frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby calimero » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:14 pm

Hi,
what is frequency of CT60/CT63 you are using for everyday use? and what cooling do you have?

My CT63 come at 75MHz and I keep it that way. Cooling is stock heatsink with fan.

I just try to set lower frequency than 75MHz and CT63 wont boot?! (sometimes I get white screen with garbage colors after reset)

---

does anybody manage to "melt"/destroy CT63 with overclocking??
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby mdivancic » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:14 am

I've always run mine at 80 mHz and been quite happy with it.
Mikey
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SvethLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore SX-64

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4388
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:42 am

95 mhz, with a fan and heatsink, thermal glued to the CPU.

You can see the arrangement I have here:

http://www.darkforce.org/falcon7.html

I've run it for hours and hours and never had a problem with
heating as far as I know.

HTHs.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby calimero » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:08 am

Darkolord, nice setup :)
You have at least double sized heatsink :)

I forgot to mention, and it would be cool to everybody do the same:
My Falcon is in original case.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12813
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:35 am

Mine are all in original Falcon case.
I set them to 95 MHz as they came that way.
But at one stage, I was running at 103MHz so that the ram are at 100MHz.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2775
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby alexh » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:40 am

Just as important is which revision 060 you're using. I assume everyone has a Revision 6? 7E14J?

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby calimero » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:49 am

alexh wrote:Just as important is which revision 060 you're using. I assume everyone has a Revision 6? 7E14J?

right, I do hev rev. 6. :)

@wongck 95MHz in original case and stock heatsink ?!?!! nice!!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4388
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:19 pm

calimero wrote:Darkolord, nice setup :)
You have at least double sized heatsink :)

I forgot to mention, and it would be cool to everybody do the same:
My Falcon is in original case.


Thanks, and yeah - mine has been recased using the Wizztronics rack case.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4388
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:20 pm

alexh wrote:Just as important is which revision 060 you're using. I assume everyone has a Revision 6? 7E14J?


Yep, I am. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby Zogging Hell » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:37 pm

Mine's still tootling along at 66mhz, even though it has a Rev. 6 CPU. I haven't got round to installing the clock mod on my CT60 yet.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby rian_ata » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:07 pm

My CT63 is in an original Falcon case. Stock heatsink + cooler like I got it from Rodolphe. Running at 95MHz normally, sometimes at 103MHz to see if demos or adapted games get any benfits from increased clockspeed. Everything above 103MHz is unstable.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4388
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:55 pm

rian_ata wrote: Everything above 103MHz is unstable.


That "break point" does seem to vary a bit. I can run mine at
100mhz, but as you say, it gets unstable. I get random software
crashes and glitches at that speed. 95mhz hums along rock solid
though.

I've been told it could be memory and other things that determine
the final usable speed, not just the 060 itself.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12813
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:56 am

DarkLord wrote:That "break point" does seem to vary a bit. I can run mine at
100mhz, but as you say, it gets unstable. I get random software
crashes and glitches at that speed. 95mhz hums along rock solid
though.


yeap YMMV.
It's stock fan (I think, no heatsink), no modification except for the firmware upgrade (CT63 & CTPCI).
Mine was the 8th and 9th batch (suppose to be the last batch) with the CPU that been tested to run at 100MHz.

I tried something insane like 106MHz and it seemed to run fine, bearing in mind that i am using MINT and not games/demo.
So stress levels are lower I suppose. :wink:
Most stressful for the CPU probably the compiling of programs or decoding the graphical map.

I am running at 95 MHz now as I see negligible incremental advantage on the desktop running higher and risk instability even as they are rare. :)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12813
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:59 am

DarkLord wrote:
rian_ata wrote:I've been told it could be memory and other things that determine
the final usable speed, not just the 060 itself.


I don't exactly have the partnumber of my ram but it is a 512MB PC133 SDRAM made by Infineon.
I think there's a thread here somewhere with some discussion on ram type.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12813
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:05 am

calimero wrote:@wongck 95MHz in original case and stock heatsink ?!?!! nice!!

:?: Isn't it suppose to be like this?
That's the default speed on the CTCM.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby calimero » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:43 am

wongck wrote:
calimero wrote:@wongck 95MHz in original case and stock heatsink ?!?!! nice!!

:?: Isn't it suppose to be like this?
That's the default speed on the CTCM.

I do not know. Mine CT63 come with 75MHz...
Obiviusly it is ok to run it on 95MHz in original case and with original cooling as you do not have any problem with stability.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby Dal » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:13 am

When I had my previous CT60 running in a space case with original cooling, I noticed the temperature ran right into the red @>75Mhz (using the CT60 cpx). The CT63 doesn't have the temp sensor, but using an Eiffel would be recommended.

I ended up installing a huge fan over the CPU plus an exhaust fan in the case. After this the temperature monitor stayed in the amber when running at 95Mhz.

http://www.septicsurgeon.net/Hardware_M ... _Case.html


I guess using a larger heat sink would do the job too.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12813
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:59 pm

75 MHz sounds like the older limit of the older 060.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby Dal » Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:00 pm

My old one was a rev 6. I got it from Rodolphe to replace the 060 that was in it originally.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1138
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby CiH » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:33 pm

When I had my previous CT60 running in a space case with original cooling, I noticed the temperature ran right into the red @>75Mhz (using the CT60 cpx). The CT63 doesn't have the temp sensor, but using an Eiffel would be recommended.

I ended up installing a huge fan over the CPU plus an exhaust fan in the case. After this the temperature monitor stayed in the amber when running at 95Mhz.


That's the one I've now got :mrgreen: . It's still happy at 90Mhz, I've no tried 'pushing' the clock up from that. I might well take it down a bit if I want to run it on a reasonably warm day. The CPU temperature varies between c.40 degrees and 45 degrees Celsius, depending on the ambient temperature.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby Dal » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:53 pm

Nice to know it's still soldiering on. My ct63 should be with me soon ready to be united with a SuperVidel and set in a brand new whizztronics rack case.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1138
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby CiH » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:38 pm

Definitely soldering on 8)

I've also got a SuperVidel, which I'm not currently going anywhere near in trying to install!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby instream » Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:56 pm

CiH wrote:Definitely soldering on 8)

I've also got a SuperVidel, which I'm not currently going anywhere near in trying to install!

Why, Chris? :D

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1138
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby CiH » Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:17 pm

Why, Chris? :D


I'll need to refer back to the original owner of this first ;-)

http://www.septicsurgeon.net/Hardware_Mods/Entries/2011/9/6_Casing_Falcon_1_into_a_Space_Case.html

There's rather a lot of 'stuff' in the case as you can see, so I'd need to get help in sorting space for the SV in there!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: frequency (MHz) of yours CT63?

Postby instream » Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:59 pm

CiH wrote:
Why, Chris? :D


I'll need to refer back to the original owner of this first ;-)

http://www.septicsurgeon.net/Hardware_Mods/Entries/2011/9/6_Casing_Falcon_1_into_a_Space_Case.html

There's rather a lot of 'stuff' in the case as you can see, so I'd need to get help in sorting space for the SV in there!

Ouch! I see what you mean :lol:


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests