SDRAM Question

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

SDRAM Question

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:17 pm

I bought a 512MB ram stick to upgrade my CT63. I ordered a CL2 module, but after receiving it and looking at the specs I am not sure.

My old 256MB stick had a label on it that specifically said CL2. My 512MB stick didn't have the label.

Both modules report the same speed when the CT63 initializes:
256MB
256MB_boot.png

512MB
512MB_boot.png


But on the setup screen a couple of the values are different
256MB
256MBCL2.png

512MB
512MBCL2.png


The Minimum precharge and delay times are slightly higher for the 512MB module. But the Cycle time and Access from clock is the same as the 256MB one.

So does this look like a CL2 module or might it be CL2.5?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: SDRAM Question

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:25 pm

The ram chips on the 512MB module are stenciled with HYB39S256800FE-7

Page 4 of this pdf https://media.digikey.com/PDF/Data%20Sheets/Qimonda%20PDFs/HYB(I)39S256.pdf specify this as PC133-222-520 ram so that confirms it is CL2.

qimondaram.png


From what I have been reading, it looks like if the ram chips end in -7 then it is CL2 and if they end in -75 then it is CL3. That might help others with their ram identification.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests