Steem and Windows 7

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

stephen22
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:25 pm

Steem and Windows 7

Postby stephen22 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Anyone having problems with Steem and Windows 7? It runs fine for hours then at apparently random intervals I/O suddenly packs up. Usually just MIDI but sometimes also the IKBD as well. Cold restart fixes it (warm restart doesn't), and if a snapshot is saved, the I/O is fine when it's reloaded - the fault isn't saved.

Seems likely an issue between W7 and Steem. Any ideas welcome.

Stephen

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Steem and Windows 7

Postby Mal7921 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:31 pm

Have you tried it in one of the compatibility modes? Win7 is like vista in that it is a little different in how it handles things compared to xp and to an extent, vista too so first thing I'd do is right click on the program and set it to xp sp3 and see if that makes a difference (assuming you have not done so already)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

stephen22
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:25 pm

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby stephen22 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:35 pm

Thanks for reply.

No have already tried that: I/O packs up even quicker.

Actually it isn't entirely random, I get the impression it's more likely to happen when I'm sending a lot of MIDI traffic.

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby Mal7921 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:49 pm

Is this 32bit or 64bit Windows 7?
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby wongck » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:37 am

I am considering reverting back my son's PC to XP as some of this children games does not work :roll:
XP mode is out as I am using a P4 for this computer.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

!cube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby !cube » Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:22 am

No probs here with 64-bit Win7.
Kludge power since 1976.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby spiny » Fri Jun 10, 2011 9:04 am

win7 64 here too. no problems writing all my dubious code and compiling it.

I suspect your issue is with passing the midi data out, though I'm not sure what to suggest, sorry :/

stephen22
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:25 pm

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby stephen22 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:56 pm

Thanks for your comments folks. W7 64-bit.

It's usually just MIDI. When it happens, other programs get the messages, but not Steem, so it's not the hardware. I would have thought it can't be coding because saving and reloading a snapshot cures it. And it never happened in years of XP (I use it pretty much every day).

I bet it's the !#!#! security. Anyone know if W7 does periodic checks and switch off things it doesn't like?
I've moved Steem out of Program Files because "permissions" stops it closing properly. Where do people with W7 run it from?

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby spiny » Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:55 pm

stephen22 wrote:Thanks for your comments folks. W7 64-bit.

It's usually just MIDI. When it happens, other programs get the messages, but not Steem, so it's not the hardware. I would have thought it can't be coding because saving and reloading a snapshot cures it. And it never happened in years of XP (I use it pretty much every day).

I bet it's the !#!#! security. Anyone know if W7 does periodic checks and switch off things it doesn't like?
I've moved Steem out of Program Files because "permissions" stops it closing properly. Where do people with W7 run it from?


I have an 'atari' folder on a separate disk to my OS that has all my atari junk in it, and the steem folder. it's followed me round on several computers and seems quite happy with WIN7 64 :)

jruark56
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby jruark56 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:56 am

spiny,

I run Steem from a dedicated folder on root of drive c:

I called it atari_emu because I also run a few atari 8 bit emulators from this high level folder as well. Don't have a problem running Steem, but I don't do any MIDI work.

Russ
Russ Ruark Jr.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Steem and Windows 7

Postby alexh » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:28 am

Could it benefit from being run as administrator?

With STeEM being released opensource I imagine that it will soon be recompiled with the latest flavour of Windows SDK (I doubt it is that easy but you know what I mean)


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests