floppy files to HFE image ?

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Sat Sep 21, 2013 1:36 pm

I see the is a program to convert floppies into HFE files, only problem is, it does not work with USB floppy drives, so I am kinda stuffed right now :roll:

I have most of my floppies stored on my PC, but these are not images. So is there any software where I can just file copy files over to a image or HFE format ? Using the actual floppy drive is simply a no-go. I have lots of Atari floppies held on my PC, which I simply cannot load in HFE format :lol: :roll:

Also, what switches are supposed to be set for non-twisted cables, I can only get it to work with a twisted cable with switch 1 set. Ive tried all switch combinations going by the manual, even gone though them all, cant work it out :?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4765
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Sep 21, 2013 2:16 pm

Simply image your floppies to .MSA or .ST files first and then convert those to .HFE. Sofar I only converte .MSA and .St files for the .HFE needs and that worked pretty well for me.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:02 pm

Though can I convert actual files from my PC to ST files ? IE the floppies I have on my pc are simply file copies, not images..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11853
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby wongck » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:24 pm

There are blank HFE files at the HxC site.
There is also a virtual floppy driver that makes the blank HFE looks like drive A: or B: on Windows.
So you can just copy files from HDD to virtual floppy HFE images.
I do this all the time. :wink:

All available are from the HxC website.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1171
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby troed » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:34 pm

exxos wrote:Though can I convert actual files from my PC to ST files ? IE the floppies I have on my pc are simply file copies, not images..


I believe the virtual driver in Windows is easier - but Mac users can open 720kb .ST images by renaming them to .dmg and mount them natively.

(Also, you can always load up an emulator - I use Hatari - and mount a disk image inside it as well as emulating a hard drive off a directory and then do the copying inside the emulator)

Use the HxCFloppyEmulator app to then convert between .ST and .HFE and back.

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:35 am

STOP!

Nobody noticed that there is a Dos image browser into the HxC Software or what ? :cry: :(

This one works on Windows, Mac, Linux...

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... r_soft.zip

-> Click on the button "Disk Browser" !

Here is a demo of the "simplified" version :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhMNGKBYb-8

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1171
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby troed » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:52 am

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:Nobody noticed that there is a Dos image browser into the HxC Software or what ? :cry: :(


I hadn't ;) Apparently I need to make sure I follow your release notices.

Thanks!

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:00 pm

Other thing good to know : You can create virtual disk images of 4.23MB working with a simple ST with this tool :wink:

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:09 pm

I found the virtual floppy thing and managed to get my files over to a HFE image that way. Its a bit long winded but does the job :) I will have to get PCI floppy card for the PC, it was turning into a epic trying to get a USB one to work.

I was also hunting to use the floppy cable without it being twisted, as I have to put the cable in upside down, its not long enough to reach, but later released when it means "twisted" cable, it actually means the 4 or so ribbon wires twisted not the entire cable twisted around ? It looks like its caught a few people out. I will make a new cable assuming there isn't any way to use the floppy cable "right way up" ?

Overall it seems to be working good :) I did run into a odd problem that if the autoboot HFE is loaded, if you managed to end up on desktop you get a bunch of corrupted files listed, though with any other HFE files loaded it all works fine. Will play with it some more when i get a internal floppy drive fitted to the pc :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:19 pm

exxos wrote:I found the virtual floppy thing and managed to get my files over to a HFE image that way. Its a bit long winded but does the job :)


Why so much hassle when you have just to use the "Disk Browser" function ?!

Code: Select all

The HxC Floppy Emulator DOS Disk Image Browser is a simplified version of the HxC Floppy Emulator software.

This version is designed to replace the VFD solution.

Avantages over the VFD solution :

- No driver installation needed.
- Support of 3 mode DOS floppy disk image (1KB sector size) (For PC98 based CNC machines).
- Support of special/custom DOS floppy disk image (2.5MB,4.5MB,6.78MB...)
- Ready to be used on non-windows systems (Mac, Linux,...) ! ;)
- Simple to use !

To use it :

Copy DosDiskBrowser.exe & libhxcfe.dll to the root of the SDCard with your DOS HFE image files.

Start DosDiskBrowser.exe.
At startup the software try to load the first HFE image found at the root of the SDCard and display its content.

You can select the image to edit with the Disk Selector or by using the "Load Image" button.

To Get file(s) from the image disk :
->You can get files from the image with the "Get Files" button.

To Add file(s) to the image disk :
->You can add file(s) & subfolder(s) to the image by a simple drag&drop on the browser window.

All modification(s) done on the image are automatically saved when you use the "Disk selector" or when you use the "Close" button.

Jeff/HxC2001
24/03/2013

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:22 pm

exxos wrote:I was also hunting to use the floppy cable without it being twisted, as I have to put the cable in upside down, its not long enough to reach, but later released when it means "twisted" cable, it actually means the 4 or so ribbon wires twisted not the entire cable twisted around ? It looks like its caught a few people out. I will make a new cable assuming there isn't any way to use the floppy cable "right way up" ?


Why so much questions about this ? You can use both (twisted and not twisted) with the HxC. Just change the switch setting and that's all. please check the documentation.

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:23 pm

exxos wrote: I did run into a odd problem that if the autoboot HFE is loaded, if you managed to end up on desktop you get a bunch of corrupted files listed, though with any other HFE files loaded it all works fine.

Not a surprise : This autoboot file doesn't have any file system, like many games in the past ;).

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:30 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:
exxos wrote:I was also hunting to use the floppy cable without it being twisted, as I have to put the cable in upside down, its not long enough to reach, but later released when it means "twisted" cable, it actually means the 4 or so ribbon wires twisted not the entire cable twisted around ? It looks like its caught a few people out. I will make a new cable assuming there isn't any way to use the floppy cable "right way up" ?


Why so much questions about this ? You can use both (twisted and not twisted) with the HxC. Just change the switch setting and that's all. please check the documentation.


Do you mean physically having the entire cable in upside down ? like when you have to fit a 1.44 drive ? I have read the doc over and over and tried all kinds of switches, but i am unable to get it to work :(

The software in windows does not work with USB floppy drives, it works great with normal internal floppies. The dll software says it will not work with USB drives. There is another dll set which claims does work, but then the emulator software says the dll's are not found as its looking for the other normal dll files.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:52 pm

exxos wrote:Do you mean physically having the entire cable in upside down ? like when you have to fit a 1.44 drive ? I have read the doc over and over and tried all kinds of switches, but i am unable to get it to work :(

I think that there is a "definition" problem:
Here is what i call a twisted cable :
http://www.nullmodem.com/images/fddcable02.jpg
"Drive A" connectors on this pictures are "twisted", others connector aren't.

exxos wrote:The software in windows does not work with USB floppy drives, it works great with normal internal floppies. The dll software says it will not work with USB drives. There is another dll set which claims does work, but then the emulator software says the dll's are not found as its looking for the other normal dll files.


I didn't talk about floppy drive, but about the way to create/use a blank dos HFE image and add files to this image. To do this the easiest and fastest way is to use the Dos Browser function present in the HxC Floppy Emulator software. That's all.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Sun Sep 22, 2013 1:06 pm

The dos software does work wil USB drive :)

1.png


I can drag and drop files there then create the image. I thought it was just DOS software for use without windows, like command line, I did not realise it was windows software too :roll:

Not sure that 1.39MB as shown at bottom is correct as its a 720K floppy ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11853
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby wongck » Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:09 am

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:STOP!

Nobody noticed that there is a Dos image browser into the HxC Software or what ? :cry: :(


Thanks Jeff.
I will try this out later. :-)

The VFD method isn't too much of an issue as I have set this up permanently on my system.
It is very similar to mounting ISO images.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2540
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby alexh » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:12 am

exxos wrote:I thought it was just DOS software for use without windows, like command line, I did not realise it was windows software too :roll:

I believe that the DOS refers to the disk file system the application can read/examine/write and not the target OS of the application.

i.e. It is a Windows application to browse DOS formatted disk images.

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 6:06 am

exxos wrote:The dos software does work wil USB drive :)

1.png


I can drag and drop files there then create the image. I thought it was just DOS software for use without windows, like command line, I did not realise it was windows software too :roll:

Not sure that 1.39MB as shown at bottom is correct as its a 720K floppy ?


Here the right software for you
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... r_soft.zip
Button "Disk browser"....

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby exxos » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:30 am

Is it possible to copy from a external B: drive and copy direct to the HxC ? Or any Atari software to load images to the SD card, it all seems to be windows software from what I can see.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4765
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:28 pm

I think that is possible. The HxC probably only needs jumper configuration to disable drive B: accesses.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: floppy files to HFE image ?

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:45 pm

All operations that can be done with a normal floppy drive (read,write,format...) can be done with the HxC Floppy Emulator in same way..


Social Media

     

Return to “HxC Floppy Emulator”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest