SF314 as internal drive?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

SF314 as internal drive?

Postby Gryzor » Thu May 20, 2004 5:58 am

Well, just that. I opened up my external FDD in order to ship it to Valkyrie, but a.the eject button is a standard one and b.it looks quite more bulky than what I remember my ST drive to be...

So the questions are: can the button be replaced with an ST eject button? And, will it fit in there?

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

simbo

Postby simbo » Thu May 20, 2004 10:25 pm

some drives required you to cut the case and use the drive in a rectangle hole you make

sony externals was bad for this so is fujitsu

i found the best source for older floppy drives was a company in the uk called j.n bull they sell surplise stuff

think your better off looking for some sick ataris and ripping one

whats up with the older one ???

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby Gryzor » Fri May 21, 2004 6:15 am

Well, the old one is not mine, it's Valkyrie's (you replied to her post as well). Since I have an external SF314 sitting around (with something blown off on its board) I thought I'd let her have the SF314.

So thanks for the reply, although the question was not answered: can Valkyrie fit the SF314 FDD into her ST?

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

simbo

Postby simbo » Fri May 21, 2004 8:24 am

yes it will fit etc

but as i said she .. may need to cut the hole bigger

but it will fit and work {need to adjust the jumper for id0}

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby Gryzor » Mon May 24, 2004 4:38 pm

Heya Simbo... thanks for the reply. Nevertheless, I opened up my old STFM today and the drive in it is a lot slimmer than the bulky FDD of the SF314. I can't see how it could possibly fit in there... any ideas? Oh, also, the FDD in the 314 has lots of stuff in open air, whereas the internal ST FDD is all enclosed, if that's got any significance.

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

simbo

Postby simbo » Tue May 25, 2004 9:47 am

yes and no

there will be the standard 4 mounting holes

three screws and a metal post {solid brass}

to mount it in the usual way

im sure it will fit but as i say you may need to butcher the case to get a fit



i think it would be far better to fit a 1.44mb drive
this way use modern disks { a very simple mod using a small piece of vero board }

and still be able to read the older ones


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests