REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

All discussions about the Atari 8bit range of machines.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Mulbin
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:10 pm

REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby Mulbin » Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:18 pm

OK, so after a LOT of searching I'm coming to the conclusion that you just can't buy a modern power supply that fits the needs of a 400.

If anyone has any idea how/where to source a power supply with the following I'd be very grateful!

9V AC/AC (no DC please)
at least 3000mA (this is the tough part)

There just doesn't seem to be anything currently manufactured with more than 2000mA capacity. Alternatively any leads on original UK power supplys would be great. My 400 is a US version so I either need to replace the power supply or buy an expensive voltage step-down to allow my to plug it into UK mains.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4070
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby Dal » Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:54 pm

I think your best bet is to get a suitably rated 9v DC linear power supply (not switch mode) and replace the rectifier with a pair of jumper wires.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

oraclejedi
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:02 am

Re: REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby oraclejedi » Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:41 am

AFAIK, the NES PSU can be used as a replacement for the Atari 9VAC unit.

Checking eBay UK I see a few listed between 8 and 15 pounds.

iggydrougge
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:17 am

Re: REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby iggydrougge » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:21 am

The NES PSU only has an ampere or so of current, and would be very overloaded if the Atari 400 in fact requires 3 A.

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby mpattonm » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:43 am

So you are looking for 230V (or 110V?) AC to 9V AC/4A converter? Thats what plain transformer do. Plenty of them available. For example Indel TSZZM30/003M/1 for 230V input.

Mulbin
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: REplacement power supplies for 400... impossible to source?

Postby Mulbin » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:25 pm

Hi all, I've managed to find a suitable power supply now... but have discovered it's not actually possible to us an NTSC Atari 400 in the UK. I'll make a new thread in case anyone can offer advice, if not I'll cut my loses and sell if for half what I paid (can't see anyone in america wanting to ship it back home!).


Social Media

     

Return to “The Atari 8bit corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest