one would it work on my stfm 520 and if so how much ?


Thanks


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests